Customer Reviews for

Guilt by Association

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

What a book! You must read this book. I always liked Marcia Clark so when I saw this book on the B&N Store Bookshelf,I took a chance and what a happy choice this was. From the first chapter she draws you in and doesn't let go until the end. As well as a great and su...
What a book! You must read this book. I always liked Marcia Clark so when I saw this book on the B&N Store Bookshelf,I took a chance and what a happy choice this was. From the first chapter she draws you in and doesn't let go until the end. As well as a great and suspenseful story line, her characters are so likeable and engaging. Get this book, your favorite lounge chair, your favorits snack and drink and enjoy the ride. Kudos Marcia! This book is a winner.

posted by Johanna197 on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

over hyped

This is not a very good read. Lots of restaurants (at least 7 if I remember), lots of drinking, lots of elevator rides and cross Los Angeles trips not to mention the trips down various corridors. Do we really want to know about the quality of clothes our main character...
This is not a very good read. Lots of restaurants (at least 7 if I remember), lots of drinking, lots of elevator rides and cross Los Angeles trips not to mention the trips down various corridors. Do we really want to know about the quality of clothes our main character wears? Oh yes, the mystery! Simplistic and not very engaging. This book was a bore. A previous reviewer says it is witty. I say it is wittless.

posted by Gram948 on September 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Excellent

    What a book! You must read this book. I always liked Marcia Clark so when I saw this book on the B&N Store Bookshelf,I took a chance and what a happy choice this was. From the first chapter she draws you in and doesn't let go until the end. As well as a great and suspenseful story line, her characters are so likeable and engaging. Get this book, your favorite lounge chair, your favorits snack and drink and enjoy the ride. Kudos Marcia! This book is a winner.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book draws you in and keeps you interested to the end.

    Deputy District Attorney Rachel Knight is a workaholic who handles high-profile cases in the Special Trials Division of the District Attorney's office. She knows how to play every angle to make sure the criminals get punished and the victims have closure. When another DA in her office is murdered in an unsavory crime Rachel starts to realize she was friends with this man, but did she really know him? Going on her gut instinct that all this may look bad for her co-worker, but not everything is as it seems she is determined to solve the crime even after she is told "hands off".

    Rachel is pulled into another crime that has a high profile father with ties to the political powers that be and while she is not thrilled to own this she does the right thing and works it because the victim, a young girl deserves justice. The more time she spends investigating both cases the more nothing seems right with either of them. There are suspects all over the place that have no motive and other people she wants to interview that Rachel can't find. Someone is taking pot shots at her and wants this all to go away but which case is upsetting someone? Rachel keeps hitting walls that have been constructed to stop her from digging too deep but kicking barriers down is what she does before breakfast especially for someone she cares about.

    With her friends and co-workers digging in deep to help her solve this case Rachel may find herself chasing herself into the ground but a good martini might help her resolve anything, well that and a descent night's sleep.

    Marcia Clark has seen all sides of the legal system and I believe in this book she captures the good, bad and awful with all of it. The story is fresh and the dynamics with the characters completely is believable and interesting to watch it being played out.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Guilt By Association

    I was surprise and glad I read the book. I couldn't put it down.
    Waiting for the new book now in May

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    RATING:4.5! A MUST READ CRIME FICTION BY DEBUT AUTHOR MARCIAL CLARK.GUILT BY ASSOCIATION BY MARCIA CLARK!

    GUILT BY ASSOCIATION by Marcia Clark is a suspense fiction set in present Los Angeles,California.The plot is easy to follow,detailed,and will keep you on the edge of your seat. The characters are engaging,easy to follow,will capture your heart. This is a fast paced,action packed story of murder,suspense, public prosecutors,and the legal system. It is written in the first person,from the view of the heroine,Rachel.Rachel,a tenacious,DA of the Special Trials Unit,a small group of a prosecutors who are handpicked to handle toughest,sensitive,and most celebrated cases in the LA District Attorney's Office. When one of her fellow DA's is murdered,questions begin to surface,he was found in a compromising way,leaving suspicion not only about his personal life but also about his legal life.Rachel,and his fellow prosecutors take on his politically charged cases.Rachel enlists one of her friends,Bailey,a tough LAPD detective who works covertly to undertake Jake's murder investigation.They work together to clear Jake's name,expose violence,power,reputations,find the truth,and try not to get killed in the process. This is a powerful story of murder,suspense,violence,and some funny areas.It is written with details of the legal system and the criminal mind.While this is this authors debut,this is an author to watch out for in the future."Guilt by Association" is a must read,fast paced,action paced story full of action,that will keep you turning the pages.If you enjoy suspense,action,murder,the LA under goings,you are going to love "Guilt by Association".This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Mulholland Books,an imprint of Little Brown and Company,a division of Hachette Book Group.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Like Grisham, but better

    Loved it! Great story, believable characters and very little BS! great one liners and humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    over hyped

    This is not a very good read. Lots of restaurants (at least 7 if I remember), lots of drinking, lots of elevator rides and cross Los Angeles trips not to mention the trips down various corridors. Do we really want to know about the quality of clothes our main character wears? Oh yes, the mystery! Simplistic and not very engaging. This book was a bore. A previous reviewer says it is witty. I say it is wittless.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Great Read, you won't want to put it down

    I have read Guilt by Association twice. The first time, I was finished in a day because I needed to finish the story and see what happened. The second read had me looking at settings, dilogue and charactor development and it was all good. Marcia has created a female figure to be relied on. Her friends are hers to be cared for and defended if necessary. I am the typical reader for this genre and I found this to be a great read. Rachel, Toni and Bailey are people I would like to know better. As a new writer in this genre, Marcia has hit a homerun and if you are pick up a book, what more can you ask for; charactors that you want to learn more about and a story that holds you. Guilt by Association delivers on all fronts. Have a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Worth your time!

