Customer Reviews for

Guilty

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Riveting nonstop suspense

In Karen Robard's latest Guilty, you meet up and coming ADA Kate White and super cop homicide detective Tom Braga. Kate has lots of secrets and Tom wants to uncover them all because some of them may kill her. This book is nonstop, action, seduction,suspense just...
In Karen Robard's latest Guilty, you meet up and coming ADA Kate White and super cop homicide detective Tom Braga. Kate has lots of secrets and Tom wants to uncover them all because some of them may kill her. This book is nonstop, action, seduction,suspense just name your favorite verb. It's keep you on the edge of your seat spine tingling reading. This is definitely a must read for all you lovers of great romantic suspense.

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring!

The first part is fantastic but it seems to go on way too long without much happening. I found myself very irritated at the main character. I just found it going way too slowly for my taste and not at all typical of Karen Robards' other books.

posted by Felicia92 on April 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    Boring!

    The first part is fantastic but it seems to go on way too long without much happening. I found myself very irritated at the main character.
    I just found it going way too slowly for my taste and not at all typical of Karen Robards' other books.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Average

    Very formulaic, stereotypical characterization, played plot...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Annoying

    This book simply annoyed me. The main character was supposed to be an intelligent, competent woman who made a life for herself in spite of a terrible childhood. And yet, the author has the "heroine" making one bad decision after another. Worse than that - although the heroine is supposed to be an attorney, a prosecutor - these bad decisions involve aiding and abetting criminals while hiding the truth from law enforcement. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone who likes the main characters to be likeable and honest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    I had a hard time connecting with the main character of this sto

    I had a hard time connecting with the main character of this story. The story begins with Kat as a teenager who gets caught up with a bad crowd and bad choices that result in the death of an off-duty police officer. Kat pulls her life together and in spite of being a single parent, she puts herself through law school and is new prosecutor. Ordinarily, this would be a success story, but when her past catches up to her, Kat begins telling lie after lie, even when she is blatantly confronted, she continues to lie. I quickly became annoyed with her and had a hard time feeling much sympathy for her. The story improved when Kat’s son, Ben, is in mortal danger from some very bad people and Kat finally comes clean to Tom.




    I really liked Ben and Tom. I thought Ben was very precocious and adorable. Tom was a great character who is carrying some very painful baggage, but manages to keep his heart open to the possibility of a new relationship. In spite of the lies and deception Kat throws at his feet, he continues to be there for her.




    Overall, this story was just OK for me. The ending fell flat with little closure and a lot of gaps. Fans of romantic suspense may be able to overlook the lack of character development and enjoy the story but if you are a reader who needs the characters in their stories to be realistic, then this may not be the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Sleep....er

    I really would not recommend this book to anyone that is serious and or excited about their books, it's starts off ok, but quickly turns flat and seems to go on forever... I finally gave up w/a dozen or so pages to go, went to the last chapter to see if they lived happily ever after...
    Karen Robards is a much better writer then this, not sure what happened w/this book ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    A Bit Irritating...

    How could a LAWYER not know that she could get out of this situation without compromising herself? I liked the character of Tom well enough, but Kate was just plain stupid! Any lawyer worth her salt would know that the circumstances she was allowing herself to be blackmailed with in no way had to ruin her life or make her make such idiotic choices. I know this is supposed to be romantic fiction, but the story should be at least slightly plausible -- otherwise it's just irritating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2008

    not worth the time

    This book was really disappointing. I haven't enjoyed her latest offerings. Although I liked the character of Tom, and I thought their relationship had potential, the plot just didn't make sense. Kate is supposed to be a legal expert and didn't realize that she could strike a deal? Another thing- she didn't even see the shooting happen, so I didn't totally understand why she would listen to this slimball character. Do what you have to do to get out of the situation but then fess up. I just couldn't get over that. None of the story line rang true. Granted, this is a romance but still . . . it has to be somewhat believable. Or at least make the plot good enough and the romance good enough that the holes don't matter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1