Customer Reviews for

Guardians: The Girl (The Guardians Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Guardians.

I love this book. I read every second i can get. And I just stumbled on this one day and started reading it. I was so surprised by how it hooked me from the very begining. I'm usually really good at guessing things that haven't happened yet in books, but in this one it ...
I love this book. I read every second i can get. And I just stumbled on this one day and started reading it. I was so surprised by how it hooked me from the very begining. I'm usually really good at guessing things that haven't happened yet in books, but in this one it shocked me so many times. I cried, I laughed, and I even yelled a little, but i would read it over again in a heartbeat.

I, also, love Reese. He deserved to be in this review some how.

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre

This book has a really good plot. I love the story but the writing is sloppy and simple. The characters are not developed and they often do and say things that don't make sense. Huge blocks of time are skipped over and there are so many trivial pieces of information tha...
This book has a really good plot. I love the story but the writing is sloppy and simple. The characters are not developed and they often do and say things that don't make sense. Huge blocks of time are skipped over and there are so many trivial pieces of information that I found myself skimming over several pages at a time. I really wish someone would rewrite this book and make it as good as it could be.

posted by KarenDiane on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 269 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Guardians.

    I love this book. I read every second i can get. And I just stumbled on this one day and started reading it. I was so surprised by how it hooked me from the very begining. I'm usually really good at guessing things that haven't happened yet in books, but in this one it shocked me so many times. I cried, I laughed, and I even yelled a little, but i would read it over again in a heartbeat.

    I, also, love Reese. He deserved to be in this review some how.

    43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Mediocre

    This book has a really good plot. I love the story but the writing is sloppy and simple. The characters are not developed and they often do and say things that don't make sense. Huge blocks of time are skipped over and there are so many trivial pieces of information that I found myself skimming over several pages at a time. I really wish someone would rewrite this book and make it as good as it could be.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Good book

    I thought this was a great book. Not the best ever but it was entertaining. I like Emmy's attitude and her sarcastic comments, although she can be a bit of a crybaby. I thought Marcus was cool but he was frustrating, to be honest i like Reese more.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Eh

    Concept was good. The execution was pretty horrible. The book dragged on forever.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A captivating viewpoint on Angels and Demons

    Removing Angels and Demons from their Christian reference and placing them both in a matter of choic after death, for all is a fascinating twist. But then Lola St.Vil adds in the difficulty that an Angel might experience by finding himself attracted to a human female, etc. with a litany of rules for angelic warfare and conduct.

    As a romance novel it has all the twists and turns that emotions can throw at anyone. As a fantasy novel it excells in keeping one guessing and page turning. Guardians is writtten in the different viewpoints of the characters and the author drags you through each characters emotions and quandarie. Truly a delightful read.

    Thank you, Lola

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    The Ailee Review

    The story line was infatuating, the actual story on the other hand.......IS EHH!

    The Author made the main character winy, unrealistic, and a lot of times ANNOYING. I get that she is fifteen, but honestly when she was being tortured or etc. What the hell was she doing pining over Marcus.... I get maybe sometimes! But no she was almost always thinking of him!

    Not to mention the grammatical errors drove me insane.

    The kissing scenes were unrealistic.
    Everything was just all over the place!!!!!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    SPOIL ALERT!!!!

    Good book I cried though when Reese died really sad expecally when Jay wouldnt let go of him and also right when Emmy wanted to confess her love for him DEFINATLY TEAM REESE!!!! Really want to kill all the Akons expecally Rage!!

    9 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Awsome

    I could barely stop reading i finished in 3days
    This book is for people who like to read and who like storys if you donti wouldnt recomed this 700+ page book
    Overall simply awsome

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Big Disappointment

    I don't review many thing but I feel like I must warn you if your thinking about paying for this book. Conceptually, I loved the plan of the author, but it did not pan out for me. I felt the character development was terrible and the overall writing style was bad. I wanted this book to be better than it was and truthfully ended up skimming the last pages just to get through it. Sorry not a good read.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Team Reese

    I love Reese i cant stop crying god that just killed me
    Enjoy-Nicole

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Awesome!!

    This book is amazing! I love Reese <3 and Jay <3 read it . You wont regret it. :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Love it

    Really really good book! One of my top favorites! REESE DIES!!!! I was soo pissed! Urrrrg he was way better than Marcus :( He actually admitted that he loves her! Than Marcus has to be a a*****e and ruin it. And she loved him back too! TEAM REESE ALL THE WAY!!!!!!! :D

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    It was awesome

    There were so many times that I couldn't read because I didn't want to see the outcome. This book does not let you see any happily ever after. I cried 3 times thinking why did that have to happen. I was so upset about the whole thing. Also the girl can get so annoying sometime like she can't live with out the guy or even function. Seriously were is the powerful female lead when you need her

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good read!!!

    Lots of crazy characters good storyline, and cliffhanger that makes u die to know what happens next as soon as I can I'm getting book 2!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Amazing and unique

    I take reading serious and Im very picky with what I read. I will chew you out if your book isnt good but for the Guardians I couldnt find anything bad about it. Except for the fact that theres a few errors but other than that the book is amazing. The characters alone draw you to the story but when you get to the action you might as well ge ready to throw your tablet. The Guardians will leave you crying, laughing, and down right nervous. You'll fall in love with almost every character and this book will make you feel like your on a rollercoaster. Its creative and unique and if theres a similar story out there I need to know the name because i want to fall in love all over again. I dont really know wha else to say other then FREAKING AMAZING. ~Cierra

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    LOVE!!

    Pulled an allnighter reading it, I laughed , and cried. Got angry and happy. This book is with out a doubt a page turner! MUST READ!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good

    Good read, I so love jay

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Spuer Cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Best book Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Book

    Omg i lovee reese i dont know why he had to die ugh....!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Depends what you like

    The story seems to be good, but really couldn't finish it. I skimmed through it just to finish the book. I don't like how the characters fell in love with each other so quickly. Then the different third persons narrative doesn't match up. But if people like these types of books then read it, if not It really isn't worth it...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 269 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14