Customer Reviews for

The Gruffalo

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    One of my friends recommended this book after she read one of my

    One of my friends recommended this book after she read one of my four-year-old son's stories.  She thought he might like it and be able to relate to the mouse.  She was very right.  My son scares away scary monkeys and other terrifying creatures in his stories.  He certainly can relate to this mouse.
    I read that Julia Donaldson originally planned for the gruffalo to be a tiger, but had to create a gruffalo to fit her rhyming scheme.  I am so glad that she did.  The mystery of the gruffalo builds the suspense of this tale.  This book pays homage to Sendak's "Where The Wild Things Are", but still stands easily on its own.  The rhyme and meter are well done and the conclusion is quite satisfying.
    The illustrations by Axel Scheffler also pay homage to Sendak, but they, again, stand very well on their own.  All the expressions and emotions of the mouse are conveyed by the eyes, tail and arms -- everything else remains almost static.  It is a very effective technique. The gruffalo is scary, but not too scary; he does look as if he might be tricked by a clever mouse. 
    All in all, I'm glad my friend recommended this book.  It makes a delightful addition to my son's library. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great book! Highly recommend

    I purchased this for my 3 year old and it's been a great find. He loves to read it together and I really enjoy as well. I would highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    My 2 1/2 year old son just loves this book. I read it at his sch

    My 2 1/2 year old son just loves this book. I read it at his school and they loved it too. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    GREAT book for all ages!

    My children (2 & 4) love, Love, LOVE this book! AND it's an entertaining read for the adults - much better than some. Cute, witty, funny - we highly recommend this book. My daughter, almost 2 and a little speech delayed, yells out "GOOD!" each time the word pops up in the story and both kids bounce up and down SO excited when its time for the Gruffalo to finally show up. If you have a toddler who loves stories as much as mine do buy it - they will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    A must-have book for your children

    My children (now 7 and 4) have loved this book for years and choose it many times throughout the year for the nighttime story! I have read it to each of their classes, as well, and it is always a hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Excellent read aloud story

    The story has the repeatition that kids love. The book gives the mouse characteristics that are charming, smart and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Great story for small children!

    This story is great to be read to toddlers and pre-schoolers. I have 3 grandchildren who all want it read and re-read! I highly recoommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    LOVED the story! Great for children! Funny, clever, and entertaining!

    I would also recommend Julia Donaldson's other books: The Gruffalo's Child, Room on the Broom, The Snail & the Whale...all FABULOUS stories! Great story lines and rhyming that helps children of all ages remember the tales!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Brain over brawn

    An acquaintance with young children lent me this book, when he knew I was interested in writing children's stories myself. He said his children loved the book and, once I'd read it, I could see why. It's a beautifully illustrated tale, demonstrating how brain can overcome brawn, as a small mouse escapes the clutches of various, dangerous woodland animals by threatening them with a huge, hideous and apparently imaginary creature called the Gruffalo, only to then be met by the huge, hideous creature himself (perhaps another moral here i.e. be careful what you wish for, you may get it). So he is then required to exercise his ingenuity once more to escape becoming a tasty Gruffalo dinner. The rhyming verse appealed to the poet in me and, in my opinion, makes the story an ideal one to be read out loud to young children and aquaint them with new vocabulary. I wish I had come across this book sooner, when my niece and nephew were younger, because they would have loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Gruffalo is all about courage

    The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson shows how a small creature can survive in a world full of predators. Instead of falling prey to all the animals that dine on mouse, he makes all those predators fear him. There is a great moral to this story even for young readers - that you can be strong no matter how small you are and persevere in a world full of bullies and condescending people.

    It is also fun and easy to read. My 6 year old son loved to read this book himself - which is normally no easy task.

    This is an excellent book for any age group. We loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Man, this book is fun and smart and has fabulous illustrations. My mom, son and I have a blast quoting from it. Big fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    Brilliant!

    My 1.5 and 2.5 year olds love this books - we've read it hundreds of times. It is a cleaver story line, where a tiny creature, potentially threatened by so much around it, instead goes fearlessly forward with confidence and cunning and outwits his way to tranquility. I am slowly collecting all the Julia Donaldson/Axel Scheffler books and they are all to the same high standard. Wonderful ryhmes that pre-readers can help 'fill in' when you read. Great lessons in these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    Absolutely Delightful

    What an incredible magical combination of author and artist, and what an outstanding set of books this collaboration has produced. The Gruffalo is an amazing tale that reminds me of many stories I read as a child: It has a wonderful combination of characters like The Little Red Hen, a sequence of events similar to The Old Woman and Her Pig, and the magical elements of many fairy tales. I believe Julia Donaldson is every bit as talented in creating rhyme as the great Dr. Seuss. The language has exceptional flow and makes this a fantastic read aloud book. Both children and adults will marvel at the ingenuity of our tiny hero on his journey, as well as his charm. The artwork is brilliant, and the story is superb. I recommend The Gruffalo for everyone who loves great stories and beautiful children's books. J.H. Sweet, author of The Fairy Chronicles

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    Our Favorite!

    We came across The Gruffalo when we were living in England, where it is better known than it is here (the author is Scottish). My own children loved it, so I was happy to find a copy when we got back home to Seattle. It's a favorite with my kindergarten class as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Great for kids and adults. One of the best read-alouds!

    I have 5 kids (18 months to 8 years old) and a husband. This is the favorite for ALL of us. We can't believe it's not a best-seller! It's a great family gift at Christmas or for birthdays (ages 3-5).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2000

    Absolute must for your child's library

    This book is very cleverly written and the illustrations are adorable too. It lightheartedly shows how even a little mouse can protect himself from all the creatures of the forest by just using a little wit to outsmart his predators. My 5 year old daughter and I came across the book in the library. We read it every night for 3 weeks. When it was time to return it she did not want to part with it. I placed it on her Christmas list of books to purchase. She will be pleasantly surprised!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1