Customer Reviews for

Guerrilla Marketing for Job Hunters 3.0: How to Stand Out from the Crowd and Tap Into the Hidden Job Market using Social Media and 999 other Tactics Today

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I just purchased this book at 6 pm yesterday evening. I am almos

    I just purchased this book at 6 pm yesterday evening. I am almost all of the way through it and the information and tips were dynamite!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Still Posting Your Resume on Job Boards? Stop!! Read This Book.

    I found myself unemployed this year after working over 10 years for the same employer. After going on a couple of interviews, I realized that something was wrong. I couldn't quite put my finger on it. I was rusty but there was something else missing, so I went online and began searching for books on job hunting. In the past, I had purchased and read the seminal book on job hunting "What Color is Your Parachute" by Richard Nelson Bolles. While this is a good book and one I highly recommend for someone who is trying to find his or her place in the world of work, I was looking for something different. Something with more of a marketing approach. I remember some years ago coming across a book entitled "Guerilla Marketing" so I started looking for this book and that's when I came across "Guerilla Marketing for the Job Hunter 3.0" (GM4JH3). After reading a few preview pages online, I knew this was the book that I was looking for and ran down to the local bookstore and purchased it. My Ah-Ha moment with GM4JH3 came when I realized that my resume and interviews were simply a list of the things that I had accomplished as a software developer. It didn't tell the employer what I could do for him or her--I wasn't selling myself. I'm not one for tooting my own horn, but GM4JH3 helped me to realize that job hunting is no longer a matter of posting your resume on the various job boards and responding to a job listing. Today, you have to develop your brand and utilize social networks like LinkedIn to promote yourself. I highly recommend GM4JH3 to anyone looking for a job or who wants to build his or her brand. I have listened to a couple of webinars (not related to GM4JH3) where they cover some of the same material in GM4JH3 and then want to charge you $400 or more for the rest of the story. GM4JH3 gives you the whole story for a whole lot less. I just wish that I had discovered this book earlier because after reading it and implementing the material covered in it, I am now beginning to receive requests from corporate recruiters asking me to check out their websites and apply for jobs at their companies. Thank you David Perry for a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    I have used several tips from this book to help my clients secur

    I have used several tips from this book to help my clients secure meaningful employment months ahead of their competition. It is by far the best book I have found on the topic of job searching to date. This is not a book for the lazy; it will require you to be assertive! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    This book is a true gem. One of my mentors helped me ralize ther

    This book is a true gem. One of my mentors helped me ralize there is a process for everything; be it brushing your teeth or rebuilding an engine. In process analysis one of your first steps is identifying the problem. Most of us as job seekers have fallen into the conventions to such a degree we cannot see what the problem is, or we incorrectly identify the problem as external factors beyond our control: the economy, the industry we trained for, etc. I want to thank Mr. Perry for putting a spotlight on what is in plain sight. Our process was broken thank you for giving us a plan on how to fix it. All that is left is for us to do the things outlined in order to improve and act to make a change. This book does a superb job of illustrating how to put many of the skills we have into practice. Some of may be adept at creating our Brand, here we learn how to put that brand to use. You may demonstrate a keen ability to connect with other and build a network; Mr. Perry gives you the tools to target that skill. If you are looking for that edge, this is a definite MUST read! This book provides the tools to do what most people don't or won't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    As a current guerrilla marketer (and former job seeker-turned-hu

    As a current guerrilla marketer (and former job seeker-turned-hunter) I found MY unemployment "immunity idol" in the pages of this gem. High unemployment stats are now for mere mortals who haven't read this book. It is so far, by far the single best source of job hunting information I've found. Not to mention the wider application of some of their techniques to marketing in general. To sum it up in a word "EXCELLENT"!

    All I can say is buy this book and read it twice. If times are tough, use your library card (you know the one you got the last time you took the kids!) :)

    Thank you Jay and David for this work. It will become a permanent part of my library. You guys ROCK!

    MFJLabs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Guerrilla Marketing for Job Hunters 3.0 is a great resource in r

    Guerrilla Marketing for Job Hunters 3.0 is a great resource in raising your brand awareness and increasing your online presence. It is amazing how this book has helped me on LinkedIn and my job search. I opened my account with LinkedIn Dec 2010. Was only connected to just a handful of people.

    On April 29th 2012 I had 529 connections on LinkedIn. As of July16th I have 2200+.

    Prior to reading the book I had only had 1 Phone interview. Since reading the book I have had several phone and face to face interviews.

    The types of people I have met on LinkedIn do to the book. Rob Mendez was a excellent resource that I met via LinkedIn that helped in many ways. Rob Mendez spent time showing me the value of SendOutCards to send to recruiters and other people. One of the recruiters that I am dealing with received her first thank you card from me. I have also connected with many different social media experts that have free webinars or one on one sessions on improving your LinkedIn profile. The quality of Open Networkers that I have connected with is truly a blessing and just down to earth folks that want just want to pay it forward.

