BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Guardian

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Twisted yet, Good Read

I have to say, I never imagined this story to turn into a "warewolf" type story, but I def liked it. I thought some parts were a bit gory, other oarts had me on the verge of tears, but all in all its a supsenful and good read. Saul has a way of making his readers want m...
I have to say, I never imagined this story to turn into a "warewolf" type story, but I def liked it. I thought some parts were a bit gory, other oarts had me on the verge of tears, but all in all its a supsenful and good read. Saul has a way of making his readers want more, and of course after reading this, and many of his other books im excited to pick up my next one. I recommend this novel to fans of the horror and suspence genre. The characters are believable, and you feel like your part of the story.

posted by Lindsie on October 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not The Best

This certainly wasn't one of Saul's better efforts but I found the book intriguing as the story lead me along toward a somewhat climatic ending. A creature stalking the woods in an isolated community is always compelling in a good horror novel.

posted by Anonymous on May 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Twisted yet, Good Read

    I have to say, I never imagined this story to turn into a "warewolf" type story, but I def liked it. I thought some parts were a bit gory, other oarts had me on the verge of tears, but all in all its a supsenful and good read. Saul has a way of making his readers want more, and of course after reading this, and many of his other books im excited to pick up my next one. I recommend this novel to fans of the horror and suspence genre. The characters are believable, and you feel like your part of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    Not The Best

    This certainly wasn't one of Saul's better efforts but I found the book intriguing as the story lead me along toward a somewhat climatic ending. A creature stalking the woods in an isolated community is always compelling in a good horror novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    I liked it...

    This was my first John Saul read, and I thought it was pretty good... It could have been more suspensfull and exiting, but it still had a good plot... The ending was...disappointing, and I hope he writes a sequel... I do recommend this book...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Fernkit

    Nibbles on the tail until its short and stubby then pushes the rest away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Nyra

    Good to hear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Snowy

    Her wing should be healed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    The guardian

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    I love John Saul books - definitely my favorite author. But I ha

    I love John Saul books - definitely my favorite author. But I have to say, this book was terrible in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Rachel

    Sighs i hte my lge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Samuel

    Thats the way it is sometimes. Im sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    My favorite John Saul book- so far.

    The excitement never quit. I looked forward to the next time I could read. What I enjoyed was that it was really close to believable,which is important to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2000

    Definately Recommend it!

    It took me a while to read this Saul book. I am a huge fan on John Saul and was surprised to see there was not as much suspense as usual. A lot of deaths but no suspense. I do recommend this book though. It is a great story, with a very sad twist. But I do recommend reading his other stuff first.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    Refreshing

    I haven't read anything from John Saul in about ten years. This book was refreshing because it is different from a lot of other books . I do recommend this book who hasn't read any of John Saul books in a long time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 1999

    disappointing

    I am a huge John Saul fan. This however was not one of his better works. Joey is the victim. Victim of science, nature, his biological father who has been lurking in the mts. throughout his childhood watching, and a victim by his abusive stepfather. Maryanne was a character I thought was weak and pathetic. She really did not explore what she was getting into in the Idaho mts. and her child pays the price. The only aspect of the book I appreciated was the backdrop of Idaho sounded quite lovely. susan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2