Customer Reviews for

Growing up bin Laden: Osama's Wife and Son Take Us Inside Their Secret World

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Astonishingly candid look at a prominent Arab's family

    I expected this book to be a guarded flash peek under the veil, so to speak, but it was an honest, detailed, and thoughtful portrait of an Arab household. We hear from Osama's first wife, Najwa, and Najwa's fourth son, Omar, who give two distinct points of view into Osama bin Laden's household. At first I was perplexed that a son, an Arab son no less, would discuss internal family affairs so publicly. The more I read, however, the more I understood that Osama bin Laden sacrificed his privacy with his acts of war, and even his family members felt alienated from his peculiar view of the world. His son tells us that he hated his enemies more than he loved his family, and it saddens us, for then destruction is his only goal. Osama has given up his life for...not his family, not his country, not his countrymen. Certainly not for his god. But to ruin his enemies. Can there be anything more impoverished than that sad fact?

    When Osama married the first time, he was a wealthy young man with a bright future who sought to raise the approbation Islam received in the world. But he was exceptionally humorless in his approach to life. He expected such seriousness from his growing family of sons that he would not allow them to smile enough to reveal their teeth. "...my father actually counted the exposed teeth, reprimanding his sons on the number their merriment revealed." When they were both young, Najwa and Osama moved to Saudi Arabia from Syria to live in relative comfort with Osama and his extended family in Jeddah. By the end of the story told here, his wife was living in a cave in Afghanistan, suffering untold deprivations.

    This is a fascinating memoir of unusual candor which deserves to be read widely.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    A Must-Read Book

    Jean Sasson's books always fascinate me. I have read all of them and every one of them takes me to a place so different from what most of us know. Bin Laden's wife and son invite us to the inner sanction of an evil man's brain. With Jean Sasson's mastery of the written word, they are able to reveal startling secrets to the outside world. A very well-written book that deserve the attention of all lovers of history!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    FASCINATING!

    I was blown away by this book. I never understood osamas hatred of the US. I found this book so interesting I could not put it down. I found the culture and the way women were kept inside an uneducated and covered head to toe so bizarre in this day and age. So foreign to our modern life. It is fascinating to see the progression of Osama's devout Muslim beliefs turn radical. Thank you Omar and your mom for an insight into this elusive complicated man. He reminds me of Hitler but on a much smaller scale. Highly recommend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    Growing Up bin Laden - a fascinating read!

    Growing Up bin Laden provides illuminating insight into the early life of Osama bin Laden and reveals how this man's hatred was formed as witnessed by his son Omar. This book helps a person to understand the basic history of Al Qaeda and their motivations and sheds light on the inner workings of the world's most notorious terrorist.
    I enjoyed the opportunity to see how the bin Laden's lived, not just because of Osama bin Laden, but also because their culture is so different than anything that I have encountered. In reading this book I gained a greater understanding of Muslim culture. It may be surprising, but I found Osama bin Laden's first wife, Najwa bin Laden, to be a strong, courageous woman and his son Omar to be a gentle, caring man. The book is quite a fascinating read and I would recommend it to anyone interested in world events or exploring how other cultures live.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enlightening

    This is a culture that is foreign to us. Further indication we will be fighting these people for long time. Excellent read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Happy to introduce the world to Najwa and Omar

    This is Jean Sasson. I am pleased to see that this book is proving to be thought-provoking for readers. The past two years have been quite a journey, from the first day I heard from the Bin Ladens, through the long hours of interviewing and writing, and now seeing the book in print. It is a great feeling for a writing. I believe this book has great value. I believe that when read, it creates understanding. If you have any questions for me, please feel free to ask and I will respond.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    growing up bin laden

    cant wait to read this fasinating book, i love the work of jean sasson, she give a true insight into the lives of real people with a tragic past who eventually find peace, i think this book will be a fantastic read, it is the only way we will know the full truth about the life of osama bin laden, i recommend that you read all her books

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Captivating!!!

    This is one of my favorite books. Everyone should read this because it gives you a behind the scenes look of the Bin Ladens family circle, outside from what the media wants you to believe. This book throws you right into the personal and private moments between Osama and his children, as well as showing the role of a father, husband, and the many close friendships Osama had. It helps you fully understand the Bin Ladens in a deep and up close manner. A 5-Star Book!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great Story of the Personal life of Osama bin Laden! Must Read!

