Customer Reviews for

Gulliver's Travels (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 608 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(202)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(124)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Beyond Lilliput

Forget the cartoon versions of the Lilliputians and read the original. This collection of adventures from four voyages (Lilliput is only the first voyage.) builds in satire and its cutting edge right through the fourth voyage. Although written in such a different time, ...
Forget the cartoon versions of the Lilliputians and read the original. This collection of adventures from four voyages (Lilliput is only the first voyage.) builds in satire and its cutting edge right through the fourth voyage. Although written in such a different time, the book remains biting in wit and thought provoking. A most read for those interested in custom and culture, power and authority, and politics and economics in a shrinking world.

posted by AnnieBM on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic Satire on Human Folly and Intrigue

Thought-provoking and still relevant to the political follies of modern times, if you look past the veneer of the entertaining story. It has probably been 40 years since I read this in high school, and wanted to re-read it following a visit to Ireland. The story is base...
Thought-provoking and still relevant to the political follies of modern times, if you look past the veneer of the entertaining story. It has probably been 40 years since I read this in high school, and wanted to re-read it following a visit to Ireland. The story is based on 4 fantasy voyages to different isolated areas of the globe, outside the known geography of the time it was written, 1726 - it would be set in modern times as different planets, like Star Trek episodes. The allegories and satire appear to elude many of those who are writing 2 line reviews of this story, like -- boring, too many pages, archaic. Those reviewers must be products of the dumbed-down education rubric of today, looking at the story at face value simply for entertainment without trying to understand the author's intent or interest in the story behind the story. Most people are acquainted with the Lilliputians, the tiny people, but are unfamiliar with the rest of the book. Having recently read a novel based on the writings of Roger Williams in the 1600's, this book was highly influenced by the political events of the English Civil War and that of the Protestant/Anglican in-fighting represented by the Big-Endians and Little-Endians, fighting battles over which end to crack open an egg . Some things seem astonishingly prescient that conditions have changed very little in nearly 400 years, such as the Royal Academy scientists of Laputa spending years of research to extract sunshine from cucumbers, or mixing paint by smell, compared to the grant-writing researchers of today, like shrimp on a treadmill. The fourth voyage to the land of the Houyhnhnms described a utopian society, where the dignity and intelligence of the horse-like creatures ruled, without lying or guile, and the inferior human-like Yahoos describes the unfortunate lot of those living in modern society, infested with imperfections, disease, crime, greed, and envy. Remarkable insights can be taken, particularly in this edition, with linked footnotes, an interactive glossary for the archaic terms (there were a few that got missed), and the extras about the various films that have been made over the years. An excellent commentary to be shared and discussed.

posted by 12Miler on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beyond Lilliput

    Forget the cartoon versions of the Lilliputians and read the original. This collection of adventures from four voyages (Lilliput is only the first voyage.) builds in satire and its cutting edge right through the fourth voyage. Although written in such a different time, the book remains biting in wit and thought provoking. A most read for those interested in custom and culture, power and authority, and politics and economics in a shrinking world.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Stories for Children 5 Star Review

    On the eve of a new movie release based on Gulliver's Travels I was asked to review the book being re-released to coincide with the new Jack Black movie. I accepted the challenge fully expecting to receive a modernized, cannibalized carcass of the original work. When the book arrived, I was surprised and delighted to see it's the entire work in its original form. However, now I had a dilemma on my hands: What does one say about a true classic masterwork that has survived for centuries? As I began re-reading the book I hadn't read in better than thirty years, I was still in a quandary as to what this usually less than humble reviewer could say about a brilliant masterwork that hadn't been said hundreds of times before. The fact is, I can't improve on what was said before, but I could remind people of the enjoyment such a book can bring to the reader. In this soundbite world, I imagine few have read and enjoyed the original work. Avid readers know what the rest of the world seems to have forgotten, the pure joy of a brilliant masterwork. Granted, I have enjoyed the many previous movies based on Gulliver's Travels and fully expect to enjoy the new Jack Black movie, but having been on movie sets, and in the cutting room, I know that a movie can rarely do a complete novel justice, unless they want to make a movie six to eight hours long. For time reasons, it simply isn't possible to include everything in a movie that's in a book. I urge everyone that enjoys a great story to both get and enjoy the book version of Gulliver's Travels, and go see the movie, but not necessarily in that order. Enjoy the book for the literary masterwork it is, and the movie for the comedic genius that is Mr. Black.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Brilliantly bringing humanity down to size

    A work of incredible genius. Every section provides new insight into human folly and idiocy- and whether one is a Houhnymn or a Yahoo, Big -Ender or Little-Ender one must delight at the human capacity to bring the human down to its proper size. The brilliance of Swift is evident everywhere most poignantly perhaps in those creatures who go on living forever while continuing to physically and mentally age- perhaps modern medicine should have read this section. A remarkable work but not especially for those who love mankind and wish to be optimistic about human life.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    An Unforgettable Journey

