Customer Reviews for

A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Another Great one from Jackson

Jackson has done it again.

I am a long-time fan of Joshilyn Jackson, as is noted here and here. Her writing takes me away into the worlds in her book, and the characters always feel so instantly like I've known them my whole life. Would it be weird to call her books ...
Jackson has done it again.

I am a long-time fan of Joshilyn Jackson, as is noted here and here. Her writing takes me away into the worlds in her book, and the characters always feel so instantly like I've known them my whole life. Would it be weird to call her books "comfortable"? Because right from the prologue of this newest novel, I knew I was going to be stuck in my chair until the end.

Wow, was the drama in this story heavy! And powerful, like a punch to the stomach, or a terrible image you accidentally stumbled upon on the internet. I completely loved the characters. Poor Mosey and her search for who she is, her turmoil over being a teenager with a dysfunctional family. She was so realistically wise beyond her years. Big was another I enjoyed immensely, as a mother who is trying to protect her children and her heart amidst an unspeakable crime. And whoo-boy, the dialog that came out of Lawrence's mouth weakened my knees! Once the clues started falling into place, I found myself feverishly turning the pages for more. A fantastic story by a much loved author.

posted by ChelseaW on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good plot but

First time reading this author. The plot was good but the excessive swearing did nothing to add to the story line. I Would try this author again because she did have an engaging writing style

posted by 17152493 on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great one from Jackson

    Jackson has done it again.

    I am a long-time fan of Joshilyn Jackson, as is noted here and here. Her writing takes me away into the worlds in her book, and the characters always feel so instantly like I've known them my whole life. Would it be weird to call her books "comfortable"? Because right from the prologue of this newest novel, I knew I was going to be stuck in my chair until the end.

    Wow, was the drama in this story heavy! And powerful, like a punch to the stomach, or a terrible image you accidentally stumbled upon on the internet. I completely loved the characters. Poor Mosey and her search for who she is, her turmoil over being a teenager with a dysfunctional family. She was so realistically wise beyond her years. Big was another I enjoyed immensely, as a mother who is trying to protect her children and her heart amidst an unspeakable crime. And whoo-boy, the dialog that came out of Lawrence's mouth weakened my knees! Once the clues started falling into place, I found myself feverishly turning the pages for more. A fantastic story by a much loved author.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Is the simplest answer always the right one?

    Mosey has grown up in a house with her mother and grandmother, two women that have been scandalizing their Baptist community for 46 years. She is a great student, and a good kid but her family is one kind of obsessive about keeping her that way to the point of ridiculous. Mosey has no desire to be 14 and pregnant she has bigger goals set for herself if only the self-righteous would step aside.

    She was born illegitimate as was her mother before her but that is where they part familiar traits. Her mother was wild until a stroke knocked the life out of half her body and now Mosey’s grandmother is determined to bring her back. Mosey’s mother “Little” continued to struggle until the day a small treasure box is pulled from the ground in their backyard. After a tree is removed and Little sees what has happened the first word she says clearly is mine. Mosey and her grandmother “Big” have no idea what is in the box or how it got there but something has brought Little back to fight another day and now everyone wants to solve the mystery of the little box with so much to tell.

    As the story unfolds you discover that Little may have had some secrets she played close to her heart so does Big. So much as gone on while Mosey was trying to remain the good girl that at some point as the secrets pour out she wonders why? The adventure that started with the discovery of that little box becomes an obsession of lies and deceit that no one could ever imagine. When everything falls out of that box it will not only spill truth but also shine a light from above on the lies that everyone has been telling all these many years.

    Joshilyn Jackson makes every reader unable to put her books down and weep when they are over the sadness of them ending unbearable. There is so much to this story that no character is considered secondary with every twist and turn integral to the plot.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Beautiful

    Lovely book filled with family, love tragedy and everything in between.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Gorgeous story, rich with colour and personality

    Joshilyn has a gift for getting to the heart of it. Her characters are as real as you and I are and the situations, while entirely unlikely, are absolutely feasible and beautifully handled. This is my first Jackson read. She's terrific.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Incredible.

    This beautiful story captivated me from page 1, and I'm eager to read more from the author. I suggest you allow yourself a large chunk of time to enjoy this book because you won't want to put it down.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    It had everthing!

    This book had all the pieces - drama, mystery, romance, tragedy, family relationships and it made all the characters come alive. You get to know characters pretty well. Life is never what it seems. The phrase "don't judge a book by its cover" is aptly applied to this book. Characters are so much more than they seem and so is don't believe everything you hear because that is what this book reveals...what you hear is not what actually has happend. Look forward to more of her novels.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Good plot but

    First time reading this author. The plot was good but the excessive swearing did nothing to add to the story line. I
    Would try this author again because she did have an engaging writing style

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Great book!