    This is the second novel I have read by this author and I actually want to read more from this author. It starts out slow but a slow that keeps your interest and builds and then hits you. The kind of hit you that keep your interest in you can’t wait to turn the next page. I like the details as it builds the story. Details about the players helps in explaining the relationships professional or personal. Worth my time and money…great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Highly recommend

    I was surprised to find that I really enjoyed this book. It kept my interest throughout the book. Good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Recommended

    This is the first book I have read of Ms. Clark's. I must say I was pleasantly surprised & will be back for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Excellent read!

    I've read both of Clark's books and am officially a fan! This is a great story, good characters, well written, and humor enoigh to keep you chuckling. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Eds review 7-6

    I liked it a fast read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    Absolutely Recommend

    Very well defined characters lead your through this great story. Great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Destined to be a bestseller--wildly good

    Marcia Clark is going to be a big hit in the world of crime novelists. This blazing fast debut novel has the polish and pace one might expect from a seasoned ranconteur crossed with brilliant editor, but it has the layered depth and suprise only an experienced criminal lawyer can provide. Guilt is destined to be an out-of-the-box bestseller. I suppose that shouldn't surprise anyone who is familiar with Marcia Clark and her work: former district attorney and lead prosecutor on the O.J. Simpson murder case, author of Without a Doubt, and contributor to TV and The Daily Beast. Clark, described in her earlier life as "extremely able and hardworking," applied that same attention here, and didn't rest until she'd nailed the formula for a fast-paced crime novel featuring a body-conscious, justice-driven District Attorney in the L.A. Special Trials Division. As in all good mysteries, Guilt follows the trail of at least two seemingly divergent cases, but also follows the love interests of friendly, sharing, and chatty folks in the major divisions of city crime detection. D.A. Rachel Knight is the central character and first-person narrator who keeps the wise-cracks coming. It is the realistic details of evidentiary proofs, prosecution and defense that ring so true in Guilt, but it is the food choices and clothing descriptions that make it L.A. In this mystery we are treated to gangs, both Latino and Aryan Brotherhood, pornography and prostitution, rape and murder. If it sounds like a lot, you may not be suited to actually work in the D.A.'s office, but you can still enjoy reading about it. This is a very good one for an indulgent weekend on the couch.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense-filled  Guilt by Association by Marcia Clark is a fast

    Suspense-filled 
    Guilt by Association by Marcia Clark is a fast paced mystery/detective novel.




    The book starts out with Knight winning a case in court and going to her office with fellow D.A.'s and friends Toni and Jake for a drink.  Jake leaves first followed by Toni, with Rachel staying longer. As she leaves to walk home to the Biltmore, 6 blocks from the Criminal Courts Building,  she hears sirens. She follows to see what is happening when she sees all the police, firemen, and ambulances in front of a sleazy motel. When she sees Jake on one of the gurneys she is shocked. What is he doing there and what has happened?  The next morning gets worse as it appears to be a murder-suicide. Jake and a young boy, whose nude picture was found in Jake's pocket. Rachel didn't know Jake that well outside of work but she finds this news unbelievable!   Jake's cases are divided up and Rachel is given the rape case of Susan Densmore the 15 year-old daughter of a prominent doctor.  I quickly found myself turning pages as I followed D.A. Rachel Knight  and detective Bailey Keller trying to find the rapist of Susan, and the killer of Jake and Kit - the case that Knight was told to stay away from.  With several twists and turns that left me guessing as to who did what to whom. I have fast become a fan of the Rachel Knight series.




    I highly recommend this book if you like thrillers, suspense and mystery. I received a free copy of this book from Mulholland Books and Net Gallery in exchange for my honest review rather it be good or bad. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    As I knew Marcia Clark only as part of the OJ Simpson case, I ha

    As I knew Marcia Clark only as part of the OJ Simpson case, I had my doubts about this book. Those doubts proved largely unfounded. I enjoyed this birds eye view of the LA DA's office. Even more so, it was a pure pleasure to see Rachel, Bailey, and Toni -- three strong women -- working together to get this done. Rachel is a fascinating, multi-dimensional character, and I look forward to seeing how this series develops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    just OK

    this book did not hold my interest. I kept skipping ahead trying to get to the 'meat' of the plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Nice mystery for chicks

    Clark has a gift for developing characters and plots that lend themselves to very enjoyable reading experiences. She has a chatty, informal way of describing people, and her strange plots, which twist unpredictably, keep me reading - happily. People who "enjoy" murder mysteries - those among us who know right from wrong, cheer for the good guys and applaud when they win, but who don't take things too seriously, will likely be happy they read Guilt By Association.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book.  Kept me reading, was intelligent, n

    I really enjoyed this book.  Kept me reading, was intelligent, not too sappy with the romantic interests.  I will definitely read another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Safe bet

    Clark always turns out a sure suspense novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4