Customer Reviews for

Gulliver's Travels

Average Rating 3.5
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(204)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(124)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Beyond Lilliput

Forget the cartoon versions of the Lilliputians and read the original. This collection of adventures from four voyages (Lilliput is only the first voyage.) builds in satire and its cutting edge right through the fourth voyage. Although written in such a different time, ...
Forget the cartoon versions of the Lilliputians and read the original. This collection of adventures from four voyages (Lilliput is only the first voyage.) builds in satire and its cutting edge right through the fourth voyage. Although written in such a different time, the book remains biting in wit and thought provoking. A most read for those interested in custom and culture, power and authority, and politics and economics in a shrinking world.

posted by AnnieBM on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic Satire on Human Folly and Intrigue

Thought-provoking and still relevant to the political follies of modern times, if you look past the veneer of the entertaining story. It has probably been 40 years since I read this in high school, and wanted to re-read it following a visit to Ireland. The story is base...
Thought-provoking and still relevant to the political follies of modern times, if you look past the veneer of the entertaining story. It has probably been 40 years since I read this in high school, and wanted to re-read it following a visit to Ireland. The story is based on 4 fantasy voyages to different isolated areas of the globe, outside the known geography of the time it was written, 1726 - it would be set in modern times as different planets, like Star Trek episodes. The allegories and satire appear to elude many of those who are writing 2 line reviews of this story, like -- boring, too many pages, archaic. Those reviewers must be products of the dumbed-down education rubric of today, looking at the story at face value simply for entertainment without trying to understand the author's intent or interest in the story behind the story. Most people are acquainted with the Lilliputians, the tiny people, but are unfamiliar with the rest of the book. Having recently read a novel based on the writings of Roger Williams in the 1600's, this book was highly influenced by the political events of the English Civil War and that of the Protestant/Anglican in-fighting represented by the Big-Endians and Little-Endians, fighting battles over which end to crack open an egg . Some things seem astonishingly prescient that conditions have changed very little in nearly 400 years, such as the Royal Academy scientists of Laputa spending years of research to extract sunshine from cucumbers, or mixing paint by smell, compared to the grant-writing researchers of today, like shrimp on a treadmill. The fourth voyage to the land of the Houyhnhnms described a utopian society, where the dignity and intelligence of the horse-like creatures ruled, without lying or guile, and the inferior human-like Yahoos describes the unfortunate lot of those living in modern society, infested with imperfections, disease, crime, greed, and envy. Remarkable insights can be taken, particularly in this edition, with linked footnotes, an interactive glossary for the archaic terms (there were a few that got missed), and the extras about the various films that have been made over the years. An excellent commentary to be shared and discussed.

posted by 12Miler on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 612 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Brilliant.

    Caustic and still highly relevant. Every educated person should read and enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Best travel book ever!

    Political Satire written centuries ago doesn't allways translate to the present. However if one follows our current political leader and pundits it looks a lot like when Gulliver visited the Lilliputians. Just like in lilliput everyone is an expert with their talking points. Not a great amount of dialog but much to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Pretty good book but not all that entertaining..

    I really enjoyed parts 1 and 4 of the book which were by far the most fun to read about in my opinion. Part 1, which was about the Lilliputians, who are very short, were really strange and amusing to me. Part 4 is very interesting because it allows the reader to view our own culture through the views of the Houyhnhnms which are very intelligent horses. The other 2 parts of the book are okay but I wouldn't recomend the book to anyone by using anything from parts 2 or 3 to pursuade them. Overall, I think that Jonathan Swift did a pretty good job with this book and i think that it IS worth reading but some parts are just not as entertaining as others to me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    I liked it a lot. But, it was no masterpiece.

    I believe that Jonathan Swift did an amazing job at conveying life within the English 17th century society. The way he was able to criticize his people so covertly and precise is beyond my imagination. Aswell, as the way he was able to create this immense land of fictional characters and imaginary beings. The book overall was great but, I just think that if you really want to understand the story you should buy a simplified version of the book. This was a really cheaply made book to. I wouldn't mind going back and paying the extra 4 dollars for a better version. Overall good story; Bad book. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    audiobook not nook compatible

    The illustrations are very nice, the endnote links work very well, and the books are classics.

    However, the "free audiobook" advertised is just an internet address on the very last page of the ebook that the nook does not recognize as a hyperlink. Apparently, there is a free ebook with these illustrations floating around the internet somewhere, and a free audiobook file on the archive website and this Sam Ngo guy has just epub'd them together and charged you 1.99 for the "effort. The audiobook must be downloaded from the website independently (on your computer I think), then uploaded as an audio file onto the nook. Though, I don't think I'll try it. I'll probably just delete these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    This is not what it promises to be.

