Customer Reviews for

Guess How Much I Love You

Average Rating 4.5
( 155 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

love this book!

this is my favorite baby book. this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because sh...
this is my favorite baby book. this is one of four that we give at baby showers. we've noticed that very few people give books at showers. this purchase was for my sister-in-law. as she began opening it, she started to cry when she realized what the gift was, because she used to read all these books to my daughter when she was small.

posted by zeghsy on November 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Delightful Illustrations: Disturbing Tone

Meant, I assume, to depict the boundless love of a parent for his child, the come-backs of Big Nutbrown Hare come across as constant one-ups-manship. Even as the longing Little Hare, trying and trying to love his parent enough, drifts off to sleep, Big Hare gets in one...
Meant, I assume, to depict the boundless love of a parent for his child, the come-backs of Big Nutbrown Hare come across as constant one-ups-manship. Even as the longing Little Hare, trying and trying to love his parent enough, drifts off to sleep, Big Hare gets in one final competitive "Gotcha" response. Sure not a tone I want to share with the children in my life. Too bad. It could have been a charming book.

posted by DebTS on January 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Invalidate your child's love with this book! I cringe every tim

    Invalidate your child's love with this book! I cringe every time I think of this book, which we bought because of its popularity. As a mental health professional, competing with your children through constant one-upsmanship and making them feel inadequate and powerless is a clear no-no! I read it all except the last page so that the Big Nutbrown Hare seems a little bit like a caring parent at the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    My 5 year old son absolutely loves this book...very sweet and ge

    My 5 year old son absolutely loves this book...very sweet and gentle. He always makes up his own comparisons of how much he loves me when we finish. It is a great book to get cozy with at the end of a busy day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    Guess How Much I Love You

    I have given this book to two people, my Auntie Bonnie, and my late precious friend Colleen. Both of these people I will always love from the earth under my feet to the heavens above me. I will also buy this for my grandchild,Ashlynn, when she is old enough to be read to. This book is pure delight from the writing to the art work. A purely sweet read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I bought this as an Easter present for my infant son and really loved the story.

    My son was only 2 months old at Easter, so candy was out of the question, but I didn't want his first "holiday" to go without a gift. The book's cover attracted me because it showed bunnies and the title intrigued me. This board-book is really adorable and a perfect size for reading when you have to hold an infant in your lap. The story is really cute and about how a little hare is trying to outdo the big hare in demonstrating how much he loves him. My hope is that one day my son will try to outdo me by demonstrating how much he loves me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Guess How Much I Love You Too"

    This is my most purchased children book ever. The last purchased copy of the book was for my grand-neice, Kayla, who is a year old, for Easter.
    I have given this book and the Little Baby Bunny, for just about every new child in my family. I have copies of it for my own children (ages 43 and 22 years), for grands and great-grands to come. This book is a testamony, of the spoken love between child and parent. I have quite a collection of children books of my own, but this book I freely give away for I feel everyone who is a parent of precious little ones should read it aloud with them. I every once in a while read it for myself and remember the cozy bedtime cuddles with my children with there favorite books. It has become a classic in our family. It is my favorite Baby Shower gift for new mommies and dads. You will indeed fall in love with it TOO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Sweet stor

    Another book I always give as a gift to mothers-to-be. The last one I gave the little mother wrote that it made her cry and how much she liked it. It is such a sweet story and illustrates to your children how much they are loved and how much love they have to give. This is a must for all children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Favorite Children's Book

    My favorite book to give to first time parents! It is beautifully illustrated and the story is very touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    One of the greatest books on love ever.

    The central theme of this charming little children's book is "love." It's a sweet and heart-warming look at the love of a parent to a child. It teaches the lesson that a parent will always love the child. The Parent and child are playing a game of guess how much I love you. As the child tells the parent that they love them to various far away objects the parent replies "I love you there and back again." Constantly doubling the "love." The heartbreaking part is when the child picks the moon. The parent relents saying that that is far and as they tuck the child in and gets them to sleep they whisper I love you to the Moon and back again. :,(

    Beautiful, huh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Guess How Much I Love You

    In a world that is so unstable at times and our children feel frightened and alone, it is nice to sit back with the simpleness of a book that tells a child " I will always love you".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A CHARMING BOOK TO GIVE YOUR SON OR DAUGHTER AT ANY AGE....

    THIS IS INDEED THE MOST WONDERFUL BOOK TO GIVE YOUR GROWN CHILDREN AS
    A GIFT - AT ANY AGE. NO ONE IS TOO OLD TO HEAR HOW MUCH THEY ARE LOVED.
    I RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY AND DON'T WASTE ANOTHER MOMENT NOT TELLING SOMEONE
    JUST HOW MUCH YOU LOVE THEM, IN AN ENGAGEING AND FUNNY WAY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    A book we all love...

    I first read this book to my nephews when they were young and now that I am teaching preschoolers, I have found that it is a great book to read to them as well. The story line is very positive and encouraging to young children and is also a great reminder to adults that all are loved. I really enjoyed reading this to the children and listening to them explain how their parents love them. The best reason I have heard to date is, "my mom and daddy love me a lot because I clean my room and I help wash the dishes. When I am bigger, they will love me even more because I will take out the trash and babysit my little sister." It is a book that is great for nap time, bed time, or anytime. I love the illustrations and the writing often brings a smile or giggle to the children who are listening. A great read and one that you will definitely want in your library at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Hard to Read Aloud

    Little Nutbrown Hare - say that ten times fast!

    Big Nutbrown Hare isn't any better. I like the story, but I trip over the character names. My husband has a hard time reading out loud and he purposefully skips this book when it is his turn at bed time.

    I cannot highly reccomend this for a bedtime read, especially when there are so many great (and much easier to read aloutd) classic books out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book! Nice before bedtime book!

    Good book for some quality time with your child. I also recommend "The Journey of a Grape"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    Huge hit w/ the parents

    I purchased this book for my 5 month-old granddaughter for a Christmas gift. Her parents were thrilled. They already had a copy of the book and read it to the baby all the time. They said they will keep one copy upstairs in her bedroom and the other in their family room on the main level. My daughter said she was happy not to be taking the book up and down the stairs every day. This is one of my granddaughter's favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    One of my all-time favorite children's books!!

    Guess How Much I Love You has been one of my favorite children's books since the first time I read it. It is part of every baby shower present I give, and I have read it countless times to the kids in my family. Warm, uplifting, sweet story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful baby book

    This is a wonderful book parents should read over and over to their young children. It is creative and a great bedtime story or good when a child is having a bad day. My children loved it and now my grandchildren are getting to know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My all time favorite bedtime reading book

    I love to read this book to my children, especially during the toddler years. It is also my favorite gift to kids for their first birthday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    great for little kids

    I got this book for my son for easter. He loves it. We read it everynight before he goes to bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Fabulous outward affirmation of love to your little one!

    What a great way to make sure you've told your little one how much you love them. Makes a great daily read. One of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    Outstanding book for babies and toddlers.

    This is an excellent book to begin reading to a newly born infant. The story of nut-brown hare and his father express the love between parents and child. The young toddler recognizes that he or she is loved "way up to the moon and back."

    This is a story that a baby or toddler will ask for again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 155 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8