Customer Reviews for

The Guardian

Average Rating 4.5
( 1064 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(739)

4 Star

(197)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Page turner!

I read this book within 24 hours. It was a little more scary than I had predicted and it kept me up all night wanting to find out what was going to happen. Dogs are truly your best friend!!

posted by lmp511 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Upsetting ending

I was not happy with the ending at all. Nicholas Sparks is usually consistent with the happy endings, but it was a lot of excitement and build-up for a cruel and undeserved ending. I'm so upset now!

posted by 7712113 on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1066 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Page turner!

    I read this book within 24 hours. It was a little more scary than I had predicted and it kept me up all night wanting to find out what was going to happen. Dogs are truly your best friend!!

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Loved it!

    I love Nicholas Sparks books! I usually read through a whole book in less than a week and that is not like me. I am not a big fan of reading but I find myself on the edge of my seat waiting for his next novel to come out. This is definitely a great book.

    20 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Want to read a heart filling book with twists and turns that you

    Want to read a heart filling book with twists and turns that you would never have guessed would happen in a small town? The Guardian has it all: romance, murder, kidnapping, and true love.
     
    Julie Barenson is your average small town woman living and working in a salon in Swansboro, North Carolina with her Great Dane Singer left to her by her late husband Jim with the promise that he would always be watching over her. Julie feels that after 4 years she is ready to start dating again but is stuck between to great guys: Mike Harris the down to earth guy who she has known since she came to the small town and Richard Franklin the handsome engineer who treats her like royalty. She didn’t find out until after a few dates that he wasn’t the man she first thought he was and decides to end it and give Mike a shot. That is when Richard starts losing his mind and thing change for Julie. When she decides to go out with Richard that really starts the book off because you want to know if she made the right choice by choosing him and you find out she didn’t.




    The characters in this story are pretty believable because you always encounter different types of people. For example Mike is the nice guy whom you can depend on and genuinely cares for other people and for their well being. Sometimes you will encounter people like Richard who is fake nice just to get what he wants and then turns out not the nicest person. Julie has as very hard decision to make but she makes the right one but it makes some people angry and puts her life and her dogs’ life in danger.




    The major theme of this book is making the right decision because that decision can change your whole life. When you read this book you really understand what I mean by making the right decisions and how they can affect your life. 




    Until I picked this book up I never liked reading. Every time I would have to read a book for school I would hate it and wait until the last minute to read it. Reading still is not my favorite thing to do but I am starting to warm up to it slowly thanks to Nicholas Sparks.




    I give this book a thumbs up. Although it never happened to me it is possible that it could happen. This book will give you an inside look on what can happen to anyone if you’re not careful with whom you trust. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    Great book! I've read all of Spark's books, but this one is definitely a favorite.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    My favorite

    I have read many of sparks books and i would have to say this was my favorite right above the notebook. Im suprised this one hasnt been made into a movie yet. Great read with some romance and some suspense all mixed together.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book.

    Nicholas Sparks's creative minds brings to life a beautful tale that involves everything you can think of (drama, action and romance). I enjoyed all of the dynamics of the novel and hope to see this in film someday.

    Way to go!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    This book was awesome. It is mystery and romance combined. Really kept me entertained the entire time. Highly recommend!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers Favorite "The Guardian

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers Favorite

    "The Guardian" by Nicholas Sparks is one of his best tales. Before Julie Barenson’s husband passed away, he gave her a Great Dane puppy named Singer and a promise to always watch over her. After four years Julie was ready to move on with her life. Two men vie for her attention. Richard, an engineer, was attentive but after a few dates Julie knew she just didn’t feel a romantic connection to him. When he came around Singer would become agitated. Then there was Mike, her deceased husband’s best friend. Singer was always glad to see him. Once he and Julie began to date they both knew the romantic connection was there. However, Richard wasn’t willing to give up that easily. He was determined Julie would love him even if he had to force her. Would Singer, Mike and Julie survive the wrath of Richard?

    This is one of my favorite Nicholas Sparks stories. Of course I have enjoyed almost all of his books. For me Singer stole the show in this book. I loved the idea of Singer being a guardian angel. Mike reminded me of the good ole’ boy, from next door; he was a little bit red neck. But he was kind, gentle and loving. I liked the way he was gentle and careful with Julie’s feelings most of the time; once or twice he reacted rather than acted. Richard was obviously a fruitcake. "The Guardian" is well-written and easy to read and it held my interest. The format of my copy was audio. The reader was Isabel Keating whose voice lent much to the overall effect of the tale. She was careful to bring emotion into her voice at just the right time. Romance, suspense, action and thriller: what more could a reader ask for?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    GREAT

    Great read. So different from other Sparks books. Couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Spectaular

    This is one of the most amazing books I've EVER read!!! Do youself a favor and buy this book, you won't regret it!!! :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Great book

    Awesome story. Made me want to go out and get a Great Dane. Seriously, I will recommend this book to everyone that likes Nicholas Sparks. Excellent story line.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Very good read!

    Murder mysteries are my fav, but throw in love for animals and romance? Now thats what i call a good book!!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Upsetting ending

    I was not happy with the ending at all. Nicholas Sparks is usually consistent with the happy endings, but it was a lot of excitement and build-up for a cruel and undeserved ending. I'm so upset now!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Great

    MA NAME IS JAYROD AND I LOVE PIE

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Awesome Read!!!!

    This was my first Nicholas Sparks book and I have to say that this was one of the best books I've ever read! It kept you on the edge of your seat. I didn't want to put the book down! I'm onto the next book by this author! Read this book!! You'll love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Must read!!

    Nicholas Sparks has done it again. This was not only a romance novel but a thriller as well. I woke up in the middle of the night drenched in sweat because this book, it was not that I was really scared for myself but I was scared for the characters in the story and I had to find out how it ended. I soon found that it ended with me crying like a good ole Nicholas sparks novel will always make me do.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Loved this book!

    Once again I want to read more...this book left me craving more.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Guardian By Nicholas Sparks

    Mr. Sparks has done it again. This book keeps you wanting for more. The plot was great love story and suspenceful all at the same time. You don't want to put it down. I have read alot of Nicholas Sparks books and this one is just as great as the rest of them.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Haunting

    I read this book, often having to shut it to still the wild, panicked beating of my heart. At first, the book was kind of slow, showing the main characters just as average-joe people in a one-horse town. In a town with hardly a thousand people, one person is a seasoned stalker-killer. The plot thickens. I read this book and thought 'Wow!' A year later, the book came back to haunt me when a friend of mine started being stalked. The Guardian is an amazingly life-like situation with a miraculous ending that is worth reading and cherishing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    Totally predictable and slow slow slow

    A huge disappointment, as his other novels are very absorbing. This book moved at a snail's pace. Sparks is not a good mystery writer. The dialogue was juvenile, and most of the characters sounded like morons. The romance was not as emotionally satisfying as his other works, and the plot was obvious from the start.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1066 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 54