Customer Reviews for

Guilty Pleasure (Bound Hearts Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lora Leigh does it again!!

I won't go into a detailed synopses of the story, the plot is basically the same as all the `Bound Hearts'; a coming together, a three-way, and then the HEA. In the early Ellora's Cave books, the menage was brought in after the h/h had established a relationship, as a ...
I won't go into a detailed synopses of the story, the plot is basically the same as all the `Bound Hearts'; a coming together, a three-way, and then the HEA. In the early Ellora's Cave books, the menage was brought in after the h/h had established a relationship, as a way of enhancing their sex life, but separate from their `love for each other' relationship. Three-ways were understood to be part of their relationship, but not the sum total of it, unless, as in the case of two of the BH's, it was to be a permanent menage.

SPOILERISH........


The book was good, if you like LL, you will really like this story. I did, even though I had a few issues with it. One of the things that bothered me about this book was the same as in the last couple of BH books; that the three-way was established before the relationship was established, and continued throughout the book for virtually every sexual encounter. I understand that this is what these books are about, but the lack of a foothold in the romance of Khalid and Marty with each other made the menages a bit off-putting. It was as if the titillation of the three-way took precedence over the relationship between the h/h. The other thing that really bothered me was the unrelenting nasty talk during the sex scenes. Both the men kept talking and talking about what they wanted the other to do to Marty's sweet little body while the other watched, and in really base, graphic language. This seemed so at odds with the tender, suave, and compassionate man and lover that Khalid had been when he was the third in previous books. Once again, the titillation factor, but it just didn't fit the previously established urbane, sophisticated character of Khalid.

I love LL's books and Khalid has always been the favorite of mine. I was so happy to see him get his own book, even if some of the things in this story seemed (to me) to be out of character for him. There have only been two of LL's characters I have never really cared for, Cade August (I felt like he was a creepy slut-puppy bent on banging all the wives not because of the brothers `compulsion', but just because he could); and Chase Falladay (at the end of his book when he mused that he would like to have Kia with a different man each time, I'm sorry, but that just grossed me out. What a sleaze. Was he her lover or her pimp?).

The story itself was really good, who would have pegged Khalid for an FBI mole? This action story was a bit more like her SEALS/Ops books than a BH. It is not a permanent menage, for anyone who is wondering. I think Shayne is being set up for his own book soon. (Alyssa?) The story is exciting, and there is a definite HEA. All in all, I highly recommend it, especially to those who have been bothered by a couple of LL's books lately that have seemed to be rushed to print. She is back in rare form, and I really look forward to her Special Ops, Nauti, and Breed books coming out in the next few months.

posted by earthmotherNG on January 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

DON'T BOTHER!!!

I read other reviews about the grammatical errors, but just figured they were from disgruntled english teachers. I WAS WRONG!!! Every other page, (no exaggeration!), had misspelled words, wrong words, missing words, duplicate words, continuity errors, etc.. It went beyo...
I read other reviews about the grammatical errors, but just figured they were from disgruntled english teachers. I WAS WRONG!!! Every other page, (no exaggeration!), had misspelled words, wrong words, missing words, duplicate words, continuity errors, etc.. It went beyond distracting & annoying. I finally started counting the pages with errors when I was about 50 pages in.. 56 pages, & that's of the 176 page total using my expanded page view!

Where was the proof reader? Editor? Is there no quality control with ebooks? With the publisher? Does B&N not worry about customer sat?

The story had such possibilities with a great build-up through the other books in the series, but was totally ruined by the distractions of the errors & having to re-read sentences trying to figure out the intent of the writer. I won't purchase another book by this author & am not in a hurry to purchase another ebook either.

posted by thisoldbroad on June 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    DON'T BOTHER!!!

    I read other reviews about the grammatical errors, but just figured they were from disgruntled english teachers. I WAS WRONG!!! Every other page, (no exaggeration!), had misspelled words, wrong words, missing words, duplicate words, continuity errors, etc.. It went beyond distracting & annoying. I finally started counting the pages with errors when I was about 50 pages in.. 56 pages, & that's of the 176 page total using my expanded page view!

    Where was the proof reader? Editor? Is there no quality control with ebooks? With the publisher? Does B&N not worry about customer sat?

