Customer Reviews for

Growing Up Psychic: My Story of Not Just Surviving but Thriving--and How Others Like Me Can, Too

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I could not put it down....I have been following Chip for a few

I could not put it down....I have been following Chip for a few years now and while reading his book, i could hear his voice....like Chip himself was coming through the pages....Sure hope another one is on the way!!!!

posted by GreerC on April 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Only OK

It gets repetitive after a few chapters. These topics are repeated over and over again:Treat your kids, even psychic ones with love and encouragement. Don't just assume there is something mentally wrong with your kid just because they say they're hearing voices. But al...
It gets repetitive after a few chapters. These topics are repeated over and over again:Treat your kids, even psychic ones with love and encouragement. Don't just assume there is something mentally wrong with your kid just because they say they're hearing voices. But also don't assume your kid is psychic just because they knew you were making meatloaf for dinner that night. Got it. I wish it had more behind the scenes stories from Paranormal State and Psychic Kids. I still don't know much about his childhood even though "Growing up Psychic" is the name of the book. It should have been called "Handbook for the Potentially Psychic Kid and/or His/Her Parents"

posted by 8821890 on November 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    I absolutely love Chip Coffey. The book was great. I love reading about personal experiences and that there are people out there with special abilities and that they do not need to be alone. I feel for the parents that needs to comfort their kids because they are psychic. This book is a great, easy-to-read book with great ideas and teachings. Keep up the great work Chip.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    I could not put it down....I have been following Chip for a few

    I could not put it down....I have been following Chip for a few years now and while reading his book, i could hear his voice....like Chip himself was coming through the pages....Sure hope another one is on the way!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    loved it!!!!

    I'm not a big reader and I read Chip's book within 24hrs. I adore his sense of humor and how candid he is. I'm sure parents will find this book helpful if they have kids with psychic abilities and if not, it's still a darn good book! I can't wait for the next one!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Only OK

    It gets repetitive after a few chapters. These topics are repeated over and over again:Treat your kids, even psychic ones with love and encouragement. Don't just assume there is something mentally wrong with your kid just because they say they're hearing voices. But also don't assume your kid is psychic just because they knew you were making meatloaf for dinner that night. Got it. I wish it had more behind the scenes stories from Paranormal State and Psychic Kids. I still don't know much about his childhood even though "Growing up Psychic" is the name of the book. It should have been called "Handbook for the Potentially Psychic Kid and/or His/Her Parents"

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    I've always know that I was different, and I had a really hard c

    I've always know that I was different, and I had a really hard conveying the messages I received to those that they were meant for. This book empowered me to embrace my God given gift. I have never felt so at ease and comfortable with what I know I am capable of. I really hope that Chip publishes another book in the near future. If you believe that you too have a psychic gift, or that your child might, please do yourself and your child the favor of reading this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    For this being Chip Coffey's first book, hopefully more to come(

    For this being Chip Coffey's first book, hopefully more to come(hint,hint) I got it and finished it within hours. He gave good detail to his up bringning, and he is helping our society with today's children and how to understand where they are coming from. Thank you, Chip, your mom's plea has come true in so many ways!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    A very practical guide for the psychic, those who love them and

    A very practical guide for the psychic, those who love them and those who need to learn about them, like doctors and teachers. I'm not a kid, but I'm very psychic, and I learned lots from Mr. Coffey's book. Well done on a great and very needed guide!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    So helpful in understanding.....

    I really enjoyed reading Chip's book. To hear someone else's perspective about life with/as a gifted child was very refreshing. My daughter is sensitive and it took a long tome for our family to come to terms with that using just our own ideas. If I'd had this to read 10 years ago, our lives would have been much easier and her adolescence much less turbulent. Thanks for a great resource Chip!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended for parents/grandparents

    A must read if you have children/grandchild experiencing paranormal activities. Great read...Loved his explanations in understanding these children and how to recognize their gift. Thanks Chip Coffey.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Vi

    Etrucnwtut . Fnmvmd ctucn

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    FLIPPEN AMAZING

    I love him even tho i think he is gay but im bi so idc an i have a major bad bi crush on Ryan

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Was ok, not all that great

    Was ok, don't think I would recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    A Great Read--can't put it down!!!!!

    Chip Coffey knows how to tell a very straightforward story and pulls no punches. Enjoyed it very much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2