Customer Reviews for

Guilt (Alex Delaware Series #28)

Average Rating 3.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Kept my interest.

Fits the series. Creepy story but kept with the Kellerman's interesting cast of characters. Book was worth the money.

posted by Anonymous on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A decent read but not up to his usual standards.

A decent read but not up to his usual standards.

posted by mklbjk on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    A decent read but not up to his usual standards.

    A decent read but not up to his usual standards.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Not His Best.

    Have read most of this author's books This one did not live up to the other's.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Slow

    Not impressed. Way too slow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    KAT

    Lite. Book was reasonably good but far fom being up to his past writing performance. I will buy his next book but if it is only at this level, i will buy no more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Mediocre

    Not Kellerman's best by far. I have always loved Alex and Milo bit it seemed he tried to develop some tension between the characters by having Milo put down by his Chief while Alex is made out to be the superior detective. This was really a turnoff for me as I am a fan of Milo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    I WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS BOOK

    CONTRARY TO THE REST OF HIS NOVELS THIS BOOK WAS A SLOW READ. THE PLOT WAS TOO SLOW IN DEVELOPING. IT TOOK ME LONGER THAN USUAL TO FINISH THIS BOOK. HOWECER I STILL LOOK FORWARD TO HIS NEXT NOVEL HOPING THAT IT IS BETTER THAN THIS ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Not Kellerman's best effort!

    Story drags. I love these characters, have read every book, grown up with them. And expect more from Jonathan. All's well that ends well to be sure but getting to the "end well" took some doing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Pedestrian read--good story but nothing compelling--good choice

    Pedestrian read--good story but nothing compelling--good choice for a time your between authors you like and looking for something to read to fill your reading habit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Kind of boring...

    I never thought I would give anything but the highest praise for his books, but maybe I have just read too many of them. These characters just don't have the warmth and appeal they did at first. Very slow moving and ho-hum.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    good read

    Once again Alex takes us on a good chase.grate twist and turns.had a grate time reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    I've read all of Jonathan Kellerman's books, and I was really en

    I've read all of Jonathan Kellerman's books, and I was really enjoying this one and wondering how it was all going to be resolved.  And then he brought in Hollywood celebrities that are seemingly based on a very famous couple and their kids and I just didn't enjoy the rest of the book as much.  Another reviewer hit it on the head when they said Mr. Kellerman got halfway through and then didn't know how to end it  It's like he put together two different books with a bad seam.  I liked the announcement in the end, though..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Struggled to finish this one

    Great characters but not a very interesting plot in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Not his best.

    I think ive read all of his books. This wasnt one if the cant put it down books. I consider him my favorite author. But this wasnt my favorite book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3.5/5 Guilt is the 28th (!) entry in Jonathan Kellerman's long r

    3.5/5
    Guilt is the 28th (!) entry in Jonathan Kellerman's long running Dr. Alex Delaware series. I've been following this series for many years, but the last few books have fallen short for me. But, old habits are hard to break, so I was willing to see what was in store with this latest offering.

    Alex is a psychologist who consults with the LAPD - specifically with Homicide Detective Milo Sturgis. "Most homicides are mundane and on the way to clearance within a day or two. Milo sometimes calls me on 'the interesting ones.'" Milo is an outsider within the ranks, but he has one of the highest clearance ranks in the department. Together this pair make an interesting investigative duo, with each bringing different strengths and outlooks to the cases.

    In Guilt, a new homeowner discovers a metal box buried in the backyard. But, the contents are unexpected - they're the bones of a baby. The remains are determined to be sixty years old, but of course must be investigated. Then a young woman is found dead in a nearby park with another set of infant bones close by - and this time they're more recent.

    Kellerman lets us follow along as Alex and Milo scour the past and pursue the present in search of answers. Alex takes the lead role in Guilt, striking out on his own many times, using his own connections and pursuing threads he believes will lead to answers. I did find sone leaps to leads rather circumstantial and a bit hard to buy, and the title appears to have been drawn from a note that is never fully explained.

    Kellerman is a psychologist himself and the character of Alex is especially well developed because of this background. His conversations and mannerisms ring true. In Guilt, Alex practices more counselling than he has in the last few outings. Milo still remains my favourite character, but he takes more a backseat in Guilt. Blanche the bulldog does seem to steal a lot of scenes as well.

    Reading the latest Jonathan Kellerman is like slipping on a favourite pair of slippers - they're comfortable and you know how they'll fit. Guilt was a good read to keep me entertained on a recent train trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2