    If you want the illustrations and the audio book that this seller promises then you will be very disappointed. I would NOT buy this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    not what it says

    If you wanted an audio book, do not get this one. There is no audio, and the link to the so called audio, does not work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    free sampls stink

    free sampls stink there just reviws,, i wantb to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Sample won't open! :(

    Free sample won't open.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gulliver's Travels By: Jonathan Swift

    Gulliver's Travels, By Jonathan Swift.
    I Believe that the authors intent on writing this novel, was to not only entertain the reader, but there may have been some sort of political joke behind it as well. The Story is told from the point of view of Gulliver, the main character. I am not certain whether or not Mr. Swift had a point he was trying to get across by writing this book, but as I said before: It may have been a political joke.
    If Gulliver's Travels where to fall into any category it would be either fiction, or classic. While there is no definite intended audience, the book has become a children's classic and is a favorite of many, (myself included). The authors writing style is very formal, as was the writing style of many great authors of his time.
    The Book can be broken down into several different ,'sub-books' ( each representing one of Gulliver's travels) , and within these 'sub-books' are the different chapters.
    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel, and would recommend it to anyone considering reading it .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    Incredibly boring and extremely 2D.

    The entire novel had little to NO dialogue. As someone who loves character analysis, themes, and motifs, I found very little substance to the story. I'm not exactly sure what the author was alluding to or trying to say about... anything, but by the last third of the novel I didn't care, I just wanted to get through it. I'm not exactly sure why I picked it up. I heard about it in passing and figured I'd give it a try since it is considered a classic. Do not read this, very slow, very dull, and unintelligent.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Novel that captures your curiosity

    In Gulliver's Travels by Jonathan Swift, a man by the name of Lemuel Gulliver is a ship surgeon who goes on many adventures around the world. Gulliver goes to the land of Lilliput where the average person is upwards of two inches tall. He also travels to Brobdingnag where the average person is right around sixty feet tall. He also encounters a floating island and a land where men are beasts and horses are the true rulers. Throughout the book Gulliver also visits many other strange lands including a genius society, and a land where the dead are brought back to life. This whole book is written in a satirical manner and you will probably relate things back to governments and the way people are treated.


    I really enjoyed Gulliver's Travels. Some of the language can bog down considering the time period that it was written in, but this author has an amazing imagination. Gulliver goes to a lot of really beast locales. You really get a sense of how things would be if you actually went there. Now, there is no actual dialog in the story, it's just one big narration. He also at times tends to wander into meaningless descriptions of details in the book. If you like good adventures and don't really care about all the extra "stuff" then this book is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    Classic!

    This is a classic book, and is read all over the world. However for readers who like a lot of dialogs and conversations, this is not the book. I have not found ONE dialog in the whole book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Good

    This book is good and that's about all I can say. It has a good plot, but the author sometimes goes on for a long time on one detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    An adventurous travel

    This is the all-time great book of a supposed 'nut' who actually visited places of tiny people and giants and talking horses that ruled over man. This book, to me, is the ultimate ride into the deepest void of a writer's imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    Gullvier's Travels is alright, but not wonderful. I read it because I was going to Ireland and wanted to study Irish authors. Otherwise, I probably would have skipped it, and with good reason...Although it is considered a classic, there really isn't anything thought-provoking or powerful about it. It certainly isn't a book that will haunt you for years. The author does have a unique talent for satire, but the plot gets old pretty quickly. I was also surprised at how crude the book was, considering the era of literature it was written in. Overall, a decent book..I did learn a few things about human character...but, like I said, you can live without it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    The fantasy of all fantasies

    Swift's tale of Gulliver's journey through giant and miniature worlds is hard to best by any other writer, though some come close.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    America could learn alot from this book.

    Gulliver's Travels is a work of art when examining 'cival' society, what is even more exciting is how much American society could learn from Swift. The book is dry, so watch the miniseries it is great and the whole point is the satirical humor, which makes it all the more interesting. If you pay attention to the meaning of it and understand what Swift is saying then you will enjoy it people dislike things they dont understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    Excellent Classic

    This book is a wonderful story about a man named Gulliver. I reccomend it if you like adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    An exiting book but it is very complicated.

    This book is very, very complicated but for some people, it might be an exciting adventure. Some parts are very long and have little to do with the story, but then there are some parts that make you want to keep reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 612 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31