Customer Reviews for

Guards! Guards! (Discworld Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Read this first

    This is probably the best first stop if you want to jump into the discworld. It is also the beginning of the watch of Anhk-morpork story lines. A great must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    Interesting

    It's a great book. My only complaint is that on the nook, some of the words get cut off and you can't access the footnotes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    My odd sense of humor...

    Not what I was expecting, and definately NOT my usual type of book....turned out to be pretty good and funny in this offhand sorta way...like dorky jokes like I would make myself!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Great entry book to diskworld

    The intro into the best book series ever written

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    A definite "must read"

    This is definitely the book to get your feet wet if you've not read Terry Pratchett. He really hit his comic stride in Guards! Guards!. If you've not read him, pick this book up right away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Anonymous

    All I can say is: Wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was introduced to Pratchett's words only recently -- late in m

    I was introduced to Pratchett's words only recently -- late in my reading career -- by author Henry Gee, who then stood back to watch the mental explosion. He was on to something, alright. Long aware of Mr. Pratchett's name, legions of fans and occasional witty quote, I had no idea how all-encompassing his writing could be. Guards! Guards! is my introduction to the author's beloved Discworld and my key to future submersions as well. It is a perfect tonic for our times and our silly culture offering big, heaping helpings of wry humor, cynicism and sarcasm. In my case, particularly, it came at a perfect time for a fan of George R.R. Martin's work suffering withdrawl until his next volume is released and in desperate need of comedic relief. Pratchett's novel takes place on the fetid, dysfunctional streets of a major city where a benevolent (?) dictator is about to be replaced by something much worse. Not even human, but sadly, in so many ways, completely expected. Dragons, it turns out are people, too. Misunderstood, subject to soul-numbing stereotyping and completely consumed by gastric issues. This book will keep you in stitches throughout and give you plenty of occasions to reflect on where our priorities lie. Don't wait. Hie thee to a bookseller and purchase this book. You sanity may well depend upon it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    A great book

    I love Terry Pratchett and all of his Discworld novels. I've read about all of them, but this is one is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Dragon! Dragon!

    Could not turn the pages fast enough...even if you have never read a discworld novel this is a great place to start..can I say "Hurrah" Now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Terry Pratchett is easily my favourite author of all time! What'

    Terry Pratchett is easily my favourite author of all time! What's more, the Discworld may just be my favourite fantasy world of all time. It so happens that the very first Discworld book I read was Men at Arms, which is actually the second book in Discworld's so called "City Watch" series (this book is the first in that series). Still, I was able to suspend disbelief and "pretend" that many of the things that were assumed in Men at Arms hadn't happened yet.




    This book is all about dragons and kings, which Pratchett describe in his typical humourous style. It's laugh-a-page, and I simply could not put it down. Over the past few weeks while I've been reading it I've had some pretty late nights, resulting in me being quite unable to get out of bed in the mornings, and often arriving to work quite late.




    I would've rated this book five stars, but for two points where the book moved a little slowly for my liking. Yes, only two - the pacing is otherwise brilliant! About halfway through the book I began to think that it was getting a bit long in the tooth and I thought it should just end. Thankfully, I pushed through, and it was like a whole new story started, a "sequel" if you like. Then around 85% of the way through, the story was over but there were still loose ends to tie up. I caught myself thinking "Yeah, I know all this stuff is necessary, but we all know what happens next, and who ends up with whom. Just finish already!"




    Once again, I'm glad I pulled through, though: there are one or two surprises in the wrap-up that I found quite entertaining!




    If you like fantasy (or even if you hate it), and love comedy, Terry Pratchett's your man! And this book is a decent place to start reading the City Watch series. Highly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    JUST WOAH! Extremely entertaining! You have been warned...

    I'm new to this Discworld Series and I have to say this is phenomenal, very clever, superb, and downright FUNNY. I'm lookin' forward to the next books and nothing's is gonna stop meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was fun, engaging and humerus early summer reading. Perfect for a time when I just wanted to be entertained by a book. Fans of dragons, fantasy or British humor are all greatly encouraged to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Very entertaining

    Here there be dragons, indeed, but also, more importantly, here there be HUMOR. This book is great. It has everything you could want: an excellently intricate plot, a surprise ending, a sketchy bad guy, a bunch of goons, endearing main characters, a six-foot-tall incredibly naive dwarf, and a really sweet romance, however quirky it may be. Pratchett's acute wordplay and descriptions are a pleasure to read, even if you have no idea what's going on in the story. Which may happen. Just go with the flow. I really enjoyed the core characters in this book, which is the four members of Anhk Morpork's police force and a rather large and interesting noblewoman who breeds a small species of dragons, especially Capt. Samuel Vimes, who begins this novel lying drunk in a gutter. What can I say, he made me laugh. The whole book made me laugh. This book is worth an exploration through the deep, dark depths of L-space to read. (If you want to know what L-space is, read the book.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    I loved this book!

    This was the Third book by Terry Pratchett that I have read. Ever since I have read the first one, I just want to keep reading more! Very funny and very well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    hilarious

    If you are a fan of satire and or fantasy, this book will keep you laughhing. Very well written, very keen and witty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    My Favorite Book!

    When I first picked this book up I couldn't put it down! I laughed at the hilarious antics of the Night Watch and how they saved the city. A Great Laugh if you're a fan of Pratchett or just beginning to read his books. I definetly reccomend it. Once you read it you'll be hooked on Pratchett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6