BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Guess How Much I Love You

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

love this book!

this is my favorite baby book. this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because sh...
this is my favorite baby book. this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books to my daughter when she was small.

posted by zeghsy on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Delightful Illustrations: Disturbing Tone

Meant, I assume, to depict the boundless love of a parent for his child, the come-backs of Big Nutbrown Hare come across as constant one-ups-manship. Even as the longing Little Hare, trying and trying to love his parent enough, drifts off to sleep, Big Hare gets in one...
Meant, I assume, to depict the boundless love of a parent for his child, the come-backs of Big Nutbrown Hare come across as constant one-ups-manship. Even as the longing Little Hare, trying and trying to love his parent enough, drifts off to sleep, Big Hare gets in one final competitive "Gotcha" response. Sure not a tone I want to share with the children in my life. Too bad. It could have been a charming book.

posted by DebTS on January 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    love this book!

    this is my favorite baby book. this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books to my daughter when she was small.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Oh My

    I am 19 years old and I can openly say that I still love this book, it is terribly cute story. My family used to to read it to me at night, and when I am older I will for sure read to my kids. I have also used the book when babysitting and kids love it! its so excellent! :D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Delightful Illustrations: Disturbing Tone

    Meant, I assume, to depict the boundless love of a parent for his child, the come-backs of Big Nutbrown Hare come across as constant one-ups-manship. Even as the longing Little Hare, trying and trying to love his parent enough, drifts off to sleep, Big Hare gets in one final competitive "Gotcha" response. Sure not a tone I want to share with the children in my life. Too bad. It could have been a charming book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love You This Much

    A very sweet book that makes for a warm and loving end of the day. Leave you child with loving thoughts at bedtime. It's a wonderful book with a heart-felt message.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Great for Parents Who'd Like to Congratulate Themselves

    Many books are in print that sweetly tell children how much they are loved. In my opinion this one does a great job of glorifying narcissistic parents. Big Nutbrown Hare, instead of reacting with gratitude for his child's expression of love (I love you as high as I can reach), immediately responds with his own bigger love that is literally impossible for the child to match. Little Nutbrown Hare wishes he could jump as high, reach as far as his parent. The book does not present this as a fun, easy-going game, but as an earnest attempt for the little rabbit to express himself. In my opinion the book focuses on Big Nutbrown Hare and how wonderful he is for loving his child so much. Gee, no wonder some parents get choked up reading it -- gosh aren't we great, wow shouldn't we all be impressed with ourselves?! Even the title gives it away... Little Nutbrown Hare finally falls asleep with the gentle message 'I love you all the way to the moon'. Big Nutbrown Hare waits until the little bunny is asleep and says 'I love you all the way to the moon and back'. The poor kid can't catch a break.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    Fabulous!!!

    Love this so much that I am using it as the theme for my baby's nursery!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    I watch this series with my grandson every night at bedtime. It

    I watch this series with my grandson every night at bedtime. It is truly beautifully written and illustrated. Everyone is full of good morals and good examples: The loving and respectful character interaction; The spotlight, on the magnificence of nature and the never ending adventures that exist there; The peaceful world in which they live without unfriendly characters or danger; and, Big Nut Brown Hare does a fine job of nurturing and gently guiding Little Nut Brown Hare to make his own wise, thoughtful choices and to solve child-sized problems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Cute & Simple

    I love books like this one. It has beautiful pictures and a beautiful little story about love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Just Awesome!!

    I picked this up for my grandson - and it's just wonderful! :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    A Wonder for children and their loved ones.

    I have given the book and the Nutbrown Hare stuffed animal to two families - they are thrilled to receive reminders of their own loving histories. How many children have said to their loved ones, "I love you THIS much!" as they spread their arms as far as they will go? A real treasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    2 Thumbs up favorite!!

    'Guess How Much I Love You' is just a great children's book. It is very sweet and beautiful with so many great illustrations! At our school we know how important it is to maintain a summer reading program for your children - studies show that over time (many school years) children whose parents do not make the effort to have them read during vacation - well, they do fall behind.The perception can be created that they are not as bright as the other students. So - please read to your children this summer!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!

    I have been reading this book to my daughter for a year now, she loves it!!! I even had to buy little Nutbrown Hare.. Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    sweet!

    great for bedtime

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    My daughters LOVE this

    This is a great read for kids, and both of my girls have enjoyed it at various ages.
    The pictures are good, the imagery is good, and the sentiment is good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    One of my favorite children's books ever

    I love watching my husband read this to his children; it gets me all teary eyed every time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great children story-

    I really like this book. It is a sweet story of a mother bunny and her little bunny. The mother bunny is trying to explain to the little bunny just how much she cares for her little bunny. The illustrations in this book are amazing and really capture the love between mother and child. This little bunny is so sweet and innocent. You will love reading this book to your children and telling them just how much you love them! I highly recommend this book to people of many ages!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Perfect for Dad's, Mom's too

    This book makes for a special bedtime story read by Dad (can be read by Mom, too). The illustrations and story are excellent and makes a great collection in your toddler's library for bedtime stories. This is the type of book your child will pass on to their own children.

    Some examples from the large, hard-bound book: "I love you right up to the moon, he said and closed his eyes. Oh, that's far, said Big Nutbrown Hare. That is very, very, far." "Big Nutbrown Hare settled Little Nutbrown Hare into his bed of leaves. He leaned over and kissed him good night."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Good story

    An execellent starter read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My Kids do not like this book

    I have no idea why this book is so popular. I got it as a gift 3 times for both my sons, 3 and 1 and 1/2. Neither of them have ever gotten through me reading the whole book. It is completely uninteresting and unengaging.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    This story is DIVINE :) It bring tears into my eyes... Thank you

    This story is DIVINE :) It bring tears into my eyes... Thank you Sam :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8