    So true to life----how your family is not always family genetically but still family!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    good read

    interesting characters. good author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Awesome

    This book couldn't have been anymore amazig than it already was! I was looking for a new story that woud keep me holding on and this is it! I recommend this to everyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    This is so good it rivals The Help and Water for Elephants. The

    This is so good it rivals The Help and Water for Elephants. The audio is read by the author and proves she is as gifted a storyteller in-person as on paper. Highly, HIGHLY reccommend. Can't imagine anyone who wouldn't love to be transported into this world for a immensely entertaining few hours. Going back into search to see what else Ms. Jackson has written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Another page turner

    Joshilyn Jackson's book are always intertaining and laced with humor and suspense. A great tale about complicated family relationships and social status. This book draws you in and wont let you go. Told through the eyes of 3 generations of women all with secrets to hide. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Finally - a good book!

    I've read a LOT of books this summer - most of them were cheap Nook purchases - and they were crap. This book was a treat from beginning to end. As a reformed bad girl, I could relate to Liza. As a mom, I could relate to Big. Mosey's character was as real as my own teenage sons. Great story, kept me reading to find out the next revelation. I had to stop myself from reading the whole thing in one night - I wanted it to last. Now I'm going back to read Between, GA - which, by the way, is a real town I used to pass thru on my way to Y Camp in the summer. Thanks, Ms Jackson, for a good summer read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    NICE STORY

    I enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Its Joshilyn Jackson-as if anymore needs to be said!!

    Her characters are so easy to relate to b/c she writes in such a way that you find yourself AS the character. Its truly like your there watching your dead grandbaby being uneartherd, or trying to communicate after youve had a stroke ect. this is the kind of book that you tell yourself you will read a chapter before bed and then next thing you know it 2:00 am and you still want more!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Jackson has done it again. Amazing book of family and the emotions that go along with them. Truely a gifted voice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    Nail bitter

    Amazing story line is all I can say. I fell in love with these wonderful women from the first chapter and stayed glued to the book for days. Reading it until my eyes blurred. What a creative story line. Wow! I love to read generation stories, but this is a whole new way of reading generations. Will be reading more of Joshilyn Jackson's books for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    How can I write my review without offending everyone who loved t

    How can I write my review without offending everyone who loved this book. "A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty" is about three main characters- Big, who's daughter is Liza and Mosey who is Liza's daughter. Every fifteen years, the three women are plagued with hardships and the book is based on one of those fifteen years. Filled with family secrets and the choices that were made, Big and Liza are trying to make right so that Mosey doesn't become the same statistic as they were - a teenage mother.

    The book is written with a chapter dedicating to each character, which I do like because you get to know the characters and what it is like living in their shoes. What I don't like is the writing style especially when I read Mosey's chapters. I get it, she is fourteen but wow - I wanted to scratch my eyes out every time she was talking/texting.

    The moral of this book is to accept your path in life - and try to do right even when you have done wrong. Life is full of choices and together this family will become stronger even when two wrongs doesn't make a right.

    In my opinion, this book was about a small town family that is trying to make a better life for each other - it just wasn't what I thought it would be and I wasn't impressed or captivated like other readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I am so a Joshilyn Jackson fan for life. Another brilliant outin

    I am so a Joshilyn Jackson fan for life. Another brilliant outing. She writes fifteen-year-old Mosey so perfectly, she must have total recall or a teenager in her house. I adore this character and her quirky sidekicks. But the real star is Big, Mosey's tiny, forty-five-year-old grandmother with an indomitable will, fiercely loving heart, and twelve-year-hots for the married sheriff. Even Liza, Big's daughter and Mosey's mother, turns into a spit-fire character as she recovers her lost self from a stroke.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Family Bonds - Southern Humor

    This was my first book by Joshilyn Jackson and purchased the audio version. The narrator was also the author, which is a plus, cine they put passion into their reading.

    There was much going on in this book and the author does not miss a beat. A Grown up Kind of Pretty, set deep in the south in Mississippi with three generations of women: Jenny (Big) age 45, Jenny’s daughter (Lisa) age 30, and her daughter (Mosey) Age 15. There is much drama and mystery regarding a small grave in their back yard with bones from a baby.

    These three women have experienced many hardships yet are bound together by family. Mosey is sassy and spirited and is determined to get to the bottom of the small grave. Liza has experienced a stroke and is haunted by her choices as a teen. However, Jenny the strong and big hearted grandmother the solid one who defends her family. It's a courageous story about mothers and daughters and the strong and powerful love binding them as family.

    A comical southern novel full of banters and one liners which will keep you laughing – no big surprises or big twists; however, if you like Southern Fiction, readers will find entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5