Customer Reviews for

Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

I have read all of Mary Roach's books and have immensely enjoyed

I have read all of Mary Roach's books and have immensely enjoyed them. I pre-ordered Gulp and couldn't wait to read it. It has lived up to my expectations. I love how she humorously
conveys information that honestly can be pretty boring. Her little tidbits of informatio...
I have read all of Mary Roach's books and have immensely enjoyed them. I pre-ordered Gulp and couldn't wait to read it. It has lived up to my expectations. I love how she humorously
conveys information that honestly can be pretty boring. Her little tidbits of information such as the sound of a food's crunch being little sonic booms in your mouth, keep you wanting to continue reading to find out
other information that you never even really thought about before. If you liked Mary Roach's other books, you won't be disappointed in this one. 

posted by coopyjay on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Roach's humor and one-liners kept the book going, and there were

Roach's humor and one-liners kept the book going, and there were some interesting anecdotes, but it is not as good as Bonk, Spook, or Packing for Mars.  As a warning, this book can be graphic, so if you are easily disgusted, this is not the book for you.

posted by NJD2002 on May 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    I have read all of Mary Roach's books and have immensely enjoyed

    I have read all of Mary Roach's books and have immensely enjoyed them. I pre-ordered Gulp and couldn't wait to read it. It has lived up to my expectations. I love how she humorously
    conveys information that honestly can be pretty boring. Her little tidbits of information such as the sound of a food's crunch being little sonic booms in your mouth, keep you wanting to continue reading to find out
    other information that you never even really thought about before. If you liked Mary Roach's other books, you won't be disappointed in this one. 

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Illuminating and humorous!

    Mary Roach has done it again! I very much enjoyed her digestive journey through our miraculous bodies. I highly recommend this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    I enjoyed this book. I love the funny way Mary Roach explains t

    I enjoyed this book. I love the funny way Mary Roach explains the human body. Be sure to read Stiff, Bonk, and Packing for Mars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    This book has something wrong with it!

    Very excited to read this book.... looks like I never will. It's blank inside. Tech support says it's the publisher's malfunction and they can't do anything about it or refund me. Awesome. Beware of this happening!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    This is a topic I've long been interested in. Ms. Roach does a

    This is a topic I've long been interested in. Ms. Roach does a good job of discussing a wide variety of topics and experiments related to digestion. It doesn't give an entire overview of the process, though the book is organized from entrance to exit. Some parts were really interesting; others, less so. If you are easily put off by natural bodily functions, then you will likely be disgusted by much of the content, since it contains descriptions of not-so-natural bodily functions. My favorite was the discussion of megacolon, so Mary Roach is a girl after my own heart! What it didn't include was information for a hypochondriac to self-diagnose. I kind of like that thing, so I was a little disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Roach's humor and one-liners kept the book going, and there were

    Roach's humor and one-liners kept the book going, and there were some interesting anecdotes, but it is not as good as Bonk, Spook, or Packing for Mars.  As a warning, this book can be graphic, so if you are easily disgusted, this is not the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Love Mary Roach

    I've been reading Mary Roach since I first discovered her in "In Health" magazine back in the '80s. This is another thoroughly researched, well written, funny book that imparts knowledge about a specific topic in the style of "Stiff", "Spook" and "Bonk". If Mary Roach writes it, I read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Both fascinating and disgusting!

    A very odd and entertaining book about the alimentary canal. Some parts made me laugh out loud while others created an uneasy nauceous feeling. If you are interested in anatomy and science read this humous and informative book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Gulp by Mary Roach is an intensely descriptive journey through t

    Gulp by Mary Roach is an intensely descriptive journey through the human body.
    While sometimes rather graphic, Roach keeps it real with her humorous approach to usually disgusting aspects of the alimentary canal, such as stomach acid and rectal drug trafficking. This is not a book you want to read if you are weak stomached, but once you make it through you will feel almost a sense of accomplishment that is right up there with acing a big test because you know you learned something.
    Some parts of the book move along faster than others, but your curiosity will get you through the slow parts.
    Each story Roach tells offers new information you will probably never use, but may come up in a Jeopardy game.
    Funny, witty, and surprisingly educational, Gulp is a must-read for anyone who just likes to learn and discover new things about the world, or in this case, themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    Great for those who are interested in science and who appreciate humor

    Loved this book. I laughed out loud on several occasions and also learned about the human body! Funny, I don' t remember too many chuckles in my science classes. Perhaps my science teachers should have read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Kindle sells this ebook for $9.43! I'd like to read it, but I re

    Kindle sells this ebook for $9.43! I'd like to read it, but I refuse to get ripped off just because I was dumb enough to buy a nook.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I like Gulp by Mary Roach because it has good scentific informat

    I like Gulp by Mary Roach because it has good scentific information. It is also humorous. I wouldn't recommend reading Gulp while you are eating. I enjoyed her book about space exploration better than Gulp. But, this is still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    fun book

    Very interesting...but then I have enjoyed all of her other ones. This was at least as good as the others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Another tour de force from Mary Roach

    If you loved "Stiff" and her other titles, you'll love this book. Entertaining, enlightening, informative and hilarious. Mary Roach at her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Disappointed

    Have always heard her books were great. Was expecting more scientific info, even if funny. Was blah and not very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    Highly Recommended!

    Mary Roach chooses unusual topics for her books and researches them thoroughly. Her style is a delight to read. She makes her topic, in Gulp it's the alimentary canal, exceedingly interesting to the reader, compelling really. She surprises you with humor when you least expect it. Several times I laughed out loud. Gulp is a great book and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Classic Roach

    This is no Michael Pollan... Ms. Roach has all her satirical wit, and this book ,while humorous, is not for the "weak stomached". No pun intended... really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Not recommended

    I did not enjoy this as much as her previous work "STIFF". Some passages were, frankly, disgusting and I did not finish the book. I only recommend it if you have a very strong stomach!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Do not recommend.

    This book is so boring I find that I put it down and can't pick it up to finish it. Maybe someday I will but not now. It was chosen for our book club and I have talked to other people in the group and they feel the same way.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Good read

    Enjoyable, informative, fascinating, and funny.
    My first Mary Roach book - definitely not my last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3