Customer Reviews for

Guardian of Honor

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2006

    Great start to a new series!

    A great start to a new series! I love stories where an ordinary person is thrust into a new world where they have to learn how to survive. What Alexa has to go thru, and the descriptions of her new world, were really detailed and interesting. One of those stay-up-all-night titles! I really liked Alexa, and can't wait to read the rest of the series. Read somewhere that there will be six titles in all, and I'm really looking forward to meeting all the Exoticas!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    A Fabulous Book!

    This fantasy is one of the best ever for so many reasons. First, the heroine, Alexa (called Aleyka by the Lladranan people who can't quite pronounce her name) is an unlikely hero who grows into an amazing heroine. She is an unwilling stranger called to this exotic land of Lladrana. Though she is considered the exotic, the land itself is, along with the people, various strange beings (like her companion Sinafin who is a shapeshifter), and monsters from my nightmares. Because Alexa doesn't belong, you have a chance to discover the world as she does, be frightened when she is and be caught up in a completely unexpected romance when she is. This story has all the elements of the best fantasies I've ever read -- a grand quest in restoring a magical boundary to keep the monsters away, fantastic beings such as the flying horses, and a completing engrossing world. If you like Terry Brooks, Ann McCaffrey, Ursula LeGuin, Marion Zimmer, or even Tolkein, you'll love this author. This is one of the best books I've ever read. I'll be looking for this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    Wonderful beganing for a new series

    This is one of those books that I had to read in one sitting! This writer never fails to amaze me at her ability to draw me into her stories. I wait on pins and needles for the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    A Creative Masterpiece

    Guardian of Honor is a creative masterpiece of fantasy and worldbuilding. With this story, Robin D. Owens has achieved a new level in her craft. The tale is fast-paced, woven with elements of magic and romance. Every chapter is filled with new situations, new characters, new monsters, and new forms of magic as Alexa must adapt quickly from her life as a lawyer in Denver to being a powerful champion in a world where magic is an everyday part of life. Definitely a feel-good book that I will enjoy returning to and reading again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    brilliant fantasy tale from talented Ownes

    Lladrana is in a desperate situation and they need help or their world could perish. But the help they seek is not for the asking, they must ¿summon¿ their warriors, their marshalls. They are bound by magic, yet within the universe where they live the magic is waning, so they cannot fight the terrible monsters waiting to invade their beautiful kingdom. The Marshalls of Lladrana are bound to follow their ancient traditions to fight in the only way they can¿summon the warrior from a distant land, one who leaves behind the desire for their own world, one who will pick up the sword. Or else Lladrana is doomed. Alexa Fitzwalter is an everyday lawyer on unmagical earth. She¿s on an errand in the mountains of Colorado that has her doubting her sanity ¿ she¿s following a song. Her life is at a point where she¿s not happy. She¿s filled with remorse over the death of her close friend, and worse, she is hearing things no one else does, such as chants and a gong. Only, this isn¿t the Gong Show. She¿s not expecting to be ¿summoned¿. To Alexa a summons is a legal paper served, telling you need to show up in court. This summons as is far from that as¿well Alexa is in for a BIG shock. Alexa¿s journey starts with the words, 'Help us. Come to us. We need you here as no one there ever will.' Unable to resist the lure, she follows the summoning, dropping into Lladrana almost Alice-through-the-rabbit¿s-hole, into a realm of monsters, of guardians losing their power, and a whole world that will depend upon her to save them. She lands - literally in this foreign realm, no by your leave, no welcome wagon, no take me to your leader. And that is just the beginning. She little understands the intricacies of this unusual land, cannot understand the language. Yet, armed with only her wits, the help of a mystical companion and the sexy chevalier Bastien, Alex must assume her new role as one of the Marshalls of Lladrana. Alexa must discover skills from within herself she had no idea existed in order to battle the encroaching menace. Then she will have to face the ultimate decision, return to her world or stay with Bastien in this new land where she is needed. Once again, Robin D. Owens gives us an alternative world, as richly defined as few futuristic/paranormal writers can deliver. In this one, instead of the Heartmates and kitty Fams of Celta, we have the first of three ordinary women, who are summoned to save Lladrana and learn they have the power within them to make a difference, to be more than they thought they could be. Owens has always impressed me with her magical ability to create a paranormal realm, people it with interesting characters that you care about and within a highly developed alternative universe. You just don¿t read about her `worlds¿, you enter them. I especially compliment Owens on her deft use of Multi-POV (Point of View) that permits the readers the fullest enjoyment of knowing all the characters and their emotions. It¿s the difference between a paint-by-numbers landscape and the sheer brilliance of a Turner watercolor. In a time when the market is screaming for new directions within the Romance Genre, looking for stories with more substance, this is just what you need. Futuristic/Fantasy with heart, soul and endless adventure. On occasion, I see comments on this style of book as not an ¿easy¿ read. Maybe. It depends upon the commitment of the reader. Frankly, I think it¿s so much more ¿ it a worthwhile read, that delivers on all levels that take you away to a magic world where all things are possible, even within yourself. `Guardian¿ is the first of three ¿Summoning Books¿. Based on this tale, I eagerly await the next two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbinding fantasy

    On the world of Amee in the land of Lladrana, a magical force warded the realm so that monsters would not be able to enter. Now parts of the fence are dying, leaving gaps in the protective shield; monsters are entering and the powerful group of mages, the Marshals, fights them. They don¿t know how to make the dead fence posts come back to life so they summon an Exotique (a person from Earth) who will have the power to rebuild the fence................... Alexa Fitzwater, a woman without friends, steps through the magical arch and into Lladrana where she is immediately tested by the Marshals to see if she has the power they need. She meets their requirements and because she needs to be wanted, allows them to train her in magic so she can battle the monsters and fix the fence. She becomes involved with the Chevalier Bastien who wants her to stay with him. He becomes a Marshal something he swore he would never to so he could become a shield to Alexa¿s sword. The upcoming battle will decide the future of the realm and where Alexa considers home.................... Robin D Owens has written a fantastic fantasy that makes the realm of Lladrana come alive in the reader¿s mind because the author deeply describes the locale so well. Alexa has spent her life in foster homes and her only friend died in a car accident, leaving her yearning to find a place to belong. The people of Lladrana need her and her lover wants to bond with her so she can never leave him. GUARDIAN OF HONOR is a spellbinding romantic fantasy..................... Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2