Customer Reviews for

Growing Up

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Growing Up is the story of Russell Baker's childhood during whic

    Growing Up is the story of Russell Baker's childhood during which he lived in a poor Virginia house that had no electricity or running water, moved to a city and lived with other family members during the Great Depression, and finally a house in the suburbs. His family had little to no money during the Great Depression and Russell is forced to sell newspapers at the age of eight. His mother pushes him to become something and to rise out of poverty. He gets his chance when he graduates high school in the middle of WWII and enlists. He shares his memoirs of struggle and maturing into a man during WWII. His mother encourages him to become something after the war and Russell becomes a writer. This book describes the struggle during the Great Depression and the relief of it as WWII begins. At the end of the book, Russell Baker is fully grown up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    On Line Book Review of Growing Up by Russell Baker

    My rationale for selecting this book is that it is very easy to read and understand. I enjoyed reading about Russell's childhood experiences. The greatest impact that this book has on society today is the importance of learning about your past and then passing it on to your children and other generations. Because we all come from our past and this knowledge should be shared to help society understand the reasons for some of our actions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    Show a little gumption!

    I loved this book. Baker uses dry humor and emotion to take readers on a revealing and powerful journey through the hardships of the Great Depression. Baker is very strong-willed. When you read about his childhood, you can tell that he is able to cope with many difficult situations. His mother also teaches him the motivation to better himself that everyone should be taught. You should read this book if you enjoy historical facts coalesced with real emotions and family anecdotes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2006

    GROWING UP

    if you wanna learn about the great depression you must read this book for the reason that it shows the very aspects of lives of people during the great depression.and the autobiographal style, use of 'I' is very crucial..i say it again you must read this wonderful book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    Growing UP

    Growing Up is an okay story. Baker goes on too much about his aunts and uncles. He is sort of a dry writer. Not a great book, but not the worst either. would recommend for adults, not teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2005

    Teaches you a lot

    Growing Up helps you learn valuable life lessons and makes you feel like you can do anything you put your mind to. Although slightly boring at parts, this books is overall well-written, interesting, and sends strong messages to readers giving them advice on several different things. I would reccomend this book to anyone who enjoys to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    Gumption

    Growing up is an Awesome book that taught me that no matter what you may encounter...life still has more sh&* to throw at you! Either you get out there and fight for your dignity ,work hard and be happy or you will fail.Gumption...That's it...Gumption! Linda Henderson(Community College of Vermont) Student..used in our classroom 'Dimensions of Learning' College Course- Instructor : Gary Steller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    Brutally honest and funny

    Russell Baker¿s Pulitzer Prize winning autobiography, Growing Up, takes the reader on a compelling journey through Great Depression. It follows iron willed Russell Baker who struggles through adversity to become the renowned writer he is today. Baker¿s no holds barred honesty, and detailed character description bring his eccentric but relatable family to life. With his mix of humor and emotion, Baker has a style that engages his readers. You will have a hard time putting this book down once you pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    Am I awake???

    This book is awful. It's easy enough for a 1st grader to read. It's so vague its hilarious. Don't buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    simply great.

    I have to say i stole this book from my teacher...lol...and im glad i did because its become one of my favorite ones in my library. The book is so well written, and it was interesting to read, it kept me wanting to read it all at once.Great book i reccomment it.I also stole 'The Rescue of Miss Yaskell and other Pipe dreams' from Baker, but i have not gotten to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2003

    Funny and touching

    I read this book is Chinese translation and the book was lost long time ago(about 5 years ago) since I lent it to somebody. That year, 1998, I quitted my job which I hated but became out of work. In the book, Baker's mother told him must promote the magazine even the poorest, I thought it funny because my character like Baker, hate promoting job! But his sister was daring, just tap the window od one man's car and she succeeded sold newspaper. But depression Era, even college graduate women had nothing to do with career. The only thing do to is find a man(better be rich man) to solve their economic problem. If Baker's character exchange with his sister, it would be awful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2001

    Wonderful!

    I read this book when I was in college and I have said this is my favorite book ever since. I couldn't put it down and so love Mr. Baker's gift for writing. Do yourself a favor and read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    Excellent reading! A must for aspiring autobiographers!

    Russell Baker writes his life story through vignettes and episodes that captures your interests and imagination. You can't put the book down once you start reading. You wished you didn't have to eat and sleep. This is a must-read book for anyone who wishes to write a good life story. He is an excellent story teller....he is the host of the weekly series, Masterpiece Theatre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1