Customer Reviews for

Gulliver's Travels: Into Several Remote Nations of the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 470 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(187)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(99)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good movie!

This is different than the movie but it is way better! I rate it five out of five!

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

58 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Not the complete ebook

FYI, this free Google download is only Volume 2 of 2. Even though it looks like you will be getting the full book, this ebook is only the second half.

posted by eurekatpt on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Must Read

    I read this book 40 years ago and pick it up to read on my Nook because it was free, I am glad I did. Loved it better this time now that I am older and know about great writting.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Fun read

    It was a fun witty book. I looked at a lot if the footnotes which helped me follow the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    Travel with Gulliver on his many journeys to lands unknown.

    Jonathan Swifts novel, Gulliver's Travels, is a satire like none before his time. With his clever plot and setting, structure, as well as many well rounded characters makes this book a witty taste of history. Published anonymously to great acclaim in the early 18th century, people in England were in an uproar of excitement when the book was released. It became an overnight success. When I started this book, I already had a superficial sense of what it might be about because of the little people(Lilliputians) on the book's cover. As I read more and more I realized that it was a profound commentary on England and France as well as a scathing insight into the foibles of human nature and the power of politics. Although this is an entertaining read, it is not an innocent bed-time story but rather a potent social/political thought provoking document. I highly recommend this book as being both entertaining and a good eye-opening head scratcher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2001

    A True Classic.

    Swift's novel is a true classic that resonates as clearly with contemporary readers as those in his own time. I did not care for the introduction of this version of Gulliver's Travels, as it did not provide enough historical, social, and political background for novice readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    Great Book for Teens who like to Read!

    I read Gulliver's Travels just for fun because I had seen the TV series, and I ended up really enjoying it. It's long in some places of the book, but for the most part it's an interesting fiction story plus the author has a sarcastic way of poking fun of human society. It brings to light many of man's fault while still being a fun story about Gulliver's travels to four imaginary islands.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Person

    *starts to loss concionees*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Ok

    It was a pretty good book but i did not like the secomd half really

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Cool book

    This book was really engaging and it made me think. It is really interesting to imagine what life would be like if we were six inches or sixty feet tall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Worth a shot

    I guess I could try it. A little confusing at first, but from what I've heard is a great book and that it is highly reccomended. Sincerely, an anonymous and opinionated reader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Gullivers Travels

    Not bad. At first its slow but just gotta keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Hello

    I have been told it is really good but a very hard read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Not bad

    Pretty good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    sutherland

    it was just like the movie hilarious&well written(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Don't Be a Yahoo

    I have put off reading Gulliver's Travels for perhaps 50 years. I should have read it sooner. It's funny and surprisingly up-to-date. Everyone knows about Gulliver's being in the land of the Lilliputians, but you ought to know about the land where horses are the masters and humans are uncouth and despised yahoos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Political allegories suck

    Laputa.nuff said

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Unabridged or abridged

    Let me know!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    :)

    Good book, movie looked OK

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Wonderful

    It was a good book for me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    alright

    This book was good but more forolder people (: (:


    By: Cara Jones (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Cool

    Awlsome

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5