    The first time I read this novel was in high school. he story at face value can be viewed as a children's story, yet for me Swift's story dug deep and opened my eyes to a world beyond my own, and taught me to search for a sort of utopia, only one that resides within our world. Since reading Gulliver's Travel, I have gone on to college, and is now a graduate student in English Literature.I have in that period probably recommended this novel to everyone I've ever met interested in reading. It changed my life in ways I can't understand fully, but the heart and soul of Gulliver lives in me now, taking me through journeys one can only dream of.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    MUST READ!

    Gulliver's Travels is a satirical novel written by Jonathan Swift that was first published in 1726. Gulliver's Travels is divided into four parts: A Voyage to Lilliput and Blefuscu, A Voyage to Laputa, A Voyage to Balnibarbi, Luggnagg, Glubbdubdrib, and Japan, and finally A Voyage to the Country of the Houyhnhnms.

    Before reading Gulliver's Travels I knew of the Voyage to Lilliput and the Voyage to Brobdingnag; Lilliput is the home of the tiny people and Brobdingnag the home of the giant people. However I was not aware of the last two voyages; the Voyage to Laputa and the Voyage to the country of the Houyhnhnms. Laputa is a land ruled by philosophers, musicians, artists, mathematicians, and scientists who are so lost in thought they can't see how to apply their knowledge to a practical use. In the Country of the Houyhnhnms, the land is ruled by wise and gentle horses and inhabited by wild, beastly human-like creatures called Yahoos.
    Jonathan Swift satirizes social issues that were important in his time, and still remain important social issues currently such as: politics, religion, gender, science, progress, government, family and our basic ideas of humanity.

    Gulliver's Travels is full of humor and Swift's exploration of imaginary societies and countries is satire at its best.
    Overall, I give Jonathan Swift's Gulliver's Travels a well deserved five stars.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2003

    A JOB WELL DONE

    This review is not for this particular title (Gulliver's Travels), but rather Barnes and Noble's creation of this series of books (Barnes & Noble Classics). I just wanted to praise this new series because it provides authentication to the original texts, insights from new and better authors, and it is surprisingly cheaper. Whatever you do, B&N, don't stop with this series, but expand it for it is a job well done.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    T

    F

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Brilliant.

    Caustic and still highly relevant. Every educated person should read and enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gulliver's Travels By: Jonathan Swift

    Gulliver's Travels, By Jonathan Swift.
    I Believe that the authors intent on writing this novel, was to not only entertain the reader, but there may have been some sort of political joke behind it as well. The Story is told from the point of view of Gulliver, the main character. I am not certain whether or not Mr. Swift had a point he was trying to get across by writing this book, but as I said before: It may have been a political joke.
    If Gulliver's Travels where to fall into any category it would be either fiction, or classic. While there is no definite intended audience, the book has become a children's classic and is a favorite of many, (myself included). The authors writing style is very formal, as was the writing style of many great authors of his time.
    The Book can be broken down into several different ,'sub-books' ( each representing one of Gulliver's travels) , and within these 'sub-books' are the different chapters.
    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel, and would recommend it to anyone considering reading it .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    An adventurous travel

    This is the all-time great book of a supposed 'nut' who actually visited places of tiny people and giants and talking horses that ruled over man. This book, to me, is the ultimate ride into the deepest void of a writer's imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    The fantasy of all fantasies

    Swift's tale of Gulliver's journey through giant and miniature worlds is hard to best by any other writer, though some come close.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2004

    Excellent Classic

    This book is a wonderful story about a man named Gulliver. I reccomend it if you like adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2001

    Fantastic Adventure story!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I find this book captivating in each chapter. Part I: Voyage to Lilliput is the one that captivates me most, I reckon it would be so cool if there were actual people who stood only six inches tall. There is also the land of the giants another of my favourites along with Laputa, the flying/floating island. From the start of the book Johnathan Swift takes you on this awesome journey of fantasy and adventure with Gulliver being the guide. I would recommend this book to anyone who feels the need of adventure but don't want to leave the house.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2015

    Great satire!

    Great satire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Evekit

    She ran till she was nesr the hole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Willwkit

    She hisses and runs after her sister

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Hole and Adder

    The adder lunged at the kit its fang peircing its leg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2014

    Shimmerpool Bio.

    Name Shimmerpool. Gender female. Kits expecting. Mate none.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Bay

    THANKS SO MUCH IV BEEN WAITIG AND WAITING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    Aqua add-on

    Btw ur book's amaz and i showed 6 people at school already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11