Customer Reviews for

Guards! Guards! (Discworld Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Read this first

    This is probably the best first stop if you want to jump into the discworld. It is also the beginning of the watch of Anhk-morpork story lines. A great must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    Interesting

    It's a great book. My only complaint is that on the nook, some of the words get cut off and you can't access the footnotes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Great entry book to diskworld

    The intro into the best book series ever written

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    A definite "must read"

    This is definitely the book to get your feet wet if you've not read Terry Pratchett. He really hit his comic stride in Guards! Guards!. If you've not read him, pick this book up right away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Anonymous

    All I can say is: Wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was introduced to Pratchett's words only recently -- late in m

    I was introduced to Pratchett's words only recently -- late in my reading career -- by author Henry Gee, who then stood back to watch the mental explosion. He was on to something, alright. Long aware of Mr. Pratchett's name, legions of fans and occasional witty quote, I had no idea how all-encompassing his writing could be. Guards! Guards! is my introduction to the author's beloved Discworld and my key to future submersions as well. It is a perfect tonic for our times and our silly culture offering big, heaping helpings of wry humor, cynicism and sarcasm. In my case, particularly, it came at a perfect time for a fan of George R.R. Martin's work suffering withdrawl until his next volume is released and in desperate need of comedic relief. Pratchett's novel takes place on the fetid, dysfunctional streets of a major city where a benevolent (?) dictator is about to be replaced by something much worse. Not even human, but sadly, in so many ways, completely expected. Dragons, it turns out are people, too. Misunderstood, subject to soul-numbing stereotyping and completely consumed by gastric issues. This book will keep you in stitches throughout and give you plenty of occasions to reflect on where our priorities lie. Don't wait. Hie thee to a bookseller and purchase this book. You sanity may well depend upon it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    A great book

    I love Terry Pratchett and all of his Discworld novels. I've read about all of them, but this is one is one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Dragon! Dragon!

    Could not turn the pages fast enough...even if you have never read a discworld novel this is a great place to start..can I say "Hurrah" Now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    JUST WOAH! Extremely entertaining! You have been warned...

    I'm new to this Discworld Series and I have to say this is phenomenal, very clever, superb, and downright FUNNY. I'm lookin' forward to the next books and nothing's is gonna stop meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    I loved this book!

    This was the Third book by Terry Pratchett that I have read. Ever since I have read the first one, I just want to keep reading more! Very funny and very well written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    My Favorite Book!

    When I first picked this book up I couldn't put it down! I laughed at the hilarious antics of the Night Watch and how they saved the city. A Great Laugh if you're a fan of Pratchett or just beginning to read his books. I definetly reccomend it. Once you read it you'll be hooked on Pratchett.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4