Customer Reviews for

The Guardian

Average Rating 4.5
( 1065 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(740)

4 Star

(197)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Page turner!

I read this book within 24 hours. It was a little more scary than I had predicted and it kept me up all night wanting to find out what was going to happen. Dogs are truly your best friend!!

posted by lmp511 on December 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Upsetting ending

I was not happy with the ending at all. Nicholas Sparks is usually consistent with the happy endings, but it was a lot of excitement and build-up for a cruel and undeserved ending. I'm so upset now!

posted by 7712113 on January 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 740 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 37
  • Posted July 10, 2014

    I absolutely love this book!! It took me two days at most to rea

    I absolutely love this book!! It took me two days at most to read it!! Nicolas Sparks did a good job in pulling you into the book so you wanted to know every little thing that was going to come next. I would totally buy this book for a good read however you will get through it really fast therefore have another book to read after it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    I loved it

    This book was literally very hard for me to put down! In true Spark's fashion, of course the love story is what initially draws you in, but then the suspense comes in and truly captivates your attention. When I was first choosing which book to purchase, I kind of hesitated on this one because admittedly I am by no means a dog lover, but once I became engrossed in this story, you cannot help but fall in love with Singer. This was truly a fantastic story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    The Guardian will grab you

    Another Sparks gem that you won't want to put down. There is a great reason why Nicholas Sparks is one of the greatest authors of our day...actually about 18 reasons (and counting!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Read with a sense of humor, tissue, and a love for romance.

    I absolutely love this book. In the beginning, grief stricken Julie is faced with her beloved late husband gone. Jim leaves a note for her, stating that he would always watch out for her, and a Great Dane. 4 years later, Julie starts dating Richard, who always seems sweet but she feels like there's nothing there. Instead, she falls in love with Mike, her husband's best friend. Be prepared for stalkers, beatings, mysterious calls, and a very loyal dog who would do anything for his owner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    great book could not put it down

    love all books by nicholas sparks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Perfection!

    Loving, dramatical, exciting, teary, and peaceful. Simply beautiful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Super Fan

    Favorite book love Nicholas Sparks can always expect a well written love story get the tears flowing lol and laugh at the same time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Worth My Money

    This was well worth my money and I plan on purchasing more. If you love, love stories mixed with suspense this is your book. I couldn't put it down I just had to know what happens next. My next book will be "A Bend In The Road."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Couldn't have chosen a better book!

    I absolutely love nicholas sparks! He is my favorite author, and you won't be disappointed. I could not close my nook with all the mystery and romance mixed in. His stories are not just romance only, they always have a twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Incredible

    Amazing read. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Loved it

    His books are so real. Loved the great dane. I had one years ago. Personality plus. Definitely will read it again pretty soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    The GUARDIAN

    WHAT A GREAT BOOK. I didn't want to lay this book down. Kept
    me in suspense the whole time. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    I thought that is book was extremely good. It does start off a b

    I thought that is book was extremely good. It does start off a bit slow but the ending has so much happen that it makes up for it. I couldn't book down this book and I think anyone looking for a good read should choose this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Really enjoyed

    Good book, very touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Excejjent Excellent

    What a talent - Loved the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Love

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I love it!

    This book was truely amazing.
    Mike the sweet macanic who works at the garage and is julies best friend.
    Julie the women who cuts hair at the salon across the street from the gaage andshe is dateing Richard Franklin
    Richard is the new guy in town with some dark secrets. Can he keep them from julie or will it ruin everything.

    Find out when you read the Gaurdian. I loved every minute of it. It truely deseves five stars.
    #READERMONSTER4EVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    :)

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 740 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 37