Customer Reviews for

Guardian For Hire: A For Hire Novel

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Close your eyes, think of Gerard Butler scaling perimeter fencin

Close your eyes, think of Gerard Butler scaling perimeter fencing and dodging bullets whilst oozing sexy and you're not far off the mark. Guardian for Hire follows on from Wife for Hire and although there is some continuity, it could be read as a standalone.

As you may...
Close your eyes, think of Gerard Butler scaling perimeter fencing and dodging bullets whilst oozing sexy and you're not far off the mark. Guardian for Hire follows on from Wife for Hire and although there is some continuity, it could be read as a standalone.

As you may have gathered, our hero, Gavin McClintock, is Scottish. In my world sexy surly protective Scottish brutes are right up there as leading men (I am 1/4 Scottish, it's genetic) and our hot Scot isn't doing a bad job at all in protecting Dr. Sarabeth Lucking from the bad guys. She's scared and stubborn but she's no damsel in distress and underneath is a feisty strong lady who hasn't been allowed to be her real-self in life for fear of disappointing her snotty snobbish Grandparents.

It's a romance that is action and sexual tension led and it does take a while before any explosions occur under the covers. Once they do though, the emotional dynamic of the book changes; Gavin and Sarabeth are more similar than they think and I went from liking to loving both them and their story.

Well worth reading and the only question left to ask is if Maddy is going to get her story...I think that one could be interesting.

I received a copy of this as an ARC from the publisher for and honest and unbiased opinion.

posted by Nicola_1202 on January 15, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

On the fence

## I'm afraid I'm on the fence with this one. I'm sincerely torn. I liked the second half of the book. It's the first half that leaves me perplexed. The hero starts off so unlikeable that it was hard for me to warm up to him. Constantly making fun of the heroine and emb...
## I'm afraid I'm on the fence with this one. I'm sincerely torn. I liked the second half of the book. It's the first half that leaves me perplexed. The hero starts off so unlikeable that it was hard for me to warm up to him. Constantly making fun of the heroine and embarrassing her. And the heroine was so dorky and clumsy, putting her foot in her mouth on more than one occasion. As I was reading I was actually embarrassed for her. Yes, it made for some good comedy, hence the upgrade to 3 stars. However, it was difficult to fathom that he actually falls for her. Good but not great.

posted by 9394860 on January 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Christine Bell is a totally ¿new2me¿ author although I had heard

    Christine Bell is a totally “new2me” author although I had heard and seen her name making the rounds
     on the blogosphere. I really wasn’t looking for another or series to jump into and then I saw this cover
    that gave me goosebumps and drool mouth, so I was like “Gotta get me some of that…” Oh baby, did I
    get some! Just kill me now because I could die a happy woman. Guardian for Hire had zero flaws. 

    Sarabeth started out as a bit of a weenie, but she had some damn good reasons. I fell in girlfriend
    love with her because she absolutely evolved into a kick ass, my kinda chick, heroine. She was smart,
    stubborn, and grew to be absolutely fearless. Plus, she had fantabulous taste in men. Trying to put a
    horrible situation behind her and regain a semblance of a normal life, the past jumps up and she finds
    herself the target of a hit. Did she give up? Nooooo, after a few bumps, she learns to roll with the
    punches and learns she is actually a worthy person who deserves love and respect.

    Gavin, ah, my luscious Gavin of the beefy arms. Well, he is just my every dream come true. Damaged
    from a troubled childhood, he is obsessed with structure, security and distance. When he first meets
    Sarabeth, he is pretty sure he has her pegged. When she calls into question his initial assessment
    and then proceeds to smash all his preconceived notions, he is adorably ill prepared. It was like
    watching a hockey goalie try to handle a Faberge egg without breaking it. Too cute! 

    When these two finally get together, Good Lord, Almighty! They set the pages on fire. Christine Bell
    lays the smackdown on the reader with the sizzle and pop. Gavin lives up to the cover and Sarabeth
    lets loose her inner wanton. I was equally as pleased that this aspect was built up to the point that the
    reader is extremely tempted to cheat and move ahead a few chapters just to sneak an illicit peak.

