Customer Reviews for

Guardians of Being

Average Rating 3.5
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    DOG IS MY CO-PILOT

    For dog lovers, spiritually-awakened folks, or those that fall into both categories, this book is for you. Eckhart Tolle's words combine with Patrick McDonnell's illustrations and serve up a feel-good message. We love our domestic animals so much because they simply live in the moment and live life, just "being." Spiritually complex, yet simple in its design, this brilliant book should be on your bedside table or a place where you can reference it again and again and charge your spiritual batteries.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    A great gift

    This book makes a wonderful gift especially to someone who likes to read. I gave it to my daughter for her 16th birthday. Makes you enjoy the little things in life!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Perfect Combination of form and content

    Anyone who is familiar with the wisdom and insight of Eckart Tolle (The Power Of Now) and the wonderful whimsy of the cartoons and drawings of Patrick McDonnell from his Mutts cartoon strip will instantly recognize the genius of putting them together in one book. I gave out about ten copies of this book as Christmas presents and each recipient expressed absolute delight with it. While somewhat Eastern in philosophy it is totally accessible by anyone who seeks a simpler gentler view of life and it is a book to cherish forever for anyone of any age who understands the undefinable joy of animal companionship. You will feel both peaceful and inspired after reading this book and it is wonderful to share with young people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    Take a chance on this book! Mr Tolle does a wonderful job of sharing that special bond between you and your dog. The higher level that your dog ouches ur lives and helps us be present in the moment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Something to think about.

    As expected, the drawings of McDonnell are fantastic. Moving and expressive, with or without words. He never misses his message applying Tolle's philosophy. I finished the book in one sitting, but will surely go back from time to time. It is not a book to read and finish. It's purpose is to constantly guide the reader through life, respecting their pets and all animals they'll share it with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Gentle reminders

    This appealed to me as a gifting book. Eckhart Tolle's words with Patrick McDonnell's illustration. It didn't fail as a good gift. Just nice gentle reminders of things we need to remember in life to find quiet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Excellent example of bringing one into the moment.

    A book everyone can relate to and with out even thinking about it your in the "present moment"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Regretted purchase

    I purchased this for my Nook. The printing on my issue was so faded I could barely read it. I have read many books about how our pets touch are lives.......was not impressed with this whimsical version.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    A sweet look at what pets can teach us about life

    These familiar animals drawn by Patrick McDonnell, reveal some of life's essential truths when paired with the words of Eckhart Tolle. This makes a sweet gift for animal lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4