BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Guilt by Degrees

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

GUILT BY DEGREES by Marcia Clark is an interesting crime thrille

GUILT BY DEGREES by Marcia Clark is an interesting crime thriller/fiction. D.A. Rachel Knight returns with another fast paced thriller. See,”Guilty By Association”,but “Guilt By Degrees” can be read as a stand alone. Ride through the L.A. court s...
GUILT BY DEGREES by Marcia Clark is an interesting crime thriller/fiction. D.A. Rachel Knight returns with another fast paced thriller. See,”Guilty By Association”,but “Guilt By Degrees” can be read as a stand alone. Ride through the L.A. court system with Rachel Knight. Full of murder,secrets,and romance with harrowing suspense and witty banter. Come on a ride with Rachel as she and Detective Baily Keller locate a killer and work through the L.A. court system. A sit on the edge of your seat thriller. A nail biting story from the first page to the last. A not to miss thriller/mystery. Received for an honest review from the publisher.Details can be found at Mulholland Books,the authors website, and My Book Addiction and More.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: Mild: Mild detailed scenes of intimacy,mild violence or profanity
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on May 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

If I can make the case, will that close the deal?

Rachel Knight has been successfully running from the ghosts of the past that haunt her every day. She is at the top of her legal game in the Los Angeles DA’s office, but still holds back when it comes to her personal life even with her best friends. When Rachel picks ...
Rachel Knight has been successfully running from the ghosts of the past that haunt her every day. She is at the top of her legal game in the Los Angeles DA’s office, but still holds back when it comes to her personal life even with her best friends. When Rachel picks up a case that every other lawyer wanted to kick to the curb, the unexpected drawback is the tragic memories she kept under control would come back. Rachel has to take control of her emotions and her life. Right now, every ounce of her inner strength is being called up to keep her from jumping off the emotional deep end.

When Rachel took on the case to find the murderer of a homeless man, her fellow lawyers in the DA’s office dismiss her. The timeline for results is short so she pulls in her friends on the police force and together they walk through what on the surface appears to be a random murder on the streets of Los Angeles but in reality is anything but that. Rachel digs deep to get answers and when they start popping even Rachel is shocked by the turn of events and the undercurrent that is pulling her toward terrifying results. The heartless crime that drove the start of all this him to this life is even more disturbing than anything Rachel has ever reviewed.

Then the tide turns completely against Rachel and every demon that has ever knocked on her subconscious comes barging through the door Rachel knows she will finish this case but at what cost. It no longer is a game to find out what happened to someone else as much as it is keeping herself out of the morgue and when evil is looking for you is there any place you can hide?

Marcia Clark writes stories that are filled with mesmerizing details, characters you relate to, and an abundance of unbelievable plot diversity. Ms. Clark knows how to give the reader a proper balance of startling information added to take your breath away revelations.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    GUILT BY DEGREES by Marcia Clark is an interesting crime thrille

    GUILT BY DEGREES by Marcia Clark is an interesting crime thriller/fiction. D.A. Rachel Knight returns with another fast paced thriller. See,”Guilty By Association”,but “Guilt By Degrees” can be read as a stand alone. Ride through the L.A. court system with Rachel Knight. Full of murder,secrets,and romance with harrowing suspense and witty banter. Come on a ride with Rachel as she and Detective Baily Keller locate a killer and work through the L.A. court system. A sit on the edge of your seat thriller. A nail biting story from the first page to the last. A not to miss thriller/mystery. Received for an honest review from the publisher.Details can be found at Mulholland Books,the authors website, and My Book Addiction and More.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: Mild: Mild detailed scenes of intimacy,mild violence or profanity
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    Guilt by Degrees was a well-written entertaining mystery. When I

    Guilt by Degrees was a well-written entertaining mystery. When I started the book I wasn't sure I would like it as I had not read anything by Ms. Clark, but it was a very good read. DA Rachel Knight takes over a case from another prosecutor who could.not care less about the case and so it would not be dismissed. Rachel is a member of the Special Trials Unit a department that is highly criticized due to the fact that they get all the high profile cases. She also has issues in her personal life from childhood. Her boyfriend Graden, does a background check and learns her secret and her two friends Bailey and Toni help her with the investigation. Rachel and company get shot at,beat up and were involved in a traffic accident meant to kill. This was a wonderfully developed story and I loved the way the characters were created. I highly recommend this book.

