Customer Reviews for

Guilty Pleasures (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 2114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1164)

4 Star

(501)

3 Star

(261)

2 Star

(103)

1 Star

(85)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Great Start

The first book of the Anita Blake series was highly entertaining. I picked up this book originally because of Twilight withdrawal. The only thing Twilight and Guilty Pleasures have in common is the fact there are humans, vampires, and werewolves. That's about it. This b...
The first book of the Anita Blake series was highly entertaining. I picked up this book originally because of Twilight withdrawal. The only thing Twilight and Guilty Pleasures have in common is the fact there are humans, vampires, and werewolves. That's about it. This book was positively addicting. Anita Blake is the type of characeter you hope to find in books. She is edgy, witty, and accessible. I wasn't expecting to be sucked into Laurell K. Hamilton's world so easily. After reading this, I immediately had to continue with the other books. I read nothing but the first nine in the Anita Blake series, and still working on reading through the rest.
I reccommend this to anyone who like vampires, or werewolves. Anyone who is a Twilight fan or fan of similiar titles. As well as anyone who wants a fairly quick read that's simply entertaining.

posted by FDRoe_282 on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series

Ok--I do love vampires. Werewolves, too. So I was really excited to read this series and was left disappointed. The plot was all over the place with major chunks left out or it simply wasn't cohesive. Anita's character made decisions that made no sense and I found m...
Ok--I do love vampires. Werewolves, too. So I was really excited to read this series and was left disappointed. The plot was all over the place with major chunks left out or it simply wasn't cohesive. Anita's character made decisions that made no sense and I found myself skipping over some of the big "fight" scenes because they lost my interest--the gore factor was superfluous and the fact that Anita got attacked every time she returned to her apartment got old very quickly. And all the taglines for this series promised it would be sexy and sultry, but those scenes were few and far between, or not even present. I bought & read the first 4 books and they didn't get any better, so I'm done. Kresley Cole and Gina Showalter write far more interesting, sexy, & funny fantasy/romance books--I would recommend those over the Anita Blake series.

posted by 316219 on November 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2010

    Blah!

    I was really excited to read this book and get into another fun series. I love the Sookie Stackhouse books by Charlaine Harris and thought this series would be similar. I was SO WRONG! The story never caught my attention. The dialogue came across as forced and cheesy at times and I felt as if characters came out of no where with no introduction and then left again with no explanation. It just felt disjointed. I hate not finished a book so I forced myself to finish it but needless to say, I won't be continuing with the series.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    While Guilty Pleasures (and it's accompanying sequels) helped sh

    While Guilty Pleasures (and it's accompanying sequels) helped shape the urban fantasy genre, the novel just isn't good.

    The characters are very poorly written, the decisions they make little to no sense and the dialogue is cringe worthy. The author spends far too much time trying to make the main character clever and not enough time trying to make anything, anybody says sensible.

    The plot has no focus, spending the first half trying to be a mystery novel, in which the protagonist bounces from one area to another for reasons only apparent to herself, then the last half is paraded around as an action/thriller with some of the most dry fighting sequences I can recollect reading.

    Bottom line, your characters should be memorable and should make you want to build a relationship with them. The characters found in Anita Blake are either too bland or too over the top and at the end of the day, you just right don't care what happens to them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    They could have been better.

    I have all of them in this Anita Blake Series and I just don't like all the sex. Im not a prude or any thing but when you get bored reading it all you know its to much. Now I love the Princess Meredith series. She did a good job in those ones. I usually feel if there is too much sex I can just skim over the pages and not read it and then it does not ruin the story for me but in the Anita Blake books you almost forget if there is a plot with all the sex its kindof wierd.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    I was excited to read this book because everyone told me how fab

    I was excited to read this book because everyone told me how fabulous the Anita Blake series is.  However I found myself just bored. It was as though Laurell K. Hamilton just wrote whatever and than the last sixty pages realized "Oh wait, I need a plotline." 

    I will not be pursuing this series further and would not recommend it to anyone else, either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    A mess

    I had heard do many good things for so long...It took me a while to admit to myself that this book was just a total mess. I kept thinking I must not be paying enough attention,when I was confused by the action at times (wait, WHO is shooting at whom? And why...?), and at other times by the characters, who did not act rationally or according to any sort of character development. Thus book is just all over the place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Do not waste your time or money on this series.

    I picked up this series because it was recommended by Barnes and Noble. Normally I read Sherilyn Kenyon books and Gena Showalter. I was deeply disappointed to find it was a mystery under romance. The first couple of books in the series were a mystery and I was speed reading to finish the book so I can reward myself with a good book. I am currently on Book 12 Incumbus dreams and I still do not like the series. Anita Blake is a character that whines and argues within herself and it is 80% of the book. The last 100 pages of the book usually draws me in and I can't wait to start the next book until I start the book and have to wait until page 600 for the plot. Ms. Hamilton needs to shorten her books by leaving out all the nonsense and get to the plot sooner in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First novel builds background

    If you're looking for non-guilty pleasures, this is the book for you. I had read some things by this author prior to this, including some of the Anita Blake series out of order and I had mixed feelings about this author before and this book has reaffirmed my mixed emotions. I love the vampire/supernatural genre and these books deliver a large scope of this. However, this one over delivers. We do not need to know everything in the first book. There are too many characters in this book. The author goes off on tangents and she needs to focus more on a few main characters and one or two story lines. All in all, if you're looking for an easy read about supernatural fantasy, this is OK.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Fairly good

