Customer Reviews for

Guitar Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Guitar Girl by Sarra Manning

    This book is about a girl Molly Montgomery and her two best friends who get bored one day and decide to start a rockband. They go from the not popular teenagers at their school to the girls in a famous rockband. During one of the first gigs they ever played, they get all good feedback from the audience. That night, two boys Dean and T decide to join the band too. The band gets a manager and eventually becomes famous and goes on tour. Sex, drugs, and rock n' roll sums up this book well. Molly goes through things that change her life and leaves her questioning whether she should stay with the band or not.

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I would recommend this book to an age group of 13-16. Anyone younger probably wouldn't be able to keep up. Anyone older might think its childish. The beginning was boring, but once Dean and T join the band, things start stirring up and have me on the edge of my seat. I think the lead character Molly can relate to many kids in high school currently. This book contains a lot of drama, which is interesting. Sarra Manning is deffinitly a talented author.

    Tyler

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    A definate teen read!

    This book got me into reading I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Original

    This book is an accurate portayal of a band. Nothing is sugar-coated, and it accurately goes through the emotions of a teenage rock star. The end it is not a fairy tale, which I liked the best. It was also very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    CUTE!

    I loved this book and even credit it more because it got me started on the liking of Sarra Manning, the author. I LOVE HER BOOKS! She writes amazing books that all teens should love and will enjoys all of them! Read this book! I recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    amazing!

    I always wanted to be in a band or be famous when I grow up but now, since I read this, it made me think more of what I want to be. In the end, I cried because one, I wanted to read more and two, because it was so depressing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2006

    ya

    This book has the cheesiest cover, but it is amazing. It gives the point of view from an upcoming artist getting wrapped up the destructive life of being famous, and ends with getting sued. It was hradcore and is very emotioal. Just my kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    AWESOME

    I love books like these where the character is growing throughout the book. It was sad and wretching at times, but you know, that's how a band goes. In and out. This book had it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Irresistable

    I first picked up the book two years ago when all my friends were chattering about this great book. I was skeptical at first and tried to keep it under wraps, I don't like to follow the crowd, and with a title like 'guitar girl' I highly doubted that it was going to be that good. But once I started reading I saw what all the hype was for, it is an awesome book! A must read for all musicians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Pretty good

    This book was pretty good.It was perfect until the very end.The end just plain SUCKED!!!!!Unless of course Sarra Manning writes a sequel.That would make sense.But anyways this book is very good.It had an excellent story line and it had me laughing very hard.I definitly reccomend it for band geeks.Its awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Enjoyable Book

    It was a very good book, but it was a little to racy for me. Other than that, I liked it. Sarra Manning pulled off yet another great novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    Wow

    This book was really great. It haunted me even the day after I read it, I couldn't stop thinking about it. The only thing I would change is the ending. I would have realy liked more detail about what happened after the band broke up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    Guitar Girl

    this book was really awesome,it's about real things that happen in the music world,and i think it has a real lession behind it.i also think every teen girl can realte to molly.-the only bad thing in this book is the ending(was kinda sad).. But this is a really good book, and I believe that if a book can change you, then it is one of the best you can ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    a reader of many books

    this book is about sex,drugs,and lies. it also is about hard beginings and even harder endings, which seems to be in every rock 'n' rockers life, it seems that the ending is SO sad it makes you want to cry! this story follows a girl with stars in her eyes, till she sees the hardship and lonelyness of what she has. it tells of first loves and scary tells that will capture you where you cant put is down. if you would like to know how all your favorite stars fill then read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    humm

    when she used the words 'trousers' and 'knickers'...yeah, that totally turned me off. serioiusly, thats dumb...but besides her exsesive use of oldy words, its a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    It was GREAT

    this book had it all, expect for a strong plot. but other than that it book was AWESOME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Great!!!

    this book was really good. it was interesting throughout the whole book. good book to read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2