BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Grown Folks Business

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Christian Fiction Reader

I read this book and the sequel The Ex-Files. I enjoyed both books. Grown Folks Business gave the readers an insight about how some individuals who choose this lifestyle think you should be in agreement with them. It was written with much reality. It portrayed the ac...
I read this book and the sequel The Ex-Files. I enjoyed both books. Grown Folks Business gave the readers an insight about how some individuals who choose this lifestyle think you should be in agreement with them. It was written with much reality. It portrayed the actions of individuals I know who choose this lifestyle. They expect you to accept them and not really voice your opinion or religious beliefs about homosexuality. I enjoyed this book. It's another great book by this author.

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

OK

I was expecting so much more for this book.. It started off with drama and the whole book was about that one subject. I liked the book but not enough to recommend to anyone.

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    A Wife's Worst Fear

    Grown Folks Business by Christian author Victoria Christopher Murray, is a story about a reality that every wife fears. What happens to a woman who has been happily married for many years when her husband abruptly informs her that he is in love with someone else and wants a divorce? Murray¿s latest novel answers this question in an enjoyable read that gives the reader realistic Christian characters that struggle with life¿s challenges. Sheridan Hart, a woman of faith, is facing the fact that that her 17 year marriage to Dr. Quentin Hart is over. She suffers with the knowledge that her husband is in love with someone else - a MAN. Not only has Quentin never given her any idea that he is unhappy with her, she is even more surprised that his preference is in other men. It is surprising to find a story about a Christian husband and father on the down-low but the author takes a hot topic and does justice to the story. Sheridan and Quentin are the parents of two children, 16 year-old Chris and 10 year-old Tori. The son and daughter have different reactions to Quentin¿s abandonment: Chris is angry and hurt while Tori, a Daddy¿s girl is forgiving and as understanding as a child could be. His wife is enraged. How could this have happened to her? she asks. The Harts have lived a fairy tale life for many years. They have the house in a beautiful neighborhood, the signature cars, their children are well-behaved and studious. A dedicated stay-at-home Mom she and Quentin are the poster couple for a good Christian marriage. What happened to their dream come true life? What will people think? Those are the questions that haunt Sheridan as she struggles to work through the biggest dilemma she has ever faced. With the support of her parents, her brother, her best girlfriend and her Pastor, Sheridan puts her life back on track, depending on her faith in God to pull her through. The journey is not without steep hills that she must climb and low valleys that threaten to bury her determination to survive. Murray writes a moving story that will keep you reading while hoping and praying with Sheridan and her children as they turn the corner to wholeness. This family in crisis is made up of characters that the reader will recognize as every day people. Victoria Christopher Murray has done it again. Grown Folks Business is just that, a mature reading experience that will warm your heart and fill your spirit. God gets the glory in the end and even Quentin finally opens his heart and allows his faith to lead him out of his darkness. Grown Folks Business is an excellent story about human beings caught up in a disaster ridden situation. The author brings them through their challenges in a very amazing way. I recommend this novel to readers of good literature. You will enjoy the ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    The book made me want to ask for a sequel

    I really liked the book it was an adventure inside of an adventure. I didnt want to put the book down it was so good. Is there a part 2 to the story. Very well sequenced. I really liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2006

    Very good book

    I really enjoyed this book. Very good fiction for Christians to read. I hope there will be a sequel, we need to know that happen with brock....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Awesome Book

    This was my first book I have read by Victoria. I absoultely love this book. This book brings all kinds of emotions. I cried, laughed and kept reading. I read this book in 3 days I just couldnt put the book down, I love books like that. How do you deal with your husband leaving you for a man after 17 years of marriage??? Sheridan is a strong woman and handled the situation totally different than I would have. This book is a blessing to read. I look forward to reading more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    OFF THE HOOK!!!! One of the most powerful book's I've ever read.

    From the first sentence I was captivated. I finished this book in ONE DAY. This book is so real and powerful. I recommend this book to anyone who's not afraid to deal with reality. I have read all of her books. By far this is Ms. Murray's best work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    A Masterpiece

    I have read all of Ms. Murray's books and they just keep getting better. This book is filled with everything, drama, passion, humor, etc. The story will keep you hooked until the last page. Now I am waiting to read Quentin's story. Can we get a sequel? Thank you again for such a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Excellent Book

    It has been a long time since a book has had me at 'hello'. This book was captivating from beginning to end. I felt so many different emotions at once while reading this book. This book is definitely a 'must read'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2005

    Serious business

    This is a great book about a family facing some serious issues. It is definitely a page turner. Ms. Christopher-Murray, keep up the good work. I have read all of your books so far and am looking forward to your next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    Must Read

    The title pulled in. I was just searching for a book to read and the title got me. I read the book in a 5 days! It is awesome. I won't tell you to get a book, I dont like. You will enjoy the book to page 452! Forgiveness is a powerful think. I thanks you for writing this book!!! I look for more books. Right now I am readying all of your other book. I have started Truth be told and girl it is good!!!!!!! Thanks Victoria!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    Grown Folks Business: A Novel

    this book is definitely a page turner..it opens your eyes to true life...and how to make the best out of situations...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1