Customer Reviews for

Gun Games (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Top notch!

This is the first Faye Kellerman book I've read and I loved it! I went on to see if previous books containedGabe and his parents and found it and read it. I hope Ms Kellerman continues to include Gabe, the pianistic prodigy in future books as I found myself identifying ...
This is the first Faye Kellerman book I've read and I loved it! I went on to see if previous books containedGabe and his parents and found it and read it. I hope Ms Kellerman continues to include Gabe, the pianistic prodigy in future books as I found myself identifying with him in so many ways.
Musically,I identify and know the music pieces mentioned as I performed them. I read some of the reviews and felt that some of the comments were made by individuals with siblings and what they "know" of "only children" is probably hearsay or what has been reflected by the media. I hope the author continues to write with Gabe included and that his musical genius flowers and blossoms including his knowledge of guns and everything he has learned from his father and mother and doesn't want to follow in their footsteps. Also, I'd like to know how his relationship with his half-sister develops. Keep up the good work, Ms. Kellerman. I am a loyal fan(I've read the first three books you've written).

posted by 17443722 on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fell Flat

This story focuses on fifteen-year-old Gabe, the Decker's foster son, as the topic revolves around teenage gangs and bullying, and how such things sometimes lead to suicide. With the topic being about teenagers, sex is a part of that and became a central theme in this ...
This story focuses on fifteen-year-old Gabe, the Decker's foster son, as the topic revolves around teenage gangs and bullying, and how such things sometimes lead to suicide. With the topic being about teenagers, sex is a part of that and became a central theme in this story which was a distraction for me because it was more explicit than was necessary and made an otherwise good plot less than the standard I've come to expect from Kellerman's series. While the story focuses on Gabe and his new girlfriend, I felt that they didn't talk and act like typical teens, especially 14-year-old Yasmine, and although I know teenage boys think about sex most of the time, it just got to be too much page after page in this story and took away from the important topic of teen bullying and suicide.

I really looked forward to this newest title as a fan of the series but was left disappointed.

I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited, nor was a positive review required.

posted by Books_And_Chocolate on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Not up to the others in the series

    I have read all of this series and delightedly await each new book. This book is losing me. I am still in the middle of it but waiting for it to get better or be over. As a mother who has parented four teenagers, the dialogue between Gabe and Yasmine feels stilted and unreal to me. Yasmine's character may be more appropriate to how she is being raise-- the sheltering of her family and religious school environment-- than does Gabe's character, which seems simplistic and forced and too adult-like. In particular, his lack of any apparent sadness around his abandonment by his mother hit me as way off the mark. Maybe it will get better as i reach the second half.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Fell Flat

    This story focuses on fifteen-year-old Gabe, the Decker's foster son, as the topic revolves around teenage gangs and bullying, and how such things sometimes lead to suicide. With the topic being about teenagers, sex is a part of that and became a central theme in this story which was a distraction for me because it was more explicit than was necessary and made an otherwise good plot less than the standard I've come to expect from Kellerman's series. While the story focuses on Gabe and his new girlfriend, I felt that they didn't talk and act like typical teens, especially 14-year-old Yasmine, and although I know teenage boys think about sex most of the time, it just got to be too much page after page in this story and took away from the important topic of teen bullying and suicide.

    I really looked forward to this newest title as a fan of the series but was left disappointed.

    I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited, nor was a positive review required.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Didn't Care For This

    I found the "love story" too long, drawn out and "sappy" for one of Faye Kellerman's books. I like the play between Peter and Rina as it seems real...but the Gabe romance was too Danielle Steele for me.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Top notch!

    This is the first Faye Kellerman book I've read and I loved it! I went on to see if previous books containedGabe and his parents and found it and read it. I hope Ms Kellerman continues to include Gabe, the pianistic prodigy in future books as I found myself identifying with him in so many ways.
    Musically,I identify and know the music pieces mentioned as I performed them. I read some of the reviews and felt that some of the comments were made by individuals with siblings and what they "know" of "only children" is probably hearsay or what has been reflected by the media. I hope the author continues to write with Gabe included and that his musical genius flowers and blossoms including his knowledge of guns and everything he has learned from his father and mother and doesn't want to follow in their footsteps. Also, I'd like to know how his relationship with his half-sister develops. Keep up the good work, Ms. Kellerman. I am a loyal fan(I've read the first three books you've written).

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bullying Plus

    In this latest installment of the Decker/Lazarus series, the author attempted to inject a slightly different approach to the formula. It probably will upset some readers, and intrigue others. Some will look at the novel and consider it pornographic, in a sense. Others might see it as sensitivity akin to the current controversy over same sex marriage. Whatever stance, the plot is a stimulating one, with the intersecting of two very different sets of characters.

    The story begins with the mother of a high school boy who has committed suicide visiting Peter Decker in an effort to find out why he did it. Although the coroner has ruled it a suicide, Decker is intrigued enough to look into the matter, especially when a second suicide of a pupil from the same school occurs. The novel then continues to look into what appears to be a group of bullying students, combined with the teenage love affair of Gabe Donatti, the 15-year-old piano genius living with Peter and Rina, and an orthodox Persian teenager who attends the school at which Lazarus teaches.