    This book is written with the help of Jean Sasson who is an excellent author, however, Najwa, Osama's first wife, and Omar, Najwa and Osama's fourth son, are the ones whos stories we read. These two were both very close to Osama and they share their experiences and viewpoints of Osama throughout their lives. Arabs are very secretive people, and it must have taken a lot of will power to speak so openly about his life, and give the world a chance to read about it. However, Omar was very against his father, as you will find out, and he wanted to clear his family name from any disgrace it holds due to Osama. He felt that his the whole bin Laden family deserved this chance. Osama created an awful world for his family and Omar felt that his privacy was invaded due to Osama's treturous life. We find out that Omar was Osama's predecessor. Omar prayed for peace while Osama prayed for war. They ended up being nothing alike. Osama claimed everything he did was for his God. Omar clearly knew that God would never want killings like this to happen. Osama married his first wife, Najwa, who was also his first cousin. She envied Osama's way of looking at life. He was very serious, and greatly involved in his religion. His family grew as he was at one time married to four wive and had over 13 children altogether. They lived well in Saudi Arabia, but soon Osama became involved in the creation of the Jihad group, al-Qaeda, a group that ruined him forever. They moved to Khartoum, Sudan to start a new life. But soon, they were punished and forced to move to Afghanistan. Here everything began to go bad. Omar and Najwa bring us into an untold world of, not only the bin Laden family, but also the Arab world. It is a very fascinating story that everbody should read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Great story! Funny, how it is stated many times, that Osama is in pakistan

    Wonderful read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    excellent

    This book proof that you can not judge the book from it's cover, because even though he is Osama's Bin Laden son he is not like his father,he's not a terrorist he's a peace maker. I love this book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Amazing Read, extremely well written

    A must read, I could no put it down. It definitely gives you an insight to the lifestyle of an enigmatic individual who hid so many atrocities from his own family. Excellent book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Great reading.

    Highly recommended. An excellent book; held your interest; didn't want to put it down. Suggest reading it and learn how life was like with Bin Laden.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    A great read for those with an open mind

    Both Najwa and Omar are truthful and speak well telling the story of their lives. You will be moved and they will draw you into the life of this infamous man. Both Najwa and Omar are courageous, amazing people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Great book

    It took me about 6 months to buy this book. I really had mixed fellings about spending my money on a book written by a Bin Laden. But..... it was such a great read. I have learned that not all the Bin Ladens sons agreed with their father and wanted to marry and get away from him. My heart really went out to his sons. He was not a loving father. I think everyone sould read this book. It really opened my eyes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    I enjoy studying people what motivates them, what makes them tic

    I enjoy studying people what motivates them, what makes them tick? I'm glad you decided to investigate further into the email from Omar. Najwa and Omar thank you for your story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Excellent book, couldn't put it down

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Growing Up bin Laden is a compelling story that changed my view

    Growing Up bin Laden is a compelling story that changed my view on the world.  Whether you know about Osama bin Laden or not, this book will bring tears to your eyes many times.  I personally feel nothing towards Osama bin Laden, but that is not all that this book is about.  We get an inside look at how his wife and children lived, and for the most part, they were in the dark about Osama’s militant activities.
    I would recommend this book to anyone that is willing to be emotional and forget, for just a minute, the things that this man did to our nation.  Through reading this book, you will learn to gain sympathy for the ones you didn’t know you could ever have sympathy for.
    One thing I do advise is, there are some parts in the book that go in depth about things like animal cruelty or villages being bombed.  If you cannot handle the thought or description of things along those lines than this book may not be for you.  There are only a few parts in the book that go in depth about something so sad. 
    Before I read this book I had a lot of unanswered questions: Why?  How?  When? These were my questions about the terrorists’ attacks, but never until I read this book did I think about how did these attacks and Osama’s militant activity affect the ones who loved him?  But this book made me think about that.
    Overall, I really liked this book; I thought it brought out a side in me that I had never seen before.  I would recommend this book to anyone in high school or older.  There are a lot of things that happened to this family that may be confusing, but if you keep reading, all your questions will be answered.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Cliff

    Yah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Lillianna

    Hey could you do me a BBBBIIIIIIIIGGGGGGG favor? Will you rp a tom cat and make a she cat called Jaypetal your slave? She is at North star result one. I would really love it if you would. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2