    The story had such possibilities with a great build-up through the other books in the series, but was totally ruined by the distractions of the errors & having to re-read sentences trying to figure out the intent of the writer. I won't purchase another book by this author & am not in a hurry to purchase another ebook either.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    Khalid deserved so much better

    I have really enjoyed Ms. Leigh's Bound Heart series. Some books are better then others. She has started to really flesh out her stories, compared to the earliest, almost short story, length in the series. When she really invests her time and emotions into her characters,the books come alive with sizzling passion and characters that stay with you, long after the last page is shut and that keeps you reading until the wee hours of the morning. My favorites in the series so far are Forbidden Pleasure and Wicked Pleasure. I wish I could have added this story to that list. Khalid has been a particularly favorite secondary character that I have been eagerly awaiting "his story". When I found out it was his turn finally, I eagerly wrote down the release date and actually went down to the bookstore the day it came out, which is rare for me. I got it home and read it last night. When I was done, I felt sad that Khalid and Marty's story was left flat and will now only be a bridge for other characters to be introduced. I don't know if Ms. Leigh was disconnected from his story when she sat down to write it or if she was pressured to finish on a deadline, but the characters never make that jump from paper to coming alive in your mind. Plus, as in a previous review I have to agree that this Khalid is not the same man as in her previous books. I thought if I had to hear him use the endearment "precious" one more time I might have to jump in there shake him up to find the real man. Where is the buildup of sexual tension? Where was the mischief and humor (as seen in Ian and Courtney's story)? Where was the sensualist and lover in Chase and Kia's story? I like that her books, in this series, are becoming longer, more detailed and plot driven, but I would have rather waited longer and been given the Khalid we had been expecting. It's unfortunate it cannot be "redone" and that Khalid's story will never be better. It's a decent book and its part of the series, so if you are a fan you are going to want to read it regardless of these reviews. Just set aside your expectations though and hope she feels more about her next characters. If you are a new reader, then I would suggest you read some of her earlier titles in the series before you get to this one. Still a fan here ... just disappointed and wondering what the next book in the series will bring.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    Lora Leigh does it again!!

    I won't go into a detailed synopses of the story, the plot is basically the same as all the `Bound Hearts'; a coming together, a three-way, and then the HEA. In the early Ellora's Cave books, the menage was brought in after the h/h had established a relationship, as a way of enhancing their sex life, but separate from their `love for each other' relationship. Three-ways were understood to be part of their relationship, but not the sum total of it, unless, as in the case of two of the BH's, it was to be a permanent menage.

    SPOILERISH........


    The book was good, if you like LL, you will really like this story. I did, even though I had a few issues with it. One of the things that bothered me about this book was the same as in the last couple of BH books; that the three-way was established before the relationship was established, and continued throughout the book for virtually every sexual encounter. I understand that this is what these books are about, but the lack of a foothold in the romance of Khalid and Marty with each other made the menages a bit off-putting. It was as if the titillation of the three-way took precedence over the relationship between the h/h. The other thing that really bothered me was the unrelenting nasty talk during the sex scenes. Both the men kept talking and talking about what they wanted the other to do to Marty's sweet little body while the other watched, and in really base, graphic language. This seemed so at odds with the tender, suave, and compassionate man and lover that Khalid had been when he was the third in previous books. Once again, the titillation factor, but it just didn't fit the previously established urbane, sophisticated character of Khalid.

    I love LL's books and Khalid has always been the favorite of mine. I was so happy to see him get his own book, even if some of the things in this story seemed (to me) to be out of character for him. There have only been two of LL's characters I have never really cared for, Cade August (I felt like he was a creepy slut-puppy bent on banging all the wives not because of the brothers `compulsion', but just because he could); and Chase Falladay (at the end of his book when he mused that he would like to have Kia with a different man each time, I'm sorry, but that just grossed me out. What a sleaze. Was he her lover or her pimp?).

    The story itself was really good, who would have pegged Khalid for an FBI mole? This action story was a bit more like her SEALS/Ops books than a BH. It is not a permanent menage, for anyone who is wondering. I think Shayne is being set up for his own book soon. (Alyssa?) The story is exciting, and there is a definite HEA. All in all, I highly recommend it, especially to those who have been bothered by a couple of LL's books lately that have seemed to be rushed to print. She is back in rare form, and I really look forward to her Special Ops, Nauti, and Breed books coming out in the next few months.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Like the book, but it was not my favorite.

