Customer Reviews for

Growing Up Again: Life, Loves, and Oh Yeah, Diabetes

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

MTM's Growing Up Again

The Vivacious and Lovable personality of The Dick Van Dyke Show has now finally left us with another incredible reminder of how precious Life is, through triumphs, but also through the obstacles which are suddenly placed as hindrances to our pie in the sky attitudes whi...
The Vivacious and Lovable personality of The Dick Van Dyke Show has now finally left us with another incredible reminder of how precious Life is, through triumphs, but also through the obstacles which are suddenly placed as hindrances to our pie in the sky attitudes which cloud our ability to factor in life's difficulties as vehicles to drive us into the levels of accomplishments which would otherwise not be attainable. MTM Illustrates how she developed her attitude of rational thinking, and developing abilities to make the best available choices no matter how insurmountable they may seem at the time. Her anecdotes are very timely and placed succintly into her story to accentuate the points of encouragement, from examples she has experienced, and strongly feels that others could benefit from her examples. Her story is never dull, her ability to capture an audience is easily transfered from the Television camera, into this autobiography. She has been forced to"grow up again", but MTM illustrates it with all the Charm that we have come to love in the Character roles she played so well, for us. This is a book well-worth the investment, either for the pure injoyment of discovering a deeper look into the life of MTM, Or for those who, like me were first just a bit curious, then compelled to follow her story along with a hidden expectation of gleaning some of her wisdom, developed over the years, both during good times and bad, in order for me to perhaps see an develope strategy to move past some of life's hurdles, and continue on in our race.

posted by jeffreyh27 on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Way too elementary for long time diabetics

First, I will admit that I have not finished this book yet, got about 2/3 through and just couldn't waste any more time on it. As a Type 1 diabetic of almost 30 years I had really expected a lot more out of it. Many, many times while reading, I felt as though I were r...
First, I will admit that I have not finished this book yet, got about 2/3 through and just couldn't waste any more time on it. As a Type 1 diabetic of almost 30 years I had really expected a lot more out of it. Many, many times while reading, I felt as though I were reading a 150 page booklet at the doctor's office - "Diabetes and You", that kind of corny writing etc. She wastes a lot of time discussing how many times a year to get blood tests, A1C, how often to test blood sugar. I mean, UGH, I'm not 8 years old and just diagnosed. What I had hoped for was a more personal perspective on dealing with a chronic illness, how she really feels about it. Instead, she lightly covers the negatives and then goes on to optimistic rants and thanks-givings to research and science advances. It came up very short in my opinion.

posted by 1332161 on May 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    Way too elementary for long time diabetics

    First, I will admit that I have not finished this book yet, got about 2/3 through and just couldn't waste any more time on it. As a Type 1 diabetic of almost 30 years I had really expected a lot more out of it. Many, many times while reading, I felt as though I were reading a 150 page booklet at the doctor's office - "Diabetes and You", that kind of corny writing etc. She wastes a lot of time discussing how many times a year to get blood tests, A1C, how often to test blood sugar. I mean, UGH, I'm not 8 years old and just diagnosed. What I had hoped for was a more personal perspective on dealing with a chronic illness, how she really feels about it. Instead, she lightly covers the negatives and then goes on to optimistic rants and thanks-givings to research and science advances. It came up very short in my opinion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    All About Diabetes

    Just so others know what they're getting...there's VERY little of the "Life, Loves" part. This book is almost entirely about her struggle with diabetes (and most of that struggle was simply denial). Not what I was expecting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Growing Up Again...Mary Tyler Moore

    This is a great book by Miss Moore. She has provided both biographic information as well as a lot of information regarding diabetes. It is not the most entertaining of writings, but I feel it is the kind of book that one who has any relationship at all to diabetes and its effect on one's life, as well as those around him/her (relative, caretaker, other diabetics, etc.) would like to have among the books of their individual libaries. It contains a plethora of information, while not usurping the relationship that a patient has with his/her medical care provider.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    MTM's Growing Up Again

    The Vivacious and Lovable personality of The Dick Van Dyke Show has now finally left us with another incredible reminder of how precious Life is, through triumphs, but also through the obstacles which are suddenly placed as hindrances to our pie in the sky attitudes which cloud our ability to factor in life's difficulties as vehicles to drive us into the levels of accomplishments which would otherwise not be attainable. MTM Illustrates how she developed her attitude of rational thinking, and developing abilities to make the best available choices no matter how insurmountable they may seem at the time. Her anecdotes are very timely and placed succintly into her story to accentuate the points of encouragement, from examples she has experienced, and strongly feels that others could benefit from her examples. Her story is never dull, her ability to capture an audience is easily transfered from the Television camera, into this autobiography. She has been forced to"grow up again", but MTM illustrates it with all the Charm that we have come to love in the Character roles she played so well, for us. This is a book well-worth the investment, either for the pure injoyment of discovering a deeper look into the life of MTM, Or for those who, like me were first just a bit curious, then compelled to follow her story along with a hidden expectation of gleaning some of her wisdom, developed over the years, both during good times and bad, in order for me to perhaps see an develope strategy to move past some of life's hurdles, and continue on in our race.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    More Diabetes Treatise Than Biography

    I bought this book thinking it was going to be more of a biography, (after all, I purchased it from the bio section), mixed with a little information regarding Mary's fight with Juvenile Diabetes. In fact, it was almost entirely the later. While it wasn't uninteresting, (due to the fact that I have a niece with JD), I read through it and gleaned what info I could, before gifting it to my niece and her parents as a resource.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Zane

    Ok bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Kevin

    Walks behind Jade and puts her air over her shoulder and kiss the ack of her neck

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Jade

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    To jay

    U stole ma name the dora hater

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    jay

    He presses agnst her, his shaft rubbing against her soft pu<_>ssy, but not penet<_>rating her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Misty

    ( I gtg theres a movie on that i wanna see. Bye! &hearts )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Toihgchyghrgru

    Gtgthhjbugrj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Noelle

    A redhaired girl with deep blue eyes walks in wearing a tight strapless dress about two sizes too small that shows off her great pencil thin(but not anorexic) curves & big b o o b s & just barely covers her firm round b u t t. Underneath her dress is a hot pink lace thong that is totally see through & shows every juicy part of her tight wet p u s s y. Her t i t s stick way out of her dress wich barely covers her b o o b s as well. You can see her p u s s y juices running down her bare legs & making sticky stains on her silk seven inch platform heels. You can also see her c l i t straining against her thong. You also notice that she has a c l i t ring as well as two t i t rings, one on each t i t.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Hey

    Sydni waks up unclothes. Come and get me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Anyoe here?

    Hello.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Great book

    It helped out a lot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Monica

    Is ready

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    A guy

    Sticks c.ock in deep while kissing you and crashing your b.oobs together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Fred

    *he plunges into her hard*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Mary Tyler Moore

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was also very educational. I have recommended to several friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2