    The action and suspense were perfectly incorporated to the mix with just enough tension to balance
    out the heat.   While there was never any chance of not having an HEA, the journey to attainment was
    fraught with ups, downs, laughter, danger, tears and character growth. You better believe this series
    has jumped onto my "Must read" radar. Check it out and let me know how right I am.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Anonymous

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    This is a superb follow up to the first book in the series Wife

    This is a superb follow up to the first book in the series Wife for Hire. As usual Christine Bell has hit the mark with a witty sexy read and characters that are completely loveable.

    Gavin reads exactly as he is pictured on the cover and i really wanted to have him protect me like he protects Sarabeth.

    I adored Sarabeth's transformation in this book and that she managed to get the stick out of her posterior.

    Overall a wonderful read 5 out of 5 can't wait to see where this series goes next. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Guardian for Hire had a perfect mix for me.  A great heroine wit

    Guardian for Hire had a perfect mix for me.  A great heroine with great inner strength just waiting to get out and a super hot hero that is an amazing gentleman willing to do anything to keep her safe.  Throw in a lot of drama and a couple near death experiences and you just can't put this one down.




    Sarabeth seems stubborn and weak at the beginning, but she readily embraces the life of being protected when she finally realizes her life is in danger.  She pulls from her repertoire of action flick lines to help her cope and Gavin thinks it's just adorable.  Neither wants to admit their attraction at first - it's just the result of being forced together in a tense situation right?  Wrong!  Even Gavin's partner Maddy can see the sparks they don't want to admit exist.  (And Maddy is quite the character in her own right as well).




    This book is perfect for anyone who likes strong characters with a bit of intense action thrown in alond the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    SWOON! SWOON! SWOON WORTHY!  Gavin MCClintock was definitely

    SWOON! SWOON! SWOON WORTHY! 




    Gavin MCClintock was definitely not prepared for Sarabeth Lucking. These two had the perfect chemistry. I was slightly concerned that I wasn't going to like this book. I honestly don't read a whole lot of romance novels. Harris and Madsen on the two I read the most for romance novels so I was extremely surprised that I loved Christine Bell's "Guardian for Hire." This is definitely a hot and sexy read. 




    I absolutely love how feisty and sassy Sarabeth is. In the first few chapters she was slightly irritating just because she seemed like she was going to be one of those really whiny characters but she actually turned out to be fantastic. There were times that she would open up and the reader could see her vulnerable side. 




    Gavin. Goodness Gracious Gavin! Gavin was there to protect Sarabeth and she didn't give in to any of her stubbornness once so ever. Gavin wants to keep Sarabeth safe more than anything, that is what he was hired to do. When Sarabeth is extremely stubborn, he didn't except no as an answer instead he made her come with him anyway.




    Bell did an amazing job with "Guardian for Hire." I haven't to say that I really loved this book and I am thinking about picking up "Wife for Hire." The plot and the characters in this book are great. This is so fast paced I loved it. I honestly think that this is a great read especially if you want something right before bed or a lovely beach read. Check out "Guardian for Hire" because it is amazing. Any reader would not be disappointed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    I can't tell you how much I loved the chemistry between Gavin an

    I can't tell you how much I loved the chemistry between Gavin and Sarabeth. This book had it all for me. Ms. Bell can write
    emotionally charged and totally believable characters. I felt like I knew both Sarabeth and Gavin. I laughed out loud at Sarabeth's
    musings. She's funny, insecure, knows what she wants and speaks her mind. Gavin? Oh, Gavin. He can come and rescue me anytime.

    If you're looking for a fantastic book with characters you'll love, throw in some suspense add some mouth-watering romance,
     then fire up your e-readers. This is a book you won't forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Very entertaining and absolutely fantastic read. I read a lot an

    Very entertaining and absolutely fantastic read. I read a lot and there is always something to love in every book but with Guardian for hire it wasn't something or anything, it was absolutely everything. The air of mystery (who was trying to kill Sarabeth or why?), the romance (instant attraction between Gavin and Sarabeth) and most of all the humour (a lot of laugh-out-loud scenes).
    Sarabeth has become one of my most beloved heroines. I must say that recently that has been rare. Even though I have read some immensely good books I haven't felt this kind of connection with the characters in ages.
    All in all it was a great read, very entertaining. Anyone looking for romantic comedy with a touch of mystery and action must read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I know when I pick of one of Christine Bell¿s books, I know I¿m