    Thanks to Little,Brown and Company and Net Galley.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Great book!

    I thought this book would be a novelty because of Marcia Clark and OJ. But imagine my surprise when it turned out to be a really great story! Kept me turning pages to find out what happens next. And the humor kept me smiling all the way throigh. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great dettective story. Lots of surprises.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    highly recommend

    good story...keeps your interest

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommended - holds your interest.

    Well written. Would read another book by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Fun reading - if you like murder!

    I really can't explain why I enjoy reading Marcia Clark's stuff so much, other than I like her characters, their interplay and quirky, not-so-obvious situations and plot twists. Guilt By Degrees is one of those books that you pick up for diversion and stay with because it's just plain fun to read. If you're looking for intellectual stimulation, stay away; but if you want to be engaged and have fun in the process, read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommend

    This really help my interest I would like to read more from Clark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    great bppl

    Can hardly wait to read more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Mystery lover

    Ms. Clark is adept at writing suspense fiction. Her characters are relatable and realistic. She sheds light on the accolades that public servants deserve in their pursuit to uphold and promote justice. The story unfolds well over the backdrop of Southern California. I really enjoyed the strengths and weaknesses of Rachel Knight and her colleagues and hope there are more cases to be solved in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    Intelligent read. well written and good story and characters.

    Intelligent read. well written and good story and characters. No comment on her performance in the OJ trial except that if I knew first who she was, I wouldn't have read it. Best to keep that off your resume cause mystery and thriller writing are truly her best calling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Guilt by Degrees

    The opening pages of this new novel by Marcia Clark are attention-getting, to say the least: One ax murder [of an LAPD cop, no less], in the brief Prologue, immediately followed [albeit chronologically two years later] by the stabbing death of a homeless man on a busy LA street, in broad daylight. While the identity of the first victim is quite clear, there is no identification as to the second, nor are there any witnesses who saw the killer.

    This is the second book featuring 34-year-old Special Trials deputy DA Rachel Knight, who takes a somewhat circuitous path to leading the investigation into the death of the homeless man. Also returning are her best buddies: Fellow ADA Toni LaCollier, and detective Bailey Keller. Together they make quite a team.

    The reader is teased by interspersed chapters which switch from the 1st-person narrative of Rachel Knight to a third-person pov of a mysterious woman with extraordinary skills, whose part in the plot is not soon revealed. The novel unfolds in somewhat leisurely fashion, until the pace picks up in the second half. In addition to the police procedural, the reader does learn quite a lot about Rachel’s preferences in alcoholic beverages, and discovers that she possesses extensive knowledge of good jazz.

    The author’s books have been compared to those of best-seller Linda Fairstein [who herself has a new book just recently released], for some obvious reasons: Each was a nationally well-known Federal prosecutor in two of the largest cities in the US [NY and LA], and the even more obvious fact that each was lead prosecutor in two of the highest-profile trials in modern criminal history. To this reader, although the author’s vast experience as a Federal prosecutor is much in evidence, she still has a while to go before achieving Ms. Fairstein’s high level of writing expertise, but the book is an interesting and well-plotted novel sure to keep the reader involved to the end, and I will look forward to the next entry in the Rachel Knight series.

    I would recommend that the reader not read the flyleaf, which to me included much too much information. One further note: One cannot help but feel that the author’s observation that “no prosecutor likes to lose . . . the typical anger we all feel when a guilty defendant walks out the door . . . was much deeper, much more personal” seems very personal indeed.

    [I would have given this one 3-1/2 stars had I been able to do that]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2