Customer Reviews for

A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Another Great one from Jackson

Jackson has done it again.

I am a long-time fan of Joshilyn Jackson, as is noted here and here. Her writing takes me away into the worlds in her book, and the characters always feel so instantly like I've known them my whole life. Would it be weird to call her books ...
Jackson has done it again.

I am a long-time fan of Joshilyn Jackson, as is noted here and here. Her writing takes me away into the worlds in her book, and the characters always feel so instantly like I've known them my whole life. Would it be weird to call her books "comfortable"? Because right from the prologue of this newest novel, I knew I was going to be stuck in my chair until the end.

Wow, was the drama in this story heavy! And powerful, like a punch to the stomach, or a terrible image you accidentally stumbled upon on the internet. I completely loved the characters. Poor Mosey and her search for who she is, her turmoil over being a teenager with a dysfunctional family. She was so realistically wise beyond her years. Big was another I enjoyed immensely, as a mother who is trying to protect her children and her heart amidst an unspeakable crime. And whoo-boy, the dialog that came out of Lawrence's mouth weakened my knees! Once the clues started falling into place, I found myself feverishly turning the pages for more. A fantastic story by a much loved author.

posted by ChelseaW on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good plot but

First time reading this author. The plot was good but the excessive swearing did nothing to add to the story line. I Would try this author again because she did have an engaging writing style

posted by 17152493 on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great one from Jackson

    Jackson has done it again.

    I am a long-time fan of Joshilyn Jackson, as is noted here and here. Her writing takes me away into the worlds in her book, and the characters always feel so instantly like I've known them my whole life. Would it be weird to call her books "comfortable"? Because right from the prologue of this newest novel, I knew I was going to be stuck in my chair until the end.

    Wow, was the drama in this story heavy! And powerful, like a punch to the stomach, or a terrible image you accidentally stumbled upon on the internet. I completely loved the characters. Poor Mosey and her search for who she is, her turmoil over being a teenager with a dysfunctional family. She was so realistically wise beyond her years. Big was another I enjoyed immensely, as a mother who is trying to protect her children and her heart amidst an unspeakable crime. And whoo-boy, the dialog that came out of Lawrence's mouth weakened my knees! Once the clues started falling into place, I found myself feverishly turning the pages for more. A fantastic story by a much loved author.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    good read

    interesting characters. good author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Finally - a good book!

    I've read a LOT of books this summer - most of them were cheap Nook purchases - and they were crap. This book was a treat from beginning to end. As a reformed bad girl, I could relate to Liza. As a mom, I could relate to Big. Mosey's character was as real as my own teenage sons. Great story, kept me reading to find out the next revelation. I had to stop myself from reading the whole thing in one night - I wanted it to last. Now I'm going back to read Between, GA - which, by the way, is a real town I used to pass thru on my way to Y Camp in the summer. Thanks, Ms Jackson, for a good summer read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    NICE STORY

    I enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    Nail bitter

    Amazing story line is all I can say. I fell in love with these wonderful women from the first chapter and stayed glued to the book for days. Reading it until my eyes blurred. What a creative story line. Wow! I love to read generation stories, but this is a whole new way of reading generations. Will be reading more of Joshilyn Jackson's books for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have read two of Ms. Jackson’s previous books to great

