Customer Reviews for

Gringos in Paradise: An American Couple Builds Their Retirement Dream House in a Seaside Village in Mexico

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    Read Before Moving

    If you are considering a move to Mexico, or simply a move to a foreign country, this book will help you understand the cultural differences, the upsides and down sides. And if you are not thinking about a move, read it anyway! It is delightful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Loved it

    My husband and I just purchased oceanfront property in the Yucatan. While we were also temped to buy on our first visit, we made a return trip a few months later. Their journey has been very helpful as we start our own journey. Must read if you are planning a similar move and even if you are not, while it is very informative it is also quite entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    NOW I WANT TO MOVE TO MEXICO!

    Until I started reading this book, I had never entertained the remote thought of moving to Mexico! Now, I wish I had moved to Sayulita 10 years ago! Living through the Golson's trials and tribulations was like going through them myself. I could not stop reading this book. I enjoyed the way Mr. Golson writes, as if I'm there in his living room, and he's telling me this story. Highly enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    Witty, Thoughtful and Moving

    Barry Golson's tale of the year that he and his wife, Thia, spent building their dream house, is one of those books you find yourself thinking back upon long after you're finished reading.

    I particularly loved the way he braved honest fears about worrying that he and his wife wouldn't have anything to talk about after their sons boys flew the coop for college. It's sentiments like those -- commonly-felt but usually not-talked-about among married folk -- that give you the feeling that he's coming from a place of emotional honesty.

    The rest of the book is filled with moments like that: poignant, emotional and true.

    I can't recommend it highly enough.

    If you want to read up on him, his blog is here: http://barrygolson.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    If your interested in living a "building in Mexico" adventure, this book is for you.

    This isn't a brain surgery book, but it does a great job of its subject, building a home in Mexico. It's an honest, straightforward story with humour thrown in the mix. The book gives the reader a good analysis of the people and challenges,(Sometimes the people are the challenges!), of building in Mexico. I have two different people who would like to build in Mexico; they are getting the book as a gift. Buy it to enjoy it and you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book For The Traveler and Adventurous Retiree

    I'm no where near retirement, but this book makes me think long and hard about the possibilities of retiring somewhere new and challenging. Mr. Golson has a witty humor that makes living in Mexico an adventure...even during the golden years. The book centers around building a dream house in a tropical region of Mexico. Seems like a simple task? Well in a funny and topsy turvy way, a dream house is made and retirement is living through it. I loved this book, have talked to family and friends about the nuances of Mexico, and felt like I learned a great deal about how great retirement can be if you are willing to be a trailblazer. I loved getting to know the Golsons better and wish I could have learned more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Best book about Mexico

    As the author of The People's Guide to Mexico wrote about this book, the 'descriptions of the sights, sounds, smells and rhythms of daily village life and insights into Mexican culture and customs are among the best I've ever read.' I agree. One curmudgeon reviewer below called it smug, but I don't know a gringo who's written about Mexico with more affection--and the humor's always at the author's expense. It's practically a primer on how to resettle in a foreign country without being an Ugly American. I'm thinking about moving abroad, probably to Latin America, and I suspect this will be my bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    Mas Gringos en Paradise

    Wow! What a read. Barry Golson's view of experiencing the adventure of building a villa in Mexico was absolutely the best timing for my wife and I. We were experiencing something very similar in Los Cabos as I ventured through Barry's excerpts of his and Thia's construction experience. Barry concisely captures the special measures of the Mexican culture with taste and accuracy. Thanks for sharing...EXCELLENT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    You're Right, I Just Don't Get It

    Expected Peter Mayle charm but got NYC charm instead. Numerous, gratuitous, PC, Oliver Stone-esque diatribes about victimized Mexico. Blissful ignorance reminiscent of Dickens with his newfound wealth in regards to the exploitation of new Mexican neighbors: circumvention of their culture by helping to set up a gringo expatriot colony that thrives on cheap Mexican labor and circumvention of their laws by finding the right lawyer to build a beautiful home financed by the strong American dollar - a home the average Mexican can only afford if they go to a place like the NYC area the author just left and and toil for many years in the restaurants the author can no longer afford. Delivered with a serene smugness about how other gringos 'just don't get it.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2007

    Wishin' I could retire there today!

    Golson's Sayulita adventure makes me wish I was old enough to join them. (One kid in college, and one to go!) I appreciated the way he reminds readers that the most successful expats become part of the community, immerse themselves in the culture and live on Mexican time. He does a wonderful job with the introducing the people he meets both mexicans and gringos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    A real Mexico adventure.

    Gringos in Paradise is a wonderful story of meeting life's challanges head on and succeeding. It is also a funny and insightful story of a couple's relationship with mutual love and support. It certainly paints a picture of Mexico that reveals the charms and strengths of the Mexican people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Funny, poignant, practical

    The story of a couple's move to a Mexican village, filled with great stories about what it's like to start a new life. This is one of those gems that give you a bunch of things at once--humor, with some laugh-out-loud moments--information--it feels like the real deal on Mexicans, gringos, and living in Mexico--and a very touching story about family and friendship. I was teary-eyed at the end, wishing the story would go on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    A wonderful vist to Mexico

    Even if you don't plan to retire in Mexico, the book is a great read. It took a lot of guts for the author to turn his dream house into a reality, and along the way he learned all sorts of lessons about the Mexican people and life in Mexico that make the country seem delightful, even if there are some bumps along the way. And with a little Web searching you can find that the house is for rent for part of the year. You can literally live this dream, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    Gringos in Paradise: An American Couple Builds their Retirement Dream House in a Seaside Village in Mexico

    Gringos gives the reader a good insight into Mexico and the Mexican people. It's easy to read and it is always nice to have a story that is told with a good sense of humor. I enjoyed it as did my wife and our friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    The book is more than about building a house in a foreign land.

    I read 'Gringoes in Paradise' in Florence, Italy but as I got closer to the end of the book I was ready to get on a plane to Sayulita, Mexico and track down the Golsons and their Casa Gala. The book is more than about building a house in a foreign land. It showed that we Baby Boomers can live without all the extras that we've become used to and we can live life with humor, sensitivity and humanity in another land if we have the courage to take the leap. The richness of the Golson's long term marriage makes it all possible and Mr. Golson's warm amd accessible writing brings it home to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2006

    Gringos in Paradise: An American Couple Builds their Retirement Dream House in a Seaside Village in Mexico

    Well written with humor adn a real insight to Mexico and Mexicans. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2