Customer Reviews for

Guilty Pleasures (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 2119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1167)

4 Star

(501)

3 Star

(261)

2 Star

(103)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Great Start

The first book of the Anita Blake series was highly entertaining. I picked up this book originally because of Twilight withdrawal. The only thing Twilight and Guilty Pleasures have in common is the fact there are humans, vampires, and werewolves. That's about it. This b...
The first book of the Anita Blake series was highly entertaining. I picked up this book originally because of Twilight withdrawal. The only thing Twilight and Guilty Pleasures have in common is the fact there are humans, vampires, and werewolves. That's about it. This book was positively addicting. Anita Blake is the type of characeter you hope to find in books. She is edgy, witty, and accessible. I wasn't expecting to be sucked into Laurell K. Hamilton's world so easily. After reading this, I immediately had to continue with the other books. I read nothing but the first nine in the Anita Blake series, and still working on reading through the rest.
I reccommend this to anyone who like vampires, or werewolves. Anyone who is a Twilight fan or fan of similiar titles. As well as anyone who wants a fairly quick read that's simply entertaining.

posted by FDRoe_282 on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

47 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series

Ok--I do love vampires. Werewolves, too. So I was really excited to read this series and was left disappointed. The plot was all over the place with major chunks left out or it simply wasn't cohesive. Anita's character made decisions that made no sense and I found m...
Ok--I do love vampires. Werewolves, too. So I was really excited to read this series and was left disappointed. The plot was all over the place with major chunks left out or it simply wasn't cohesive. Anita's character made decisions that made no sense and I found myself skipping over some of the big "fight" scenes because they lost my interest--the gore factor was superfluous and the fact that Anita got attacked every time she returned to her apartment got old very quickly. And all the taglines for this series promised it would be sexy and sultry, but those scenes were few and far between, or not even present. I bought & read the first 4 books and they didn't get any better, so I'm done. Kresley Cole and Gina Showalter write far more interesting, sexy, & funny fantasy/romance books--I would recommend those over the Anita Blake series.

posted by 316219 on November 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series

    Ok--I do love vampires. Werewolves, too. So I was really excited to read this series and was left disappointed. The plot was all over the place with major chunks left out or it simply wasn't cohesive. Anita's character made decisions that made no sense and I found myself skipping over some of the big "fight" scenes because they lost my interest--the gore factor was superfluous and the fact that Anita got attacked every time she returned to her apartment got old very quickly. And all the taglines for this series promised it would be sexy and sultry, but those scenes were few and far between, or not even present. I bought & read the first 4 books and they didn't get any better, so I'm done. Kresley Cole and Gina Showalter write far more interesting, sexy, & funny fantasy/romance books--I would recommend those over the Anita Blake series.

    47 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Guilty Displeasure!

    This was my first foray into Laurell K. Hamilton's work. I will not be persuing her work in the future. I am a big fan of both the paranormal and vampire genres, but I could not get past page 50 and ended up giving the book away in disgust. This book was very dark, and gross to the point where I couldn't stand it-and I'm a medical professional for pete's sake! When I have time to read, it is supposed to be a pleasurable experience, but this book and it's themes were far too noir for me to find any enjoyment in them. I know that Laurell is quite a prolific author and has many fans, but I will not join them. I just can't "go there". I am going to stick to Lara Adrian's Midnight Breed Series; this is about how dark I am willing to go. Her characters are intoxicating, the plotlines engaging and the writing is brilliant!

    19 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Couldn't finish

    I tried to push through and made it to page 80 before giving up I just didn' t find th main character intereating at all and at timesI found myself to be lost and trying to figure out what in th heck had just happened! I read lots of different genres and I loveparanormal book but this one wasn' t worth the three dollars I spent on it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    This was one of the worst vampire novels I've read. Serious typo

    This was one of the worst vampire novels I've read. Serious typos, major character flaws literally no action. Extremely disappointed. I won't even read the next book, that's how bad this one was! Don't waste your money or time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Hate it

    I have nothing nice to say about this book. Wish I could get my money back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    I figured that with so many books in this series, there just had to be something to it. I was 100% absolutely dissapointed. This was a very slow read and Hamilton was just all over the place. I did not enjoy this book at all and only finished it so I could move on to the second book in the hopes that it would be better-- IT'S NOT. Everything was so repetitive. Characters were popping up all over the place with no background history. Poor structure....and what's her deal with sweating. It seem's like sweat dripping from some body part was noted in every scene. WE GET IT, ITS HOT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Weird

    The title sums it up. A few times I had to reread sections to understand what the author meant. Not a bad book, just weird. I have not downloaded any of her other books if that tells you anything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Don't waste your time or $

    I heard so many good things about the anita blake series so i picked it up. Well I have to say it was terrible! I can barely write a review because i have no idea what the H*** i just read. It was forced, jumbled, out of left field, no explanations, just horrible. one of the worst books i have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2010

    Don't bother

    Truly horrible book. If you like quality reading, no matter the subject matter, don't bother reading this. I gave up half way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Poorly written

    I bought this book because I enjoyed the Sookie Stackhouse novels and thought this might be similar. However, I did not enjoy these books at all. I found the characters to be uninteresting and the writing horrible. Not that this was a reason to give it a bad score, but the fact that they were written in the 90s only made them worse. When I imagine a kicka-- vampire-slayer, she's not wearing a fanny pack and acid wash jeans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hated it

    This book was so boring. It took everything I had just to finish it. So if you want to fall asleep this is the perfect book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I know that Laurell K. Hamilton is a pioneer in urban fantasy but I just didn't like the book. Maybe it was my mood when I read it... I just could not have cared less what happened.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    I personally found this book to be very slow and boring would no

    I personally found this book to be very slow and boring would not recommend. And there was very little action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Not worth it

    Go read somrhing else this is a little book with no background and meaning. I sugesset Black Silk it is a steamy book with a shapeshifter and some great details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    NO! I read this book because a friend recommended it and I was S

    NO! I read this book because a friend recommended it and I was SERIOUSLY disappointed! The plot is predictable, character development is lacking, and the writing is just bad. Half the time I was confused and wondering why- if Anita is supposed to be such a "tough chick"- why is she screaming and cowering in a corner. Maybe the series gets better and things make more sense as the stories continue, but I'm not interested in finding out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5