    I have read two of Ms. Jackson’s previous books to great delight. Her ear for dialogue, context and The South are engaging and remind me of home in ways that few authors are able. This book, however, began as a disappointment. The author had changed her style, and, in doing so, had lost the voice that translated the Southern Culture found in previous works. Due to my commitment to complete a book once I begin reading it (a commitment I have violated only twice in twelve years), I continued to read this novel but seriously considered quitting it near its mid-point. Such a reaction would have been a tremendous mistake.
    Every fifteen years, in the life of Ginny Slocomb, some world-changing event occurs. When she was 15, she gave birth to Liza. When Liza was fifteen (and Ginny was 30) she gave birth; now Mosey, granddaughter/daughter is turning fifteen. The year is shaping up to be in line with the “fifteen-year **** storm cycle” of Ginny’s life – Liza had a debilitating stroke and the remains of an infant were discovered in the family yard. This is the set up that demands the first, and less engaging, half of the book. The tale is told in the alternating voices of Ginny, Liza and Mosey and this required the reader to adjust to a new point of view with each new voice. Both the background and the “voice” change proved to create a solid foundation for this ultimately riveting work of fiction.
    As the book is set is Mississippi, God and religion is an unspoken constant in the life and action contained in the novel. The discoveries made, both physical and emotional, are of the kind to rearrange the world-view of all involved. The second half of the book makes plain how deeply and fiercely the commitment of love will not stop at the difficult moments of life; rather it causes the committed to move the world, if that is what is required, to make whole the beloved. It also speaks to the definition of “family” and the needs demanded in raising a healthy, well-adjusted, mature individual from birth to adulthood. Part of the village required to raise a child includes true friends, who do the right thing for each other – even if taking such action may cause the end of the friendship.
    As stated earlier, Ms. Jackson has an ear for the voices of Southern relationships. The villains are as full of charm as they are venom, the eccentric characters are celebrated; religion is central while it is vilified but faith is a reality that makes life more full. She proves with this book that there are depths to her writing talents which she has just begun to explore. I hope to see where that exploration ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is pure delight. It's nothing fancy but is a really go

    This book is pure delight. It's nothing fancy but is a really good read.

    Ginny, known as Big to her daughter and granddaughter, gave birth to Liza when Ginny was fifteen years old.
    Then when Liza, now called Little by her mother, was fifteen she gave birth and refused to tell anyone who the father of her child was. With Mosey approaching fifteen, this household of females are feeling the pressure of the fifteen-year evil that seems to come their way.

    I laughed: Mosey hasn't even been out with a boy but she steals pregnancy kits to test herself at home since she's so sure that by some hook or crook she'll be pregnant at fifteen.

    Liza, now thirty, has a stroke and is stuck inside herself with little means of communication.

    While removing a tree and its stump from Ginny's yard the handyman uncovers a box containing the bones of a baby.
    The search for the identity of the child brings out revelations about all three of the women. Also involved is Mosey's best friend, a teenaged boy who is a nerd. Mosey and Roger befriend a classmate of Mosey's who is from a large family of ne'er-do-wells. This child played on my empathy and I rooted for her.

    Throw in a little romance, a family of snobs, rescuing dogs ... or people ... who need fixing and you have a recipe for a page-turner.

    You won't go wrong with this one. I give it four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've been in a bit of a fiction slump. Lately, nothing between t

    I've been in a bit of a fiction slump. Lately, nothing between two covers has nagged me to put off chores or order pizza for dinner.

    The dry spell is over, for now at least.

    A GROWN UP KIND OF PRETTY, by Joshilyn Jackson, is terrific. Three characters with very distinctive voices tell a story that gets its kindly hooks into you and drags you off your workaday path at every opportunity, just to find out what happens next. This is a book you'll take with you to read pages whenever and wherever you've got a minute to spare. Don't put it on the passenger seat while you're driving or you'll miss a lot of stoplights going green.

    Streamlined storytelling at its best, A GROWN UP KIND OF PRETTY is laugh-out-loud funny, tautly plotted, believable, and satisfying. Who could ask for anything more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Good Book.

    At first I really had no idea where this plot line was going, but the more I got into it the more I read. I loved her writing style and recommend it to anyone as a quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Great

    This is truly one of the best books I've read in a long time. The characters are real and likable, and Jackson writes with humor that I really enjoyed. Can't wait to read more vrom this author.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Great quick read.

    This book had me captivated from the beginning. Joshilyn Jackson did a fabulous job making visualization so easy with her captivating descriptions. I really enjoyed how there were three narrators. I read this book during my sons afternoon naps and when he woke-up it was always too early to want to put down the book. Also, enjoyed how current it was.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story but Hard to "get into" the Characters

    The story is about family and layers of family skeletons that get unearthed innocently while digging out a pool addition in the backyard.
    As the story developed it kept me reading to see what happens next but the main characters were just hard to get into and even fell a little flat in some places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Loved it.

    Super read! Twists and turns with totally lovable characters. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Great book for women!

    I adore this book. The characters while mostly out of the ordinary, are still very relatable in their own ways. Reading about their struggles and strengths makes you feel empowered as a woman.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2