Customer Reviews for

The Guardian

Average Rating 4.5
( 1066 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(741)

4 Star

(197)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Page turner!

I read this book within 24 hours. It was a little more scary than I had predicted and it kept me up all night wanting to find out what was going to happen. Dogs are truly your best friend!!

posted by lmp511 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Upsetting ending

I was not happy with the ending at all. Nicholas Sparks is usually consistent with the happy endings, but it was a lot of excitement and build-up for a cruel and undeserved ending. I'm so upset now!

posted by 7712113 on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Upsetting ending

    I was not happy with the ending at all. Nicholas Sparks is usually consistent with the happy endings, but it was a lot of excitement and build-up for a cruel and undeserved ending. I'm so upset now!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Scary but ok

    Had an ok story plot. A bit scary but ok. Not one of my favorites.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Good book

    First time I read a love story filled with suspense. Good book but not my favorite written by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    A good story

    It was a good read but very Predictable! I feel after reading a few of Nicholas Sparks if you have read on you have the outline of all of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Kind of slow

    I was kind if dissapointed in the begining of the book ...i was so bored and had to push through it bc i knew it just had to get better. By the middle of the book it started to get interesting. Very predictablebut yet it was still a wonderful suspenseful book. An all i can say is dog truly is mans bestfriend. I too have had a precious greatdane who saved my brothers life when he was small. They are just wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    I liked it! but the pacing was REALLY slow at times, then sort o

    I liked it! but the pacing was REALLY slow at times, then sort of fast at times. don't read if you get bored really easily. and the ending was really predictable.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    It's a good book

    It's a really cute book, but you can pretty much tell whats going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Michelle

    Great book but did go on and on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    Kept me interested

    I thought the book was pretty good. It wasn't a book I couldn't put down though. Just typical nothing earth shattering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but...

    The Guardian was a good book. I could not put it down, but for a reason that isn't usual. For me, I couldn't put the book down because I needed to make sure it was okay in the end.

    Honestly, I went into the book thinking that the entire book was her falling in love with two guys, and she had to choose. No, in about the first 150 pages I realized I was wrong. Those first 150 pages contained the romantic writing, and although the rest of the story had romance underlying in the story, it didn't shine through the thriller. This disappointed me.

    Then appears the thriller aspect of the story. Terrifying. I admit, I'm younger than most readers of this book, but I never expected one of the men to become so violent, cunningly smart, and terrible. Overall, the thriller portion of the book left me shaken and closing all the blinds and windows.

    I felt the book dragged on a little bit, and I practically separated it into three main parts of the story. I actually tried to imagine a trailer as if the book had turned movie, and because of how different the three parts of the story are, I was left unable to imagine it. I also felt that the way the book was organized was annoying. They had chapters, but the chapters weren't *that* short, yet within those chapters you would jump from character to character. These jumps from character to character could be a few pages long to a few sentences. It felt like the character I was reading about was constantly interrupted with something another character was doing. If you are looking for an organized book, I recommend looking for another one.

    The ending left me was a warm feeling, but also sadden by the way it worked out to be. The ending was a wonderful way to tie in the beginning's letter, but I felt the "guardian-ness" of Jim should have stayed more constant, and not just through the dog, Singer, and his growling.

    Overall, it was a good read, but it left me feeling tangled, shook up, and a little more faithful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    to read or not to read

    The Guardian by Nicholas Sparks started off a little slow. In the beginning the story talked a lot about how her husband died, and after that he sent her a dog and a letter telling her basically that he¿ll always be watching her. His best friend was there for her after everything. By the time she starts dating again, the friend finally realizes that he¿s actually falling for her. But now there¿s another man in the picture, and the best friend does not know what to do. The story itself is really interesting and it starts off slow, but picks up in the end. If you¿re looking for a good love story, this is the book for you. When I read the title I didn¿t think that it was going to be a love story, and most of the time I don¿t read books like this. But I guess you could say that it¿s not just a love story it does have a twist to it and that¿s what kept me reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Depressing Beyond Belief

    I enjoyed other books by Nicholas Sparks and I was so excitied to read this one. I was rather scared threw almost the entire thing and then when I finished it I was very disappointed. I understand that it is a tragic love story, but honestly, I thought it was just too sad. I bawled forever and then hugged my puppy for hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Not one of my favorites, but not a bad book...

    I honestly did not like The Guardian. Its still very well written and I can understand why most people like it a lot. It just gave me too creepy of a feeling and the ending upset me too much! It does take about 200 pages before you really get into to story, I almost quit reading it but I kept on and it did get better. Just to summarize its not a bad book, I myself just did not care for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    So so...Not great and not bad

    I read this book quickly...I usualy do with his books...But I did not enjoy this book as the others. The book did not keep my interest...It was a lot darker then his other books...And the end really left you hanging...I think he could have done a better job on this one...everything was there just not the depth or suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Not my favorite Nicholas Sparks book

    I just finished it....finally! I started reading this book about 6 months ago and I just couldn't get into it. I couldn't connect with the characters and at the time I was really disappointed because I love Sparks' novels. Anyway, I stopped reading about halfway through the book months ago and I finally picked it back up a few days ago. The story was finally able to keep my attention, it's just too bad that it took reading half the book to get there. It's definitely not a bad book, but the first half is just really, really, really slow...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    Slow read --

    I couldn't get into the book for about 200 pages - then it became a page-tutner. Might not have finished it but kept on because it was Nicholas Sparks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Good, but...

    I liked the story okay, but it took me 3 months to read the book. Not because I'm a slow reader, but because I was uninterested. Once I got halfway through the book I liked it, but it was just so dull at the beginning. I probably wouldn't of read it if I hadn't read all of Sparks' other books. I would deffinently recommend his other books, but I just wasn't into this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    superb book!!

    the book was simply cool. although it was like every other book there was something that made it unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2004

    My Opinion...

    This is not his best by far! I have read all his books, but this one was not as good as his others. The plot was just too predictable.I knew what would happen way before I read it! And I NEVER want to read about an animal being killed! I did finish the book but it took me weeks, where as I usually finish his books in days.Well, I am still waiting for his next book to read-It didn't turn me off that much. But he has done better...Much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    Not his best...

    I found this book to be a little predictable. The 'love interest' is boring and there is way too much idle chit chat between the two main charachters. I would suggest re reading A Walk to Remeber instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4