BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Guilt (Alex Delaware Series #28)

Average Rating 3.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Kept my interest.

Fits the series. Creepy story but kept with the Kellerman's interesting cast of characters. Book was worth the money.

posted by Anonymous on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A decent read but not up to his usual standards.

A decent read but not up to his usual standards.

posted by mklbjk on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Kept my interest.

    Fits the series. Creepy story but kept with the Kellerman's interesting cast of characters. Book was worth the money.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review Let's see...it's the 28th novel i

    A Lilac Wolf and Stuff Review

    Let's see...it's the 28th novel in the Alex Delaware series. I think it rocks, honestly. The main characters are Alex Delaware (duh) and Milo Sturgis, Milo is the detective that Alex helps out on occasion (in every single book - *giggle*). There was much more tension between Alex and Milo in this book. In the last novel Alex had saved Milo's life, add to that all the extra footwork Alex put into this one that the captain noticed and commented on while criticizing Milo.

    We also got to see a few of Alex's buttons get pushed. He had a rough childhood and it's really colored his life as an adult. But basically Alex is a retired child psychologist. He did the hardest work for years, working with children with terminal illness, usually cancer. He had invested wisely, so now he works when he wants too. Yeah, I'm jealous. lol

    I love these novels because it's like reading an episode of Law and Order. I don't have to worry about the kids seeing it, they don't read over my shoulder yet. It has all the crime, tension and interpersonal drama that one could ask for. Being that it's a series, it includes the loves of both Alex and Milo.

    "'She didn't die pretty.'"
    "An outraged activist might call that blaming the victim. Anyone with homicide experience would call it logic."

    Hey all, did you know that Milo is a gay lieutenant who is basically given free reign to solve whatever he wants because he has the highest solve rate ever? It's a good thing, because being gay in a police department can't be easy. Kudos to Mr. Kellerman for including that bit of reality in this series.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Terrible!!!!!

    Terrible!!!! Had 50 pages left three days ago - have 30 pages left now.
    Kellerman should feel 'guilty' writing such nonsense.
    Boring!!!! Kept waiting for the book to get better - it didn't.
    Plot is Thin, Thin, Thin!!!!
    Oh, yeah, what plot?!!!!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    A decent read but not up to his usual standards.

    A decent read but not up to his usual standards.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Who-dun-it!

    Jonathan Kellerman just keeps on ticking in his 28th book about forensic psychologist Alex Delaware! Although Alex's role in this book wasn't so much the main character as the 'go-to' guy for Milo Sturgis, his long-time friend and LAPD Investigator. Through the years and books, the dynamics have changed, Milo has grown to be the main character with his own strong personality and way of doing things while Alex is now a consultant. Their interaction has remained well-done, though!

    The story starts with the skeletal remains of an infant long dead being dug up during a backyard renovation. Within a day, in a local park, another infant's remains are found near the body of a young nanny who has been shot, 'execution' style. Further investigation finds she is not the only nanny to be killed or is missing.

    Getting to the bottom of this mystery is not a straight line, we find our heroes working with theories and little else. The author has added enough twists and turns to keep you guessing until those final pages!

    Filled with emotional details, past histories and characters that you either love or find annoying, Jonathan Kellerman did a good job of putting me in the story, in the scenes. His style as a mystery writer has remained one that I enjoy!

    This edition was provided by NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh Jonathan ~~~ what happened?? I've been reading Jonathan Kell

    Oh Jonathan ~~~ what happened?? I've been reading Jonathan Kellerman's books for 20 (?) years now and rarely have I come across a book I did not like. Guilt is without a doubt the worst book he's ever written! Am thinking he should stick to painting. It took me at least 200 pages to even get into it a bit. Still couldn't tell you the plot. It was so hard to keep reading it; was like reading a puzzle!?! Even his star character, Milo, was certainly not up to par. A complete waste of paper. Maybe the time has come to leave it to your wife and children. At least Faye turns out a decent mystery and always well written. I can only say ~~~ this was a book of nothing; totally disjointed. Sorry, Jonathan, b ut had to be truthful.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Another Great Book

    Loved it. Loved the characters for the suspects! The end when they get the killer is great. Kellerman shines a light on our society that is enlightening & thought provoking.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Not His Best.

    Have read most of this author's books This one did not live up to the other's.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Stagnant Characters

    I've been reading JK since 1983 and believe that "Time Bomb" is the best Delaware installment yet. Since then the books have been passable but quickly became repeatative. I could not tell you the plot of any of them since 2000!

    But my main disappointment is how stale all of the players are. They never change or grow nor do their lives ever develop. It's like they live in a bubble:

    Alex still lies to Robin and she still plays along; Milo is still emotionally volatile with no clear direction in life and no apparent plans for a family life with Rick; Alex's family are all ghosts, Milo's too and even Robin's.

    It feels like JK is milking this series dead because of how deeply boring and stagnant the characters have been.

    Borrow don't buy this one. Forgettable. Again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Slow

    Not impressed. Way too slow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Not up to par for Kellerman. Kept skipping pages...boring...too

    Not up to par for Kellerman. Kept skipping pages...boring...too much meandering. Frustrating read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Not up to par. I'm a hugh fan of Alex and Milo, but couldn't ge

    Not up to par. I'm a hugh fan of Alex and Milo, but couldn't get into this one. I read the first 115 pages, then skipped to the last chapter to find out who did it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Terrific .

    All authors have their ups and downs with books but I must say that JK has waaaaaaay more ups than downs. His previous novel was terrific and while this one wasn't quite as good I can honestly say that the man can't write a bad book. I think that Alex and Milo are 2 of the most interesting and complex "buddy teams" out there and make every JK novel just a little different, in a great way. I ALWAYS buy his books without even reading a sample and will be devastated when he retires!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    KAT

    Lite. Book was reasonably good but far fom being up to his past writing performance. I will buy his next book but if it is only at this level, i will buy no more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Aiex Delaware IsSuperberb!

    I have read several of this series. Iam not diapointed by the team of Alex and Milo. It seems to be an unusual relationship.between the two of them but they seem to compliment each other. I will continue reading about these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    This book is really bad....thin plot,,so much dialog that goes n

    This book is really bad....thin plot,,so much dialog that goes nowhere,boring characters......just BAD!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    I usually am hooked in a few pages. Not this time. Not up to his

    I usually am hooked in a few pages. Not this time. Not up to his standards. Put book in recycle half way thru.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Mediocre

    Not Kellerman's best by far. I have always loved Alex and Milo bit it seemed he tried to develop some tension between the characters by having Milo put down by his Chief while Alex is made out to be the superior detective. This was really a turnoff for me as I am a fan of Milo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Another great story.

    Alex Delaware, always a hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Alex and Milo went to Cafe Mogul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6