Customer Reviews for

A Guest for Halloween (Lex and Ricky Mystery Series)

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Check out this amazing tale of what I hope is the start of a fun and intelligent series

The writing style of this author is intelligent and captivating. He keeps his audience sitting on the edge of their seats waiting to see what the next page will bring. The plot is very well thought out and the characters are well developed. The only criticism I have is ...
The writing style of this author is intelligent and captivating. He keeps his audience sitting on the edge of their seats waiting to see what the next page will bring. The plot is very well thought out and the characters are well developed. The only criticism I have is that I want to read more. Hopefully this is the first of a Lex and Ricky series!

posted by 6352274 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Could Not Get Past The Vulgarity

When I got to Page 30 and found the writer decided it was time to throw in some vulgar behavior by the three "boys" just because the mother left, it was an easy choice that this book was not for me. The crude behavior was not funny and added nothing of value to the sto...
When I got to Page 30 and found the writer decided it was time to throw in some vulgar behavior by the three "boys" just because the mother left, it was an easy choice that this book was not for me. The crude behavior was not funny and added nothing of value to the story, unless, of course, you are really immature and never had anyone teach you anything about common manners. I just do not get the whole idea that food fights and bathroom jokes are funny. ----- Best wishes, Dave Wile

posted by DavidWile on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Check out this amazing tale of what I hope is the start of a fun and intelligent series

    The writing style of this author is intelligent and captivating. He keeps his audience sitting on the edge of their seats waiting to see what the next page will bring. The plot is very well thought out and the characters are well developed. The only criticism I have is that I want to read more. Hopefully this is the first of a Lex and Ricky series!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    A Very Rewarding Read...

    Intelligent and well written the author knows his subject and is not afraid to send you in search of dictionary. In a time of zombies, vampires and werewolves it behooves us to remember that there are things out there that may still exist that we have not discovered. Some mysteries have lived with us since the dawn of time and I for one am not sure I want to know the answer. I came away feeling that I really learned something.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    What A Wonderful Book!

    I was searching for a books for my son and downloaded this one. My intention was to just read a couple of pages to see what flavor it was. Sometime later, the book finished, I found myself laying on the couch thinking about all the other mysteries out there around us that we are just to wrapped up in our own lives to notice. My son read it without putting it down in one evening after supper!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    this was a good one!

    this was a easy read. i couldnt put it down, as it captivated my interest the whole way through. the story was magical and brought abiut a childhoid curiosity. it was full of mystery, adventure, and the unknown. i realky enjoyed this one !

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Excellent short read that really taught me something!

    It never ceases to amaze me how much richness there is to native culture. I learned so much about the people and land around Terrace, British Columbia. I had no idea they had a volcano erupt there or that there are hot springs that keep the water warm in the dead of winter. I have always found the bigfoot legends spooky and fascinating.

    I understand this is the first in a series and I hope to see more soon!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    Awesome. Great concept!

    It took me to a place I never knew existed and I live in Vancouver.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    Wow! What a different book!

    This little book gave me a whole new perspective on the history of British Columbia and the legend of Sasquatch.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Worth the one hour read

    I found this educationaL, in the sciences of geology, Indian studies, nature. It was a nice stiry and not just, for boys.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Simply wonderful!

    Worth the time spent!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    A really enjoyable little read...

    Loved it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Great book

    I really enjoyed this book, but the ending could have been better and longer. Overall i really liked it!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Pretty Cool Read!

    Loved it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    What an Awesome Book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Cute!

    The geology lesson is interesting.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    nicee

    awesome book!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Very interesting!

    Great book for children. Also, enjoyed learning about the Indian folklore. Look forward to reading more stories about Lex and Ricky.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Great young adult story

    Held my 11 year olds attention but interesting enough that I read it and enjoyed it too. Was surprised at the little bit of fowl language on the first page.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Bravo! Excellent read full of real excitement!

    Very interesting take on a persistent legend from a culture thousands of years old that we know nothing about. In a time when writing is populated by vampires and zombies it is refreshing to find a book with a real historical mystery. Having travelled through this area in British Columbia, I find it very interesting to find out about it's exciting history and culture. I really had no idea! A writing style that lends realism to the characters while teaching volumes about the local geology and legend. A real mystery for the young adult!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Could Not Get Past The Vulgarity

    When I got to Page 30 and found the writer decided it was time to throw in some vulgar behavior by the three "boys" just because the mother left, it was an easy choice that this book was not for me. The crude behavior was not funny and added nothing of value to the story, unless, of course, you are really immature and never had anyone teach you anything about common manners. I just do not get the whole idea that food fights and bathroom jokes are funny. ----- Best wishes, Dave Wile

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is the bomb-diggity. It is explaining the details low but enough to understand the whole scene. An a+grade book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6