Customer Reviews for

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 2464 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1384)

4 Star

(674)

3 Star

(235)

2 Star

(88)

1 Star

(83)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

59 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

A treasure and a gift...a rare gem.

I am an avid reader and this is one of the best and most touching books I've ever read. The story's set at the end of WWII in England and Guernsey and it's written as a series of letters and telegrams between characters (well done). You must read this book. You will ...
I am an avid reader and this is one of the best and most touching books I've ever read. The story's set at the end of WWII in England and Guernsey and it's written as a series of letters and telegrams between characters (well done). You must read this book. You will laugh, you will cry, you will grow to love these people and once finished, you will feel enriched for having come to know them while simultaneously mourning the end of your relationship with them. This is a book to keep, to treasure, to give to friends and loved ones and to read again and again. Is is too soon to ask for more?

posted by Lynn_R on October 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

My book group read this book. I found it too light going and, frankly, trite. It is hard for me to read fiction of any sort, but I thought with the historical connection to the German occupation of Guernsey, there would be a compelling story line that I could find gri...
My book group read this book. I found it too light going and, frankly, trite. It is hard for me to read fiction of any sort, but I thought with the historical connection to the German occupation of Guernsey, there would be a compelling story line that I could find gripping. I kept waiting for it to improve and when I reached the end and it had not, I felt somewhat cheated by the glowing reviews I had read before starting the book. It is an easy read, but too easy. Now only three days after finishing it, I am having trouble remembering all of the characters -- NOT a good sign. I would not recommend it. Sorry.

posted by 1337193 on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    Disappointing

    My book group read this book. I found it too light going and, frankly, trite. It is hard for me to read fiction of any sort, but I thought with the historical connection to the German occupation of Guernsey, there would be a compelling story line that I could find gripping. I kept waiting for it to improve and when I reached the end and it had not, I felt somewhat cheated by the glowing reviews I had read before starting the book. It is an easy read, but too easy. Now only three days after finishing it, I am having trouble remembering all of the characters -- NOT a good sign. I would not recommend it. Sorry.

    24 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Dont buy

    Most boring book ever and really hard to follow.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    What was the writer thinking? HORRIBLE

    I hated this book it was boring and didnt make sence! The story was really bad! #$ismyname

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    This was a gift purchase for my granddaughter who is in her junior year at college. She is a reader.

    I cannot offer a review as I have not read this book. I can only rate the shipping and handling which was excellent.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    I couldn't understand what the hype was all about with this book

    I couldn't understand what the hype was all about with this book. Completely forgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    THIS BOOK IS TERRIBLE! I am actually stunned this got past a pu

    THIS BOOK IS TERRIBLE! I am actually stunned this got past a publisher.
    It is a Fried Green Tomatoes wanna-be, but is so forced, unnatural and
    unbelievable that I actually want my money back. The poor writing and
    contrived situations would have been better told in a straightforward
    manner if one wanted knowledge of the fate of the Channel Islands and
    Islanders during WWII. Annoying and contrived. I don't love any of
    these characters or their overworked stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    I continued reading this book thinking it would improve - it did

    I continued reading this book thinking it would improve - it did not. I do not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No

    I never finished reading this book. Booorring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Slow

    Slow journal entries ruin pace

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Oo whxkd

    Baad

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Boo

    Boooring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Did not load

    I know this is not about the book itself since i cannot access the book. Everyone else seems to love it but i guess i may not get the chance even though i paid my ridiculous $11.99.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    BOOOOORING!

    What a snooze-fest...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Pass

    Pass on this one

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    I don't know why people like this book.

    I was given this book as a present from a friend who loved it. Usually we have a pretty similar taste in books, but this time we were way off.

    I got bored...quickly. I wasn't terribly impressed by anything in this book, not the characters or the writing style or the plot.

    It's really sad what passes as a good book these days.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    Not worth reading

    I read all the reviews of people who read the book. They said it was an excellent book. I thought it dragged and just could not get into the book. Maybe it was me, but I thought the book was uninteresting and not well written. Would not recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    Abandoned!

    I seldom abandon a book, but I just couldn't make it through this one. Clever idea, but enough already! The letter format got very dull. My biggest problem was the lack of change in voice from character to character. A huge flaw in my mind. My advice, skip it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    BORING

    Couldnt finish this boring book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Could not even finish it

    It could not keep my attention. Was not at all what the synopsis said it would be. I usually struggle through a book even if it is not that great. This one I could not.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    What a waste of precious reading time

    The intro and first half of the book might lead you to believe you are dealing with a 'older' women who wants a fuller life than marriage to a simple man and adoption of an orphan. That is where you are headed. Predictable, overly nostalgic blather. Find something else.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5