Customer Reviews for

The Guardian (Dream-Hunter Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

great

This is a great book. Breathtaking. Beautiful. Recommend it!

posted by vickytren on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Slowly going downhill....

Even after being disappointed with Retribution I can honestly say that I was excited for Guardian. I thought it was going to pick up from the cliffhanger in the last dream-hunter book and just be a real page turner. Unfortunately I was sorely mistaken. We are once again...
Even after being disappointed with Retribution I can honestly say that I was excited for Guardian. I thought it was going to pick up from the cliffhanger in the last dream-hunter book and just be a real page turner. Unfortunately I was sorely mistaken. We are once again presented with Kenyon's age old formula for a hero: tragic past + alpha male attitude + Adonis like body= **insert any of Kenyon's male characters here**
I would liken the story and plot to Upon A Midnight Clear: complete waste of time and adds nothing to the series' overall plot, just brings everything to a halt. The ending was completely half-assed, like Kenyon was tired of writing and just wanted to wrap things up without even explaining how it happens.
Additionally ever since Retribution Kenyon has been skimping out on the sex scenes. I don't know why, but it's incredibly annoying. It's a romance series for crying out loud!
Though this last book was extremely mediocre, I'll probably still read her future releases since they're my guilty pleasure.

posted by 10676546 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    This is a great book. Breathtaking. Beautiful. Recommend it!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Can't Wait To Read

    Sherrilyn Kenyon is one of my favorite authors and I cannot wait to read her next book. However, I do need to point out that B&N has it incorrectly stated as Dark-Hunter Series #22 when in fact it is from the Dream-Hunter Series #5. Even though the two series are kind of interwoven, they are not the same. With that being said, I still cannot wait to read it and look forward to her next in the Dark-Hunter series.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    can't wait

    I have read all the books, loved them and can't wait to read the next

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a strong Dream-Hunter romantic fantasy

    With some Egyptian God in his blood, Seth the Guardian has never lived the life of a deity as he has spent millennia being betrayed as an exile. Over the past several thousand years he has been a tortured slave to the god Noir who assigns him to use any means necessary to obtain from the incarcerated Dream Hunter Solin where the key to Mt Olympus is hidden. To ensure a successful expedited mission is accomplished, Noir the impatient god threatens Seth and others.

    Hybrid Dream-Hunter Kattagarian Lydia enters the Nether Realm to rescue her father Solin. Instead the Nether Realm's most terrifying Guardian Seth captures her. Expecting nightmarish torture from this vicious miscreant, she is stunned to find instead a tortured soul who has never been loved and expects Lydia to betray him if he displays his attraction to her.

    The Guardian is a strong Dream-Hunter romantic fantasy that has ties to the rest of the vast Kenyon mythos. Filled with action and pathos, readers will root for Lydia as she falls in love with her worst nightmare (Stockholm syndrome comes to mind), but wonders how to teach a person to accept love when they never received anything positives from relationships. Although the confrontational climax feels abrupt, fans of the saga will relish the love story between a Guardian allegedly with no heart and a Hunter giving him her heart.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Slowly going downhill....

    Even after being disappointed with Retribution I can honestly say that I was excited for Guardian. I thought it was going to pick up from the cliffhanger in the last dream-hunter book and just be a real page turner. Unfortunately I was sorely mistaken. We are once again presented with Kenyon's age old formula for a hero: tragic past + alpha male attitude + Adonis like body= **insert any of Kenyon's male characters here**
    I would liken the story and plot to Upon A Midnight Clear: complete waste of time and adds nothing to the series' overall plot, just brings everything to a halt. The ending was completely half-assed, like Kenyon was tired of writing and just wanted to wrap things up without even explaining how it happens.
    Additionally ever since Retribution Kenyon has been skimping out on the sex scenes. I don't know why, but it's incredibly annoying. It's a romance series for crying out loud!
    Though this last book was extremely mediocre, I'll probably still read her future releases since they're my guilty pleasure.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Wow! Just wow!

    I just finished this book and am left with my feelings all in a knot. Seth is fabulous! Hot, loyal and childlike at times, I wanted to reach in and save him myself. Lydia was the perfect partner for him, funny, loyal, and loving. I love her books and this one rates right up there with my favorites.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    This is not a stand alone...

    One of the things I always enjoyed about SK's books was that they could be read stand alone, or enrichiched by knowing the rest of the series. This wasn't one. Don't get me wrong- it was a good book, but you wouldn't know who half the characters were if you hadn't read previous books. Solin was a little out of character, though the rest seemed to fall in line with previous behaviors. All in all, a good book. Still waiting for Savitar and my darling Thorne's stories.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Finally!

    Really looking forward to this

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Fun read.

    I am a huge fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon. If you are a fan you will definitely enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Loved It

    This had been one of my favorites thus from from the series. I love the tie in of all the other lines.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Loved

    Can't stop reading SK!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Love this series. Read all of her books.

    I have read all of Kenyon's Dark Hunter and Dream Hunter books fromt he beginning. Love her writing and her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Good book

    Good read & good heroine

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Ms. Kenyon, I did tell you I did not like short stories, didn't

    Ms. Kenyon, I did tell you I did not like short stories, didn't I??!!! Well, you proved me to be a LIAR!!!! I LOVE SETH'S STORY!!!! Now, this is the Sherrilyn Kenyon I KNOW!!!! Although it was short, it was COMPLETE!!! Beautifully written!!!! Characters had depth!!!! I had NO QUESTIONS once I completed this book. My only regret was...it was OVER!!! I LOVED LOVED THIS BOOK!!!! I hope you write a story about the twins...Jaden and Jared...I would LOVE to know more about them...they are truly a mystery...and it was nice you gave us another glimpse into their story. Can't wait until your next book!!! Thank you, Ms. Kenyon, for making me change my mind!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Yeah! Another great read!

    Can't believe this lady can keep writing so many books with such great style, definately hasn't lost her touch! I totally fell in love with Seth and Lydia was an entirely believeable winning charecter. Did miss some of my fav charecters though, Nick, Savitar, and Simi looking forward to seeing them again in the future books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    same ol same

    after 20 or so books, it might be time to retire this series. i have grown up with this series and i have loved it. but i think acheron should have been the last book in this series. it was soo good and we all wanted to know more about him. but since that book its just losing steam. its better to quit while you are ahead and have your fans upset that the series is over but still loving it then just throwing books out there with the same ol plot and nothing to look forward to. the world comes at sn almost end in every 22 books. retire our heroes lady. and start again with something fresh. id love you to stick to the ancient greek mythology but maybe not soo many monsters. regular ppl and maybe faeries or something. but vampires have sadly popped up in every book these days. and the one thing we girls love about our vamps is that they are dark and mysterious and rare. mainstream has ruined our beloved damned. i will read this book although im secretly wishing to pick up a new shiny series from my fave author s. kenyon

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    People this is better the twilight

    I like her panels at comic con and dragon con.nice table too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    always a good read!

    I have read the whole Dark Hunter Series, LOVE IT!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    As always, this book was thrilling and hard to put down!

    As always, this book was thrilling and hard to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Very good!

    Watch out because some of the Dream Hunter books have "spoilers" in them but you find out a LOT about some of our favorite Dark Hunters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 294 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15