Customer Reviews for

Gun Games (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Top notch!

This is the first Faye Kellerman book I've read and I loved it! I went on to see if previous books containedGabe and his parents and found it and read it. I hope Ms Kellerman continues to include Gabe, the pianistic prodigy in future books as I found myself identifying ...
This is the first Faye Kellerman book I've read and I loved it! I went on to see if previous books containedGabe and his parents and found it and read it. I hope Ms Kellerman continues to include Gabe, the pianistic prodigy in future books as I found myself identifying with him in so many ways.
Musically,I identify and know the music pieces mentioned as I performed them. I read some of the reviews and felt that some of the comments were made by individuals with siblings and what they "know" of "only children" is probably hearsay or what has been reflected by the media. I hope the author continues to write with Gabe included and that his musical genius flowers and blossoms including his knowledge of guns and everything he has learned from his father and mother and doesn't want to follow in their footsteps. Also, I'd like to know how his relationship with his half-sister develops. Keep up the good work, Ms. Kellerman. I am a loyal fan(I've read the first three books you've written).

posted by 17443722 on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fell Flat

This story focuses on fifteen-year-old Gabe, the Decker's foster son, as the topic revolves around teenage gangs and bullying, and how such things sometimes lead to suicide. With the topic being about teenagers, sex is a part of that and became a central theme in this ...
This story focuses on fifteen-year-old Gabe, the Decker's foster son, as the topic revolves around teenage gangs and bullying, and how such things sometimes lead to suicide. With the topic being about teenagers, sex is a part of that and became a central theme in this story which was a distraction for me because it was more explicit than was necessary and made an otherwise good plot less than the standard I've come to expect from Kellerman's series. While the story focuses on Gabe and his new girlfriend, I felt that they didn't talk and act like typical teens, especially 14-year-old Yasmine, and although I know teenage boys think about sex most of the time, it just got to be too much page after page in this story and took away from the important topic of teen bullying and suicide.

I really looked forward to this newest title as a fan of the series but was left disappointed.

I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited, nor was a positive review required.

posted by Books_And_Chocolate on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Not up to the others in the series

    I have read all of this series and delightedly await each new book. This book is losing me. I am still in the middle of it but waiting for it to get better or be over. As a mother who has parented four teenagers, the dialogue between Gabe and Yasmine feels stilted and unreal to me. Yasmine's character may be more appropriate to how she is being raise-- the sheltering of her family and religious school environment-- than does Gabe's character, which seems simplistic and forced and too adult-like. In particular, his lack of any apparent sadness around his abandonment by his mother hit me as way off the mark. Maybe it will get better as i reach the second half.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Not my favorite...........

    This, to me, was like 2 books shuffled into one and written by 2 different people - Faye Kellerman and an adult (maybe) who thinks they remember being a teen and shuffled together like a deck of cards. Perhaps Gabe and Yasmine were supposed to represent innocence and "the gang" the nasty mean older teens who have lost theirs. I was bored by the page after page of explicit "young love" and found myself reading the first paragraph and the last paragraph in their chapters and skipping the middle. What was with Peter and Rina and their fog in relation to Gabe? They are supposed to be instense family people but I guess it is only with their own blood. He is 15 years old, living in their house, but they have no clue, after 4 children of their own? They couldn't figure out that he is lonely??? Come on. This book could have been written with half the pages. The best part were the last pages. Glad I borrowed it from the Library and didn't pay for it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Not her best

    Really got tired of the details of the teenagers and the f word. I am not offended by it but wonder if Faye feels that to keep young she has to use it to an extreme.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    highly recommend

    All of Fay Kellerman's book are great. I would recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    A little disappointed

    I've read all Faye Kellerman's work. I am a fan. This book meanders a bit, especially in the beginning to set up the story for the very predictable ending. I like to have characters that I can like or hate or empathize with. This book isn't so much about the Deckers as it is someone else and a teen age relationship that is annoying, to say the least. I'm a mature reader and this teenage romance oriented suspense story wasn't very interesting. I didn't care what happened to the kids. Maybe this will appeal to teens. Maybe Faye should will go all the way with her next Decker book and introduce vampires. I was disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    I gave this 3 stars only because of Peter and Rina. The whole G

    I gave this 3 stars only because of Peter and Rina. The whole Gabe/Yasmine story too up too much. After finishing it I went back and read The Ritual Bath to get more Peter/Rina interaction. The story itsself was fine, perfect for what our youth is suffering with at school today, and I didn't have any real issue with Gabe himself, but his story took up far to much time. Ms. Kellerman needs to go back to her earlier books and show how, in thier own way, Decker and Lazarus work together to solve the crimes. And I really missed the lesson in religion she offered in her other books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    This story is evenly divided between the perspectives of Lieuten

    This story is evenly divided between the perspectives of Lieutenant Decker and fifteen year old Gabe, both personalities come off as pretty relaxed and easy going, until a problem hits, then they are on their toes and fast thinkers. I enjoyed the fact that even at the age of fifteen, Gabe was overall a very intelligent boy, but like most teenage boys the thought of sex drives most of his storyline. I believe that the relationship that slowly builds between Yasmine (14) and Gabe (15) was incredibly romantic. Although the more mature scenes between them I had a hard time picturing her as visually looking "10-12" years old as she is described by the author. The connection they had together from their love of music, piano, opera was a nice pace of story to break up the intense detective work that the lieutenant was going through.
    The Lieutenant and his staff are working to figure out how the boy that committed suicide got the gun. This detective work, along with the additional suicide of a girl that attended the same school, starts to trigger more questions. As the deceased teenagers property starts to turn up missing the school and it's students are getting inspected further and further as they try to connect the missing links. There is very clearly a gang of students that stand out and the only question is why is there a "mafia" group at a prestigious high school, and what is their involvement with Guns and drugs.
    The story raps up with dangerous activities tumulting in some very dangerous Gun Games. With a combination of sex, drugs, gangs and guns this story reads like a gangster movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1