    I think I have waited so long for this one to come out that I was hoping it would be as good the previous ones...I was dissapointed. I love the Bound Hearts series very much.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Did Lora Leigh REALLY Write This?

    I enjoyed the Bound Hearts, series . . . until now! Lora Leigh has some downs in her writing, and she is something of a prolific writer, so one cannot expect every book to be five or four stars, or even three stars but this! I'd give this a minus five stars if possible. I hate being forced to even give it one star. I was anxiously awaiting Kahlid's story, sure it would be my favorite. So not! I wrote a letter to Lora Leigh expressing my great frustration with the inconsistent elements in the story, the lack of her usual spark, and the inexcusable publication of a rough draft that never made it through spell check or grammar check! It was painful to read this book. I offered to edit for her because she so obviously needs someone to help. I would die of embarrassment to have my name appear as the author of such an abortive story, especially when one's readers are expecting it to be at least as good as it's 10 predecessor stories. There is basically nothing good about this book. I have a difficult time believing that Lora Leigh actually wrote this. One thing is definitely certain, it never passed the eyes of an editor and if it did, that editor should move directly to the unemployment line, not pass go, etc., etc., etc. I feel like buying this book was like being taken advantage of in a "shell game".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good read - not her best but pretty good.

    Good read - not her best but pretty good. It had the Lora Leigh trademarks - hot sex with macho guys and lots of action - but it felt like half a book. Perhaps it was just that the end felt rushed.

    On the plus side - Khalid and Shayne are both great characters, classic hero material. I liked Khalid fighting his own protective nature to let her be herself, and adventurous, risk-taking agent. Shayne is certainly being lined up as a future hero. I liked the heroine, Marty. She was determined to be her own person.

    Plot wise I had some serious issues with the ending. All sorts of highly trained folks are guarding the house [including checking the interior] yet a dozen bad guys manage to get in and stage a major gun battle - and no one notices.

    Books in this series tend to be chronological - so it would it be better to read them in order. The last three Pleasure books are especially closely knit; Khalid is a major sub-character in Only Pleasure.

    As it is part of the Bound Hearts series - menage sex is pretty much a given...

    Bound Hearts
    1. Surrender (2003)
    2. Submission / Seduction (omnibus) (2004)
    3. Wicked Sacrifice: Wicked Intent / Sacrifice (omnibus) (2006)
    4. Forbidden Pleasure (2007)
    4. Shameless Embraces: Embraced / Shameless (omnibus) (2007)
    5. Wicked Pleasure (2008)
    6. Only Pleasure (2009)
    7. Guilty Pleasure (2010)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terribly Disappointing

    The characters within this story were so poorly developed that I almost convinced myself that Lora Leigh couldn't have written this. I've read most of her books and loved almost every single one of them, except for Bengal's Heart, which I felt suffered from similar poor character development and somewhat lazy plot development. That book's flaws weren't as glaring as this book, though. It's really a shame because this book could have been truly wonderful and Khalid deserved a great story. All the elements were there, but it's clear that none of them were given enough time or maybe not enough interest from the author. I just wanted to get the book over with and even began skipping pages. I almost always reread Lora Leigh's books, but I won't be doing so with this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Good story, bad editing

    Bad word choices, misspelled words or incomplete words, random punctuation- all these things are very distracting from the story. Especially when you have to read a sentence a couple times to find the correct word that you need to make it make sense. Part way through it seems like they re-wrote a section without remembering what had been written before and then ended up right back with the proper story line. I was looking forward to Khalid's story. But with all the editing issues, it was hard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This was not a well written book, but the sex scenes were ok.

    Guilty Pleasure is perhaps the worst book that I have read by author Lora Leigh. It is definitly the worst of the Bound Series. The plot is choppy, as is most of the book. Even the sex scenes lack a continuity to them that her previous books possessed. The other books in this series allowed me to form attachments to the main characters. I had been looking forward to this book after reading Only Pleasure. And to be honest I felt more empathy for Khalid when he was a minor chartacter in Only Pleasure than I did in Guilty Pleasure when he was the main character. Even the menages failed to draw me to the "third" as the other books did. I could care less what happens Shayne.