    As in the previous novels in the series, the well-written book is full of homespun allusions. Some of the techniques to flavor the teenage atmosphere, like excessive texting, certainly may be off-putting to many readers, but is an apt portrayal of communication for this age group. That said, it is a good read and is recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Loved it..

    yes the young love was a bit much at times.. but it was about right hormonal teenagers.. overall I enjoyed the book and the plot was a very good one. Issues that are really going on in many school around the country.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Readers Favorite by Jean Brickell

    Reviewed for Readers Favorite by Jean Brickell

    "Gun Games" by Faye Kellerman is the story of Lt Decker and his police unit trying to make sense of two young people who commit suicide for little reason. Decker wants to see if there is any connection to school kids that harass others. It is also the story of Gabe, a young man who has a great future ahead of himself and Yasmine who must keep their relationship a secret from her parents because they would not approve of Gabe on religious and ethnic reasons. There is a strong theme of bullying other students by a gang of teens.

    As usual, Faye Kellerman has done it again. What a book! The story of Gabe and Yasmine is a sweet romance. What is not sweet is the high school kids that harass them and others. Maybe the two suicides of high school kids might be in some way caused by the gang of 'crowders'. Decker feels the need to look into the cases and see if there is any connection. Gabe is living with Decker and Rina while working on his piano future. Gabe's dad is one of the more interesting characters, a Los Vagas king pin capable of anything. The action is fast and gripping and you will not want to put this book down until it is finished. There is no doubt the book "Gun Games" is best seller material. It is really fascinating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Not my favorite...........

    This, to me, was like 2 books shuffled into one and written by 2 different people - Faye Kellerman and an adult (maybe) who thinks they remember being a teen and shuffled together like a deck of cards. Perhaps Gabe and Yasmine were supposed to represent innocence and "the gang" the nasty mean older teens who have lost theirs. I was bored by the page after page of explicit "young love" and found myself reading the first paragraph and the last paragraph in their chapters and skipping the middle. What was with Peter and Rina and their fog in relation to Gabe? They are supposed to be instense family people but I guess it is only with their own blood. He is 15 years old, living in their house, but they have no clue, after 4 children of their own? They couldn't figure out that he is lonely??? Come on. This book could have been written with half the pages. The best part were the last pages. Glad I borrowed it from the Library and didn't pay for it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Not her best

    Really got tired of the details of the teenagers and the f word. I am not offended by it but wonder if Faye feels that to keep young she has to use it to an extreme.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Loved it :)) Awesome book!!!

    Another fabulous, wesome "CHRIS/TERRY/GABRIEL DONATTI" sequel. I absolutely loved the book, so much, that I finished it in one day. It is such a tender young love story between Gabe & Yasmine. THANK YOU, MRS. KELLERMAN for bringing it to us & for doing such a good job. I've been an AVID FAN of your books & work & "JUSTICE"(CHRIS/TERRY DONATTI LOVE STORY) is my alltime FAVORITE. Please continue writing abt this family. I' m looking forward on the FOURTH SERIES of this story. I highly RECOMMENDED this book/sequels to all my friends & Faye Kellerman fans. It's worth the money!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Get comfortable before you start reading...

    because you won't want to stop when high school students are playing with guns. It is up to Peter Decker and his team of detectives to figure out what's happening before more deaths occur. Even the most recent addition to the Decker household, young Gabe Whitman, faces the wrong end of a gun, something his hit-man father, Chris Donatti, does not appreciate. It isn't that Gabe goes looking for trouble but it finds him and his girlfriend anyway. Will their risky behavior lead them to problems like those of Gabe's parents or will Peter and Rina's influence help Gabe make better decisions?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    I.'m going to try another Kellerman novel

    My first try certainly demands at least a couple more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    Didn't realize I was buying a teen love story that made the twil

    Didn't realize I was buying a teen love story that made the twilight series look entertaining. Total waste of money and time. Couldn't even finish it. Don't waster your time or money on this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Great read as usual!!

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Well crafted Faye Kellerman story. Continuing family warmth of Peter, Rina and now Gabe to make up for Decker/Lazarus empty nest.

    You won't be disappointed with this Faye Kellerman crime and family angst story that she does so masterfully time and time again. A solid 4 star all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Great Book!!

    Really enjoyed this book! But haven't read a book in the Peter Decker series that I haven't enjoyed!k

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    I would definitely recommend

    I always envoy Faye Kellerman and this is no exception. I especially like the diversity of cultures. And the interesting way you find out what really happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Absolutely great read.

    Faye Kellerman's, Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus, detective series is right up there with Tony Hillerman's. Along with a really good detective story Faye Kellerman offers a look into the Jewish world and religious life of Los Angeles in the same way that Hillerman delved into the Hopi and Navajo world and religion. This adds a depth to their stories that isn't found in the typical detective genre. Kellerman's books are always well written and well plotted and "Gun Games" is a great addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    highly recommend

    All of Fay Kellerman's book are great. I would recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Good read and didn't disappoint

    Great novel in series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5