Customer Reviews for

Grimspace (Sirantha Jax Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful SciFi quick action for all to read!

Sirantha Jax is, or was, a jumper for The Corp - until that crash happened. The one where the pilot, crew, and political members being transported where killed. It was a miracle Jax lived. But now she finds herself incarcerated in a psych ward at the hospital with co...
Sirantha Jax is, or was, a jumper for The Corp - until that crash happened. The one where the pilot, crew, and political members being transported where killed. It was a miracle Jax lived. But now she finds herself incarcerated in a psych ward at the hospital with constant mental testing done on her, or maybe it's torture. Then a mysterious man shows up and breaks her out of the hospital. Jax now finds herself on a new mission that she thinks she doesn't want. But one that could start a whole new batch of jumpers for people other than The Corp. Now taken in by this new loner group; they plan on learning Jax's secrets to living through jumping for so long where others burnt out, then teach it to others to jump. A new system of renegade jumpers to eliminate the tariffs of trade and use of The Corp. But Jax soon learns this all goes deeper than that, all the way down to genetics.

Where do I start on this book. This is a science fiction type read with the computers, technology used, and outer space setting. We go on a space exploration which kind of feels like Star Trek. But this is geared for even female readers who may not be big outer space fans. I really liked the idea of jumping. But I have to admit I had a hard time wrapping my brain around it at first. I think I was trying to hard to understand every minor detail of the idea before it was all completely spelled out for me. But once Jax was on her second jump, I was a pro to they systems and knew what was going on and loved what she saw.

The characters! Oh, I loved the way these characters where all written. I loved the whole small crew that Jax works with now. They all have their own quirks and histories. And I want to know all of it. They humor and complement each other wonderfully. As it's hard to pick my favorite character here I have to say I loved the relationship between March and Jax. In the beginning Jax torments March with cruel death thoughts of him and straight forward hate thoughts. Then when Jax realizes there has to be something special about March she does it to just get a rise out of him. And it works! They have quick comebacks that where just fun and made me chuckle and smile. And the relationship grows between these two as the book goes.

The writing is great Ann Aguirre through and through. She describes things in a way that is easy to understand and see in my minds eye. Yes, I had a little bit of troubles at first with the jumping, but I was jumping to try to understand before Ann got through describing it to us. Once she was through that I understood and could see it all working. The Chapters are short and direct. And the action never stops, which is a classic Ann Aguirre read. She kept moving with the action and the relationships constantly. I never got bored with the book. It we went fighting, we where laughing.

I will be reading the next book in this series.

posted by Melhay on April 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Self Indulgent

Where to begin? Grimspace? What names did the author reject before choosing that name for her travel method? Doomspace? Deathspace? The main character is also far too infallible. Apparently dhe always has the right answer, the right thing to say, and the right plan. It...
Where to begin? Grimspace? What names did the author reject before choosing that name for her travel method? Doomspace? Deathspace? The main character is also far too infallible. Apparently dhe always has the right answer, the right thing to say, and the right plan. It came off as a story that a high school student would write. There are far better space opera novels out there, one excellent examld would be the Cassandra Kresnov novels

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    grand space opera in the tradition of Star Wars

    Grimspace Ann Aguirre Ace, Mar 2008, $7.99 ISBN: 9780441015993 Thanks to being born with the J-gene Sirantha Jax is able to navigate through GRIMSPACE. Her skill makes her valuable as she can lead a ship through a shortcut bend in space though it comes at a cost, reducing her lifespan expectancy. On her last mission, Jax navigatd the Saragasso carrying Conglomerate delegates to a summit on Matins IV. She has no memory of what went wrong, but everyone else on board died in a crash. Jax is arrested and placed in a chamber where she is tortured and drugged by doctors who demand she confess that she caused the crash. March enters her cell and helps Jax escape. He and other interested parties want to know how she is able to ¿jump¿ like she does. They land on Lachion where she meets the people who set the wheels in motion to free her. They want her and March to go to ten worlds to find missing humans and others who can navigate Grimspace like she can. They hope to form an academy to teach them how to do so and break the interstellar monopoly of the Conglomerate. The Corps wants Jax back under their control and have sent her picture everywhere with the caption she is dangerous to every Conglomerate world. Hundreds of bounty hunters taste the reward of bringing her in dead or preferably alive. --- This is a grand space opera in the tradition of Star Wars with a romantic subplot that adds spice to the fast-paced, character-driven story line. Readers take a glorious roller coaster ride around the Aguirre galaxy filled with alien species on worlds that seem real due to the vivid descriptions. However, with all that going for it, GRIMSPACE belongs to the kick butt heroine. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Headstrong

    Grimspace was such a great book! I love how Sirantha Jax is so headstrong but not annoying. Jax is being contained because the ship she was on crashed leaving everyone on board dead except for herself. She is prodded for information while the Corp (government type organization) begins to investigate the situation. March (funny name), a handsome man with a serious attitude, saves her from her cell and now the chase begins. This is an awesome story about love, adventure and of selflessness. This book is based in space and I was never an outer space book reader but this one won me over. I will definitely buy the second one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    I've never seen this series before but

    I have been looking at the comments and most of them say they are great so should I try try this series out? Please respond back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    !!!!!!!!

    Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Great world, fascinating characters, unique voice

    I deeply enjoyed this book. I read almost the entire book in one sitting and rushed to buy the sequel. If you like your heroes a little tortured, very sarcastic, with a healthy dose of unpredictable then Sirantha Jax is your girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book!

    This is one of the best books I have read in a while! Excellent and clever dialog, along with some interesting and dynamic characters, make for a story you can't stop reading! Definitely worth your time if you like sci-fi, romance, or even urban fantasy. The only criticism I have is that at times Aguirre was a bit under-descriptive, but the book was still brilliant! If you liked this book, you might also like the Species Imperative series by Julie E. Czerneda, and the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Awesome

    Awesome characters, quick-pace, love this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    An outstanding book all around!

    This is one of my favorite books. It isn't just another Sci-fi story. It pulls together so many great themes and ideas. It also has characters you can relate to not perfect heroes. It is action adventure, love, horror, and Sci-fi story all in 314 pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    AMAZING!!!

    this book was truly the best i've read. not only was it adventerous, but romantic as well. Ann Aguirre, if you get this comment, you are literally the best writter i've seen. thank you so much and i hope there'll be another book of this amazing time space and set.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    A pleasure to read.

    Sirantha Jax has the rare J-gene that gives her the ability to jump ships through Grimspace. Even though this talent cuts her life expentacy, she's practically consider a celebrity until a freak accident kills her pilot and leaves her the sole survivor. She's accused of killing everyone on ship and is unable to defend herself because she has no memory of what truly happened. Jax is taken to a facility and is interrogated and forced to go through dream therapy with the believe that her superiors are trying to help her. What she soons finds out is that helping her is the farthest thing from their minds. A mysterious man breaks her out before she breaks under the stress and offers her freedom, if she's willing to help their cause. March, the man who got her out, needs Jax's help to establish a new breed of jumpers not under the Corp's thumb. He's willing to do anything to accomplish this. Jax has always only been good at one thing - Grimspace. She should have burned out years ago. Will it finally kill her this time? Grimspace is a gritty, action-packed science fiction story. It definitely packs a punch, it's mystery, adventure and romance all in a fantastic package. It's one of those books that make you forget that you should be studying for your exam on Monday. Aquirre's storystelling can go from being heart-breaking eloquent to down right edgy. I definitely look forward to reading more of Jax and March's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3