Customer Reviews for

The Guardian

Average Rating 4.5
( 1066 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(741)

4 Star

(197)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Page turner!

I read this book within 24 hours. It was a little more scary than I had predicted and it kept me up all night wanting to find out what was going to happen. Dogs are truly your best friend!!

posted by lmp511 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Upsetting ending

I was not happy with the ending at all. Nicholas Sparks is usually consistent with the happy endings, but it was a lot of excitement and build-up for a cruel and undeserved ending. I'm so upset now!

posted by 7712113 on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Last half was exciting but.......

    The first half was kinda boring. It just rambled on and on. I really didn't feel the attraction between mike and julie. I loved singer though. Safe Haven was by far the best book by Sparks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Save your money

    One of Sparks' worst.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Wasn't my favorite.. but Still a fan

    As a Nicholas Sparks fan, this is the fifth book I've read by him.. I wanted to love the Guardian, but I didn't.. The thriller aspect of this was interesting at first, but than got annoying... What did love was the relationship between Julie and her dog Singer. Also her and Mike's story was sweet. Also the ending was sad for me not in a good Sparks fashion either.. NS should just stick with romance from now on IMO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    Not up to his usual

    I just don't like so much cruelty. I'm not fond of serial killer stories. Sparks is far better than this book indicates

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Too Predictable, Disappointing

    This was not one of Nicholas Sparks better works. Too predictable and very disappointing. No twists, no real emotions. Did not seem in the same league as some of his other works. Was just another stalker book, with the good guy winning in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2004

    Not up to his usual standards

    Nicholas Sparks is one of my favorite authors. However, after reading The Notebook and Walk to Remember which were wonderful, I was disappointed. The plot left something lacking. The ending I felt was somewhat out of sync with the rest of the book. To top it off the story line was almost to predictable, with Julie and Mark falling in love not even halfway through the book. As much as I like all the other books by Nicholas Sparks, this one seems like he just threw it together

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    The Worst He has Written!

    Compared to all the books he has written, this was, by far, the most slow-moving, boring and most unrealistic story that ever popped out of Nick's head and into paperbacks! The characetrs were alright, but the plot moved so slow that it took me a week to finish this because I kept on getting sleepy as his words passed across my vision. Don't buy this. It's not worth your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2003

    Disappointing

    The story line was so predictable. I thought that Sparks should have stuck with the love story and not add that unnessecary twist. I also couldn't stand his writing style, the way he kept on cutting away to different characters. Knowing that Sparks is absolutely capable of writing great books, I will definitely read his future novels, but this one was truley disappointing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Predictable

    I'm a huge Nicholas Sparks fan, but I was quite disappointed in this book. I felt that it was completely predictable. I've seen a million lifetime movies that play out the same way that this book did. I'll wait and hope for Sparks to do better with his next novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2003

    Disappointed

    I always read Nicholas Sparks so I bought this new book. It seemed too dark for him, even though there was a love story involved. I don't want to give the end away, but I wasn't very happy with one of the things that happened near the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    he could do better but he paid someone so they have to publish it

    I've always felt like he isnt real good for some reason there is a quality always missing from his work. Its like the grab you quality that keeps you interested in a book is not there. But they publish his books and he made a name and thats all people want is another pretty face

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2003

    Disappointed!

    I usually LOVE all of Nicholas Sparks's novels, but for some reason this one just didn't appeal to me. It seemed to drag and the ending was too abrupt. This book lacks that special way he has of making you believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2