Customer Reviews for

Grow Old With Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful story

    Grow Old With Me is such a wonderful book, heartwarming, uplifting and touching. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and it will be one of my top ten for 2011. I felt like I was staying at this special Inn. The name of the Inn is just fantastic, it's called Mosey Inn. Also all of the rooms in the Inn have names of quilts, and the description of the Inn and surrounding areas were so well done. The characters feel like old friends now and I hated to finish the book and leave my friends behind.
    I always love book covers and titles of books and this one by Melinda Evaul is just perfect. You can just imagine the inside of the Inn after seeing what it looks like on the outside.
    Benjamin and Sarah are an older couple who at first didn't have any thoughts of doing anything but just living and surviving life. They didn't have an easy life and didn't expect things to change, but change they did.
    It seemed like one disaster or hardship just got worked out and another popped up, but it wasn't to much. You will never be bored with the happenings in this book. I just loved all of the sweet, loving people of this town, but you will also find a couple of mean-spirited people.
    I really love stories about older couples and Grow Old With Me is about the best I've read.
    I really recommend this book. It is one that you will love to read over and over again.


    This book was given to me by the author to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Low-key mystery, gentle romance, small-town drama

    Sara's latest guest at the B&B is a man so scarred she can scarcely help staring at him. But soon Sara, Benjamin, and another long-time boarder are sharing meals and enjoying time together. After all, it's who a person is that matters, not how they look.

    In the village people stare and gossip. No wonder Benjamin doesn't like to be seen. But Sara's hiding secrets too. And in Melinda Evaul's first Quilt Trail novel, Grow Old with Me, the reader learns how admitting we're vulnerable is sometimes the first step to being free.

    A gentle romance, low-key mystery, and small-town drama rolled into one, Grow Old with Me introduces a large cast of characters, builds relationships, and reminds readers that it's never too late to change or to turn to God-not even when we're growing old.



    Disclosure: I read this book in the Christian eBook section of the Dan Poynter Global eBook Awards.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Place this book on your keeper shelf!

    Author Melinda Evaul has done a fantastic job in her debut novel "Grow Old With Me" of bringing to life two hurting people - Sarah Campbell and Benjamin Pruitt. When Sarah's and Benjamin's paths cross, will they be able to push fear aside and find true love?

    I love the themes throughout this book, such as that found in 1 Samuel 16:7 "The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart." So often, people are judged for their appearance and treated poorly merely for not fitting the mold of society's idea of outer perfection. Such is the case for Benjamin. The pain, sadness, and rejection he had faced stayed with me long after I finished reading the last page.

    So, too, Sarah was forgotten for the self-sacrifices she made throughout her life caring for her mother. As the years had passed, she had all but lost hope. Lonliness and chronic physical pain had also found their way into Sarah's life. Melinda did a great job of illustrating both Sarah's and Benjamin's characters. They were realistic enough to be a next door neighbor or someone we might meet at the grocery store.

    This is an uplifting book of faith, hope, and love. "Grow Old With Me" is a well-written novel with characters that capture the reader's heart. I would highly recommend it and have placed it on my keeper shelf!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I am a fan of the lovely book "Grow Old With Me". I c


    I am a fan of the lovely book "Grow Old With Me". I can't remember when I have enjoyed a book from cover to cover. I intend to tell my friends about this gem of a story. Having a grandson of my own, I was particularly touched that Noah called Benjamin "Grandpa". The relationship between Sarah and Benjamin is beautiful, as true as love can be. It was a heartwarming and spiritual story. I know that I will read it over again and again. I agree with everyone, it is certainly a keeper, a book to be cherished. I would love to read another story from Melinda Evaul, when she's ready

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Such a sweet read!

    Loved this book! Got a little annoyed with Sarah's whining, but loved her and Benjamin anyway...awesome how God used both of them to help the other heal and how they found love for the first time...just a wonderful story! Review by CherishD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    LOVED IT!!

    Great story line. Very inspirational!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Christian fictiom at its best

    This is Christian fiction at its best. Sometimes it was predictable, but most stories of this ilk are, so I knew what to expect when I purchased it. At times I wanted to shake the heroine Sarah's self pitying attitude out of her, but it was one of the main parts of the story, without it, the story would have lost part of its depth. Every character in this book became my friend as I read, except for one, and this was how the author meant it to be. The flow of this book was very well done and the plot was possible. This book was extremely well edited. I did not observe a single mistake in over 770 pages. My compliments to the author, editor, and proof readers for a job well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    Wonderful story

    I loved this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Even though it is a long book, it is a very easy read and the pages fly by! I throughly enjoyed this story is a excellent Christian fiction read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Terrific Debut Novel!

    Melinda Evaul's charming "Grow Old With Me" is a thoughtful, sweet and heartwarming story perfect for young and old alike. While lending insight into growing old with grace, dignity, strength of spirit, and humor, it allows a glimpse of how love can reach into the deepest recesses of our heart at any age. In this first of her Quilt Trail Series, Evaul brings home the truth in inventive ways threaded throughout the novel that beauty is indeed only skin deep. Through her wonderful characterizations and plotline, she reveals how the essence of true beauty is found inside one's soul, growing and blessing others from the inside out. Sarah Campbell runs a bed and breakfast and, suffering from physical ailments, needs assistance. Benjamin Pruitt bears the scars and disfigurement borne of tragedy, and although often misunderstood, blesses Sarah and others by helping in his gentle, kind and loving way. This is a hero and heroine you can genuinely love, respect and admire. Both are lonely and yearn for companionship and someone to share the joys, triumphs, and inevitable frailties and tragedies of life. Their developing relationship, mutual respect and growing trust and love is a masterful portrait of the human condition and how we can find the source of our hope in a personal relationship with the Lord and how He, in turn, can provide that perfect helpmate to satisfy the deepest yearnings of our soul. "Grow Old With Me" is a perfect book to curl up with on a rainy night, a cold winter's day, under a tree on a lazy afternoon, or on a summer porch with a glass of lemonade. Its quaint characterizations of quiet, country life - full of wonderful supporting characters, poignant emotion and sweet but realistic romance - is a treat for all ages. I highly recommend this book and encourage you to take the journey to Love Valley, North Carolina. Once there, you won't want to leave...and will want to return again and again. My prayer is that I won't need to grow much older before Ms. Evaul brings us her next installment in this terrific series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Wonderful

    Facing fears, growing in faith, with a "Beauty and the Beast" flair, the characters will grab hold of you and not let go. Being from NC about 45 minutes from Love Valley, this story held an extra bit of interest for me. You may find yourself wanting to visit this unique setting. A lovely story...with plenty of bumps in the road, you'll find yourself being entertained and inspired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I love how this story starts and end, it is a beautiful story of two different people who finaly fell in love despite the way he look, I could hardly put this mystery book down, no bad words neither.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    A very inspiring story.

    This story was sweet, inspiring, and thought provoking. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Loved this book

    This is a very heart warming book. I could feel the emotions from each person. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Shysong

    Waits.~Shysong

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Grow old with me

    I loved this book! At first i thought it was going to be too long but it kept my attention the whole way through. Sarah and Benjamen were both so likable and i really loved Ella. The only small disappointment was how the wedding was skipped over. I would have liked to read about a few details of the wedding day since it was a long time coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Endearing

    Pleasant read with great encouragement

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Liked it just fine

    I only give this three stars just because it didn't need to be nearly 800 pages long. The middle dragged on far too long. Otherwise a nice story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Rainshadow

    Im grea wat about you?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Cats

    Alrighty then. How are you, love?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2