Customer Reviews for

Grounded

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fast, Furious, Unique

    Grounded opens with dramatic flair, a baby found abandoned, an explosion, and I’m hooked! Add to the mix, a leap in time, an isolated Amish community, and a young woman who leaves the haven of her simple life to find her father, who has been taken to an Englisher hospital. Completely naïve to the modern world filled with electricity, tall buildings and the cold environment of distrust and power-hungry villains, Lydia is thrown into the vortex of a scientific experiment gone bad. She discovers she is part of ground zero, one of two children born to soldiers who were part of a top secret experiment in creating human electrical producers/conductors. She is discovered by accident and the action and suspense rockets from there! She meets Korwin, also a child of the experiments, who is now the son of the leader of a rebellion against those who wish to abuse and use these children. As they run from danger, Lydia uses her strengths from her beliefs to stay alive. When all is said and done, will they be alive and trapped in this dystopian world? Will she be satisfied with the simple life?
    Author G. P. Ching has gone outside the boundaries of a simple genre and has dared to blend the simple life of the Amish with a paranormal, sci-fi thriller! Her characters run deep, ring true, and the light touch of romance between two unique individuals from worlds as different as night and day is the perfect polish on this fast-reading gem!
    My thanks to NetGalley and All Night Reads for providing me a copy of Grounded in exchange for my honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book. It has good science fiction and dystop

    Really enjoyed this book. It has good science fiction and dystopian society elements. I really liked the ending because I was not left hanging. It had an actual ending along with a possibility of a sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Sans

    Refreshing new concept. Love the people. Ching ties the end up and leaves you satisfied with a great story. I have read all of this authors books and look foward to any of her new books. Five stars to Ching.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Grounded is an unputdownable multi-layered Dystopian read. Fille

    Grounded is an unputdownable multi-layered Dystopian read. Filled with adventure, mystery and a bait of romance, this book drew me in from the first page.  I loved this book and have already have  list of people who I know will NEED to read it.  




    Here are some of the things I love about this book:




    *The premise for this story is very unique. Not only does this book have the nonscientific elements and Dystopian elements, but it also has the tie to our world through Lydia's Amish community.  




    *I was sucked into the book from the first page of the prologue and the book did not let me go until the very last page.  My husband would argue that it did not even let me go then because I keep telling him about the book.




    *The whole back story of how this world came to be is, while I hope not probable, very believable.  I can see society making those decision. I will not get all spoilery and give those decisions away, but they are not out of the realm of possibility given the right circumstances.




    *The characters were so well written that I felt like I knew them.  Lydia stayed true to who she was and her personality even when she had to make decisions that were not at all what an Amish would have ever imagine anyone would have to make.  Korwin grew up in a much less loving, supportive, and peaceful fashion, yet has this innate goodness that just makes you immediately signing up to be his number one cheerleader.




    *Unlike most Dystopian books, the heroine from this book is not really an "insider" or someone from within the society who realizes that things are not how they could be.  Instead, because of her Amish home, she is the outsider and that made this story really different.  I love how it did not take the standard path.  




    *I have read that this is planned to be a trilogy and I will for certain sure be reading them all, but it did not feel like one.  What I mean by that is that it felt like a complete story in and of itself.  If it ended with this book, I would feel quite content.  There are some loose ends, but it felt done.  This was quite a relief since the other books are not out yet.  




    *While this book is YA in nature, it is "deep" enough that it had completely enthralled at almost *cough40cough*.  I would feel comfortable recommending this book to a mature 14 plus audience.  Some of the topics in this book were intense, as is the case with Dystopia.  There was some violence (nothing was graphic). There were no sexual situations (kissing and sexual tension...yes).  




    I simply loved this novel and highly recommend it to anyone who loves dystopia, science fiction, Amish novels, or simply loves great YA.  I would not, however, recommend starting this book if you only have 15 minutes before you need to go somewhere because it will make you late.  It takes a special kind of will power to put this book down.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!!!

    This book started off cunfusing and slow...but once i got to like the bfifth chapter the book was totally great. Its a new favorite!!!!!!!!! When does the next one come out!!!!?????????

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    This was a refreshingly unique and electrifying story. I was hoo

    This was a refreshingly unique and electrifying story. I was hooked from the first page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to author G. P. Ching and Netgalley.)
    17-year-old Lydia is Amish, and intends to get married and have kids without ever seeing the English way of life, until her father suffers a stroke and is taken to an English hospital for treatment.

    Talked into partaking in rumspringa in order to leave her community and visit her father in hospital, Lydia and her best friend Jeremiah leave their sheltered way of life, and venture into the city.

    Once in the electrical world things start going wrong for Lydia, and she soon finds herself arrested for being a ‘scamper’ – someone who steals electricity. It seems that Lydia is instead an energy source herself though, and she is able to create electricity and use it as she wills.
    Why can Lydia produce electricity? What do the government want with her? And will she ever see home again?


    This was an entertaining YA sci-fi/romance, and I liked the action.

    Lydia was a girl who had been raised Amish and had no problems with her life. She wasn’t interested in being anyone other than who she felt she was, and would have never have even taken part in rumspringa had her father not fallen ill.

    I liked the storyline in this book, although it did seem like a bit of an odd idea to turn human beings into batteries. While it would be very useful to be your own source of electricity, I can’t even begin to image what havoc that amount of excess electrical energy would do to the body on a cellular basis, and can only hope that this idea is indeed only ever found in fiction.

    There was some romance in this one which I liked, although I could see why Lydia was a little confused when she found herself in a bit of a love triangle! Especially considering her Amish background. Thankfully this love triangle was of the ‘unrequited friend that likes her’ sort of variety, so wasn’t really all that bad at all.
    There was also quite a bit of action in this one, and I liked that something was constantly happening. I liked the threat and the chase, and the special effects and explosions were also pretty good.

    I liked the ending to this one, although I really think that the author could maybe develop this story into a series. I thought that the ideas were quite unique, and the story flowed really well, and I would certainly be interested in reading a sequel.
    Overall; a good YA sci-fi romance.
    7 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Great book

    Hoping for a follow up book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1