Customer Reviews for

Guiding Light: Jonathan's Story

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    this is a great book

    I truely enjoyed this book. I would like to have more books like this to read from the Guiding Light series. I gave the book to my mother(who has watched Guiding Light forever). She read it in less than 2 days. She wanted me to find the next book for her. I hate to tell her there is not another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Couldn't Put it down

    I thought it was a great ending. To bad there couldn't be more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    It was ok.

    I Love Jonathan in Guiding Light, the book was good but, I don't like how Jonathan moved on so fast, I Loved Tammy. But otherwise I Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Final nail in the coffin of the Jammy lovestory

    The show has been marketing this book as a continuation of the lovestory of the show's last great supercouple. It's actually the final smackdown of the last great supercouple the show had. The book's Jonathan has sought no retribution for the murder of his beloved wife. He's found instant solace with someone who shares his perpetual victimhood mindset. He's not the edgy vintage 2004-2005 Jonathan but is now packing a diaperbag and depending on Mama Reva to cover his back. He shows little remorse over the mistakes he made that cost Tammy her life. Tammy only briefly appears in the book to promote the moving on or find your new light (or girlfriend) theme. If you understood and loved the original characters of Jonathan and Tammy, you will be disappointed in the rewrite of the depth of their relationship. The book is an easy read however if you like the romance novel genre and expect no more out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved this book. It stayed true to the characters on GL. I can't wait till Jonathan and Aubrey show up on the show. At first I was worried about how it would be with having Jonathan have someone special who wasn't Tammy but as they story progressed I started really rooting for them and when Tammy gave her blessing it let Jonathan move on with his life. The story also helped explain what is going on with Rva and Alan on GL. Even if you are not a GL fan this book is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    I absolutely loved this book...Got it on the 12th of Sept. and finished it by the 13th,my birthday...What a great present! The characters were right on the mark! I could actually visualize each scene,character and surroundings with Julia's descriptions. I loved the adventure and excitement building,the character interactions and the whole overall story. I am a huge Jammy fan and thought I'd hate seeing Jon move on but Aubrey's character was hard not to like and when Tammy lets it be known that she approves of Jon and Aubrey moving on together it made it that much easier to accept! Thank You for a well written book..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    GL Fans Rejoice!

    At last, Jonathan! I was so happy to hear they were putting out a book for Jonathan and it does not disappoint. Reva's anguish, Alan's evil, Aubrey's circumstances, and Jonathan's strength, determination, and love for Sarah all come out on the page. I didn't know what would happen when he lost Tammy, his soul mate, but a character like Jonathan can't let grief overwhelm him when he has Sarah to protect. Life triumphs. Jonathan rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Didn't Like it.

    I didn't like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Wow. What a snooze-fest.

    I think this book was horrible. What a joke. It doesn't stay true to the characters, and if you watch Guiding Light (which I am guessing if you read this book then you do) you will not even recognize the characters. Reva is barely in it, so if you wanted to read about her you can forget it. Jonathan is not in character. Who is Aubrey and who even cares? Jonathan would never move on so terribly quickly with someone else. He was just on the show a month ago and so obviously not over Tammy (not that he ever would be). If you like a juvenile story and you have a 5th grade reading level, then maybe you will like it, but I certainly would not recommend it. It was a waste of time and I was very disappointed. Don't waste your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    THIS BOOK WAS GREAT

    This book expained so much more than what was told in the show and i loved it. It was exciting and a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2007

    A huge letdown!

    I think if you are happy with how the show is right now, then you will like Jonathan's Story. I was hoping for better but didn't get it with this book. The idea that this has all taken place since Jonathan's short return to the show seven weeks ago is a bit of a stretch. If you know the character of Jonathan, then you know that he does not love easily. To have him fall in love with Aubrey so quickly is completely out of character, especially when you consider how grief-stricken he still was just weeks ago over Tammy's death. Reva is pictured on the front cover, but she isn't in the book all that much. Jonathan and Reva fans may enjoy their scene at the end of the book. It was easier to read this book if I thought of the characters as completely new to me rather than characters that I knew and loved from Guiding Light. To think that this book is now part of that show's long history is sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    I loved it

    I think it stays true to the characters and to the story. GL fans will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    NOT SURE I FEEL

    ive been waiting for this book it feels like forever. Jon is one of my fav peeps on GL right after reva. it sounds like its going to be a great read and with a lot of twist and turns to draw the reader in..and even back into the show (if you still dont watch it that is) Im just not ready yet to see him with a new lady and with it saying he may have true love once more is great but im not ready to let go of my Jammie lol..im gonna give this book 4 stars because i cant wait to see whats going on with alan and reva and ofcourse i want to know whats going on with jon. I would for sure recommend this book to any big GL fan, Jon fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1