    In addition, I was fortunate enough to reach a recruiter in Texas to help a friend of mine to get a Job Interview. I had my resume rewritten by Mike Maetz of Maetz Resume Consulting who is one of my connections that I met on LinkedIn.

    I also got 2 recommendations from my LinkedIn connections from the interactions that I had with each of them. I am now co-managing a LinkedIn Group: IT LIONS - Open Networking for IT Professionals.

    The book is a must read and if followed properly is contagious to all the people who come in contact with the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I believe that this is the first book that someone should get an

    I believe that this is the first book that someone should get and read(a couple of times) if they are looking to establish a web presence, especially if they are looking for employment. I picked up this book by accident(it was sitting next to a book on resume writing), read it quicky, and then decided to see if it works. As I began to put some of the Guerrilla Marketing techniques to the test, I am finding that these techniques work. I already feel like I have at least tripled the ROI in GMJH 3.0 based on the additional information that I received just from following the a few of the techniques. The free resume reveiw was just a nice touch.

    GMJH 3.0 is the book to get and to read as it has the techniques to implement if you want to see results in your internet Job Marketing/Branding efforts.

    As I continue to implement more of the techniques, I am confidient that I will have more and more results. I will be highly recommending this book to as a starting point for all job seekers that I meet. GMJH 3.0 is Just That Good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    It's not what you know or who you know, it's who knows you.

    As an HR veteran of over 10yrs and a seasoned recruiter I thought I knew all there was to know about conducting a job search. After I read this book however, I realized I was wrong. Don't get me wrong, it was overwhelming at first with all the tips and techniques they throw at you, but I just read through the book in its entirety the first time, making note of what I wanted to try, and then went back again for the details when I was implementing each one. Some of the suggestions you may think are too progressive, but if your job search stalled out like mine did then you have to be willing to try something different. My new LinkedIn profile and Guerrilla resume have already made a huge difference and that's just the tip of the iceberg!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Very Helpful book

    I have all three editions of this book...it is that good. The third edition is by far the best.
    There are great tips on shifting the way you think about the job hunting process. Lets face it, times have changed and the way you look for work has changed as well.

    I have used several of the strategies n this book to not get a new job but to make more connections in case I decide to leave my current situation. I feel confident now that Using these strategies and tactics, new work would not be hard to find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    You must read it

    This is a must read book for job seekers. This book will certainly help you to find hidden jobs. Paid job sites like dice, monster, career builder are very expensive. So the companies are unable to afford and they are seeking different paths to recruit candidates. This book tell you where these jobs are going, how to see them and how your resume get notify to the companies....excellent suggestions. Read this and you will never be unemployed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Become a guerrilla!

    This book makes you feel like your the ceo of your own job hunting company, your commision is your yearly salary you will recieve when you land a job. Just by changing a few words on linked in, my network has increased by 30%. There are alot of wild ideas but if you have the guts to use them they will work.

    "don't wear white socks if you do I will find out"

    Favorite line haha

    This book will only get you a job if you have a heavy work ethic. The Lazy need not buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    What a Great Gift !

    I got my copy of the book a few months back. I've read it cover to cover 3 times since. I am using the tactics to grow my own professional branding and business. Not exactly the reason the book was written but the tactics are working for me. On December 17th I went to a Christmas party where there was a gift exchange. The person I gave the book to during the gift exchange was unemployed and has been for many months. He was not getting any interviews or job traction. As I write this today (January 7th) he has two interviews next week and one scheduled the following week !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Not what I expected. Kind of a waste of time & money

    A friend on a job hunting forum recommended this book as a must-read so I bought it as a Nook ebook. I wanted it to suggest something out of the box that I'd find useful in locating a new engineering position. I'm about 1/3 of the way through it and it still feels like an introduction. I'm expecting that at this rate, the leadup will continue to the last page and that page will have the book's entire content. The book wasn't expensive so I'm not sorry I gave it a try, but it's simply not telling me anything new. Everything I've seen so far is either available from job sites or is common sense if you've looked for jobs before. Rather than buy this yourself, use the Nook's LendMe feature and borrow someone else's copy first. You can borrow mine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Unbelievable read! Very highly recommended!

    In this highly competitive job market, you need all the insider tips you can get. After reading this book (twice!), it is clear that I was just another resume on the stack. I needed a major overhaul in every way, including my resume and cover letter, and especially how I was marketing myself. It provides a great deal of information on how to correctly use social media to your advantage when little other people are (or maybe no one is, depending on your industry). I wish I could keep this info to myself, but of course that would be greedy ;). In all seriousness, this is a MUST BUY if you have had no luck in your job search.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Top Notch! Highly Reccommended

    The best thing i can say about this book is that it gives the job seeker the tools, techniques, and the know how to get the job he/she wants in an economy like this. With unemployment hovering over 9% for the nation You need an advantage. The fact are with so many people applying for the same position you HAVE to be able stand out in a crowd. This book provides the answersto do just that. In great detail, the book describe how to get the interview, ace the interview, negotiate the best salary and get the job. For my dollar there is nothing better on the market

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 15 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1