    If you liked Guilty Pleasure, and thought the sex was hot, try Wicked Pleasure or Forbidden Pleasure. These were much more entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lora Leigh provides a pleasurable DC sex and bullets frolic.

    FBI Division Chief Vince Deerfield yells at agent Marty Mathews for failing to prove that Khalid el-Hamid Mustafa, illegitimate son of a terrorist sheik, is a terrorist too. Marty insists Khalid lives a life of decadence as a major player in the DC area sex Club, but his lone transgression is excessive sexual proclivity including with her friends as a third (see Only Pleasure). Vince accuses her of incompetence and mouthing off to his superior, her godfather FBI Director Zachary Jennings as he pulls her off the case. She retorts back the failure was his for assigning her for two years to nothing. Scornfully he tells her she can have a month vacation; her first in three years.

    Marty has wanted Khalid, but remained ethical loyal and true to the FBI credo; with the case closed Marty plans to make her move. Khalid has wanted Marty since he first met her through mutual acquaintances. However, his lineage makes him a target, something he will not allow to happen to the woman he thinks he could easily fall in love with; as he knows what happened to a woman he cherished once before. He never counted on Marty who insists on him and Club member Shayne as their third.

    The story line is fast-paced from the opening confrontation between Vince and Marty and never slows down as she plans to use her month to make love with her former suspect and a third IAW Club rules. Similar in sexual tone to previous Wicked Pleasures entries, fans of the erotic "Pleasure" Club romances will relish the latest romp as Khalid's past brings suspense to an enjoyable tale. Newcomers will need time to adapt to the Club rules as Lora Leigh provides a pleasurable DC sex and bullets frolic.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    highly recommended

    held me from start to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    I finished this book and felt like something was missing....the

    I finished this book and felt like something was missing....the ending!  Why would the story end with Marty laying on a bed, bleeding from a bullet wound? What about Deerfield?
     Never got to hear what happened to him. Very frustrating to spend $7.99 on a book and not get a proper ending to the story. So many characters left unfinished. Not worth the money paid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    This is a great book that will offer you mystery, suspense, and

    This is a great book that will offer you mystery, suspense, and romance. However, this does delve in to a world of atypical love, and I found it hard to get in to the love scene's toward the end of the book. And, if you can't get in to them, it was hard to follow the "what if's and wonderings' the main character went on and on about. I would recommend this book as a "rainy day" book.  The other reviews that discuss grammatical errors... well, I would chalk that up to bad publishing.  The story is still good and definitely worth the time to read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    THRILLED! It was kind of a slow start but it really takes off ab

    THRILLED! It was kind of a slow start but it really takes off about page 12 :-) I have read alot of lora leigh books, so I am learning who the charaters are etc. I am half way thru this and who should appear but Mac MacCoy from forbidden pleasures, my very first lora leigh book. Marty is a FBI agent with a smart mouth, an a deep passion for Khalid. So hot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    This book was good til the frickin ending!

    This book was good til the frickin ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!

    Lora Leigh is one of my all time favorite authors, she is exciting to read, her stories are HOT!!!! and you're on an adventure with each story she introduces you to. You will love Lora as much as I do! Trust me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    I enjoyed the ENTIRE Pleasure Series! Every story was captivati

    I enjoyed the ENTIRE Pleasure Series! Every story was captivating and hot! Not worried about grammatical errors just a good story which all of them are!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Good continuation of the series, if you want Khalid' s story dont miss out!

    I put off getting this book because of the bad reviews, but my curiosity won out. I liked the story and thought the comments about typos were over the top. Yes I noticed some typos and a spot where whole words were left out, but Ive noticed that happens when somebooks are made into ebooks and are not all the authors fault. They definately did not hinder my ability to finally enjoy Khalid's story. I do feel like it ended a little sudden. An epilogue would have been nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Book was ok. I thought Forbidden Pleaseures was much better.

    Book was ok. I thought Forbidden Pleaseures was much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I RECOMMEND IT

    GOOD STORY LINE WITH LOTS OF EROTICISM THROWN IN TOO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12