    Im currently on the fence with this series. The plot in the first book has a lot of holes in it and so many characters are thrown at you its hard to follow who's who. Somewhat confusing at times as Anita's complex world is explained to the reader. A world that consists of vampires, ghouls, werewolves, wererats, zombies and who knoes whatelse. I will probably give the series one more shot to see if the writing and the character matures. I hope so since there seems to be several books in the series and i would hate to think they would just push out so so novels. But from reading other reviews here i can see not all folks are as descriminating as i am. While others are much harsher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Weird and not in an interesting way

    I bought this book because it had an overall good rating by the reviewers and I couldn't disagree more. The plot has potential but the author doesn't develop it well. There is too much time spent trying to use colorful discriptive language and not enough time getting to the actual story. The characters are not very interesting and some of the made up creatures are so weird it's just ridiculous. I often buy series novels because if they are good then I can continue the story and follow the same main characters. I will not be buying any more of the Anita Blake series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Guilty Pleasures not so pleasant

    I read the story summary and thought I'd give it a try. To me it felt like this should be the second or even third book in the series. I always felt that the development between two of the major characters was lacking.I believe that a story before this one would fill in those gaps for the reader. The story wasn't too bad but I think it could have been a lot better. This is the first in The Anita Blake series. I won't be reading anymore. Read the summary if you want to know what it's about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow through and through

    I've recently been on the vampire kick, so when i got done reading all my other vampire series i found the anita blake series and was super excited because there were so many books, well i went out and bought all the books at once, big mistake! I've only read the first book but it was so boring that it took me forever just to read it, thinkin it might get better but it didnt. It just drags on and on and there isn't much interaction with vampires at all, it mainly talks about her job and her day to day routine which is just plain b-o-r-i-n-g! there isn't any romance really worth mentioning so i don't know why its called guilty pleasures, the only guilty pleasure she has is being a workaholic! Since i bought all the books i am going to give a couple more a try and hope they get better, but if your interested in reading this series just buy the first few books to see if you like them instead of spending $100 on all the books and regretting it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Guilty Pleasures not so Sinful

    I have read many books involving vampires. This was not one of my favorites. The characters relationships as well as themselves in some cases were lacking substance. The story needed a bit more background information, in my opinion to fill the characters properly. This wasn't the best book I have ever read, but it was an alright read. It had the potential to be so much more, but fell short in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    Guilty pleasures, not a pleasure to read.

    The plot had promise, but the characters were not developed enough to provide the "likability factor" for me. It felt like I was being forced through the story and not lead. The lack of descriptive writing often left me confused at was happening between the characters and what kind of person Anita Blake really was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    weak, but shows potential

    this series came heavily recommended by a friend and i became excited by it, but when reading it, it seemed more like the television show CIS, or like any other murder mystery. the vampires were just kinda thrown in as an afterthought. i admit, the end had me riveted, and i stayed up late just so i could finish the book. but its her style i guess that got me, is it just me or does it seem like anita blake is relating a story back to someone? i didn't feel like i was a part of the book, when anita says 'i thought:' or 'i wanted to say' it just pulls me back out of the story and reminds me that i'm reading a book. and a book is to forget that you are in the real world. i'm still giving the other books a chance because she has original ideas, and good storylines, but please put us IN the story. if you want someone who does that read anything by amelia atwhater-rhodes. she puts you in the world of vampires head first, and gives you varied points of view throughout all her books. try one next time you are waiting for the next anita blake book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    Disappointed

    When I purchased this book it stated murder, romance and vampires. Well I got the murder and vampires but were was the romance? I was told that this was the first book of the series and I really don't know how Anita became an Animator and out of no where the author throws in something about Anita's family. In some points in the book I had to stop and re-read the page. After all the reviews I really was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2003

    Too Much Human

    This book was recommended to me by a friend. I only found it mildly interesting. It was a little predictive and i felt that there was not enough involvement in the vampire world. There were points that i enjoyed but overall it didn't really get me going. I felt that more indepth profiles should have been given about the vampires and the were-creatures. This book covers many types of "monsters in the night", but leaves u hanging about what really lies in each creature. It was a pale comparsion if u have ever read anything by Anne Rice. I guess i just wanted a deeper connection with the vampires so it left me empty. However, I will read the next novel in the series, I feel that i should give the series a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    Definitely did not live up to expectations.

    I picked up Guilty Pleasures on the recommendations on a message board and I was highly disappointed. The book was ok. I felt no connection to any of the characters. I kept reading hoping that I would all of a sudden find that something that would make the story riveting. Sigh. That never happened. If you want to read better Vampire stories, Anne Rice is a good bet. If you're interested in Vampire Hunters with some romance thrown in..check out Sherrilyn Kenyon and her Dark Hunter Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    Meh

    I'm not quite sure what it was, but I really wasn't impressed with the first novel at all. Perhaps I am jaded after reading Anne Rice novels, but nothing in this book seemed believeable or worthwhile. And if one *has* read the Vampire Chronicles, Jeanne-Claude just seems like a really bad Lestat rip off. Now, I know this is supposed to be from Anita's point of view, and some people repeat phrases a lot, but the dialouge was just too repetitive. 'Bully for me, Riiight, Naw, Brownie point for so-'n-so, He was the most [whatever] man I had ever seen, It completed the look,' etc. Hamilton, however, can write some passages that really put a vivid image into your head. I also liked Anita's sarcasm - not a lot of main characters have that off beat sense of humor. But overall, I was not impressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6