    I know when I pick of one of Christine Bell’s books, I know I’m gonna laugh. I might also cry. I’ll definitely have to fan myself more than once, and I might bite my nails a little bit too, even though deep down, I know it’s all going to turn out all right. The thing that makes Christine’s books so worthwhile is that there’s no place she won’t go while she pushes her characters down the road to happy-ever-after. No. Place. I love that.
    “Guardian for Hire” delivers on all fronts. The heroine, couples therapist Sarabeth Luckings, is incredibly down on her luck at the start of the story, despite her last name. She’s lost her job. Her professional reputation is in tatters, and she’s perilously close to losing her life. But her good friends Owen and Lindy won’t let that happen.
    Enter ex-Army Ranger Gavin McClintock, a tall, dark, dangerous mountain of testosterone and sarcasm Owen convinces to protect Sarabeth from the crazy-nut methodically offing everyone involved in the sordid con Sarabeth’s former boss ran, unbeknownst to her, through the couples retreat where she worked.
    There couldn’t be a more opposite couple, but when these two get together, it’s explosive! (Literally). The action, the chemistry and the laughs will have you staying up past your bedtime, turning the page ‘cause there’s too much good stuff!!! The only moment of disappointment will be when you realize, shoot, it’s over! (But then you can go order the first book in the series, “Wife for Hire”).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Well, well, well. This was not what I was expecting from this bo

    Well, well, well. This was not what I was expecting from this book at all. I was so impressed by the suspense and thrill that this book had that I just had to keep reading. And read I did, right up until the last page. And then I went and bought Wife for Hire which is the first book in this series.
    I loved the characters. The privileged girl from the rich family and the boy who grew up convincing himself that the rats were mice just so he could sleep, had me thinking of Aladdin and Jasmine. She’s been deprived of familial love and approval her whole life and he never had more than a few dimes, but he’s made his way in the world and built up his empire. 
    I loved how stubborn Sarabeth was, and how Gavin didn’t take any of her crap, because after all, he’s there to keep her from ending up dead. Sarabeth irritated me in the first two chapters, but she stole my heart after the finger gun scene. She turned out to be one of the strongest female leads I’ve read in a while and that made me extremely happy! Gavin was so sexy, that my knees went completely weak just reading about him and I got a little dizzy from all the swooning. 
    I loved the twists and turns in this book so much that I cannot wait to start reading Wife for Hire. Christine Bell knows how to pull a reader in and whet their appetite (and some other things as well!). 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Sexy with a capital "S"! Love this one! Great charact

    Sexy with a capital "S"!
    Love this one! Great characters. Fab plot. Lots of excitement. This one's going on my to be read again pile! Gavin? *fans self* and 
    Sarabeth is just the girl for him. If she weren't you can be sure I'd be snagging him for me! Did you see that cover? *turns up the fan*
    Sheesh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I found this book totally entertaining. It was funny, sexy, exci

    I found this book totally entertaining. It was funny, sexy, exciting and had me turning page after page. This is my first book by Christine Bell but it won't be my last. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Take a hot bodyguard hero and a smart, sassy therapist, mix in a

    Take a hot bodyguard hero and a smart, sassy therapist, mix in an explosion or two and some hi-tech gadgets, and you'll end up with Christine Bell's sexy, fast-paced Guardian for Hire.

    I was really into this book from the start because of the hero, Gavin. The way he was described sounded like he was the love child of The Rock and Gerard Butler. 'Nuff said. And the heroine, Sarabeth, is really well done. She puts up a fight at the right times, not necessarily because it makes sense for her safety, but because it makes her more believable. Her reactions are great. I like how both hero and heroine come from similar backgrounds of, essentially, abandonment and emotional independence at a young age.

    Because of Sarabeth's involvement with a questionable couples therapy retreat, bad guys are after her and won't stop until she's dead. Gavin has been tasked with protecting her, so they spend a lot of time together. I liked the way the physical attraction between them was there from the start, but they took some time to grow closer emotionally, questioning feelings that could have legitimately been there just because of the tense situation they were in. When they finally do get together, you feel like it's a well-reasoned decision. Not that you're thinking about reason and logic during their first sex scene! *fans self* Not at all. It's hot, like you'd expect from Christine Bell.

    Plenty of laugh-out-loud moments, great plot, and hot exchanges between Gavin and Sarabeth. I give it 4 1/2 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1