Customer Reviews for

Gung Ho!: Turn On the People in Any Organization

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    Remarkably offensive. Phony Native American / American Indian r

    Remarkably offensive. Phony Native American / American Indian representation.
    Cartoonish, made up "Native wisdom" that is really just corporate motivation talk. Phony baloney nonsense. Insulting to indigenous cultures the world over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Awesome Team Building Book!

    I read this book for a college class and was able to bring it to my team members in a grand fashion at an event. We worked through a community liason in Manchester NH to get the books here in time...Nathan did a FANTASTIC! job for us! Kudos!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    Succinct reminder of how individuals have to buy-in to an organization and how managers can foster that action. In parts it can be abstruse. I would recommend balancing this book with a quick read of Semper Fi which studies how the Marines manage by using some similar techniques.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    Gung ho!

    Authors Blanchard and Bowles have written a pleasantly readable account of some ideas that managers can use to motivate their employees. Rather than giving a detailed how-to plan for implementing a workplace motivation program, Gung Ho Is more of an outline that presents a possible approach to increasing the enthusiasm and productivity of the employees in an organization. The dialog between the main characters in the book explores some of the psychological factors connecting people's emotions and how they view and perform their work. Additionally, the authors show how this motivational approach fits into the larger picture of moving an organization toward increased productivity, higher profits, and greater value to the community. An obvious crucial part to the success of any such motivational program is the total commitment of top management, and this requirement is brought out throughout the book. Overall, Gung Ho Is an entertaining, touching, informative, and valuable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    An Excellent Message

    Ken and Sheldon did it again! They are a phenomenal writing duo. Simple message. Written clearly and concisely. Easy read. Gives every reader the "ah ha" factor. Brings the reader back to the big picture and the important overall message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    The Key To Keeping A Buisness Going

    Gung Ho(By Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles)is a novel that consist of a special ritual that can help a company called Walton Works number 2,become back in buisness again.'If you're not lead dog the scenery never changes'. In other words if the main character who is given the position as General Manager does not take his new role and put it to use he may not ever see Walton Works making money again.'People have to understand how what they do contributes to the well-being of humankind-makes a difference in their own patch of forest'. This quote is stating that the characters choice of actions take part in what they do whether its helping the buisness or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    Worth reading

    Gung Ho! is another typical Ken Blanchard book. It is a quick read and contains some very useful information, but falls short in giving managers the full picture. Some readers will find the format cheesy, but I didn't take it that way. The book is broken down into three areas: 1. The Spirit of the Squirrel (which discusses the importance of making employees feel that their work is important) 2. The Way of the Beaver (which talks about how managers should tell employees what they want and define the boundaries, but within those boundaries allow employees to figure out solutions in their own way) 3. The Gift of the Goose (which goes over the importance of using positive reinforcement when employees do a good job) These are three very powerful ideas that every manager should embrace. However, there are numerous issues that the book doesn't cover. To give just one example, what should a manager do is one of her employees comes to work every day late and is totally unproductive while he is there? Obviously, The Gift of the Goose (i.e. praising employees) isn't the answer since that will just reinforce the negative behavior. Despite the book's shortcomings, I think it's worth reading if you like management books since it does contain some useful information. But if you want one book that going to cover the subject more dynamically from many more angles, then you should probably look elsewhere. Greg Blencoe Author, The Ten Commandments for Managers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    Gung Ho Friends

    I not only read this book I practiced it in my organization. It was amazing to see the change in the Associates when they were taught that their work was worthwhile, that they were in control of achieving the goal and how much better the work place is when we cheer each other on. Praise progress and catch people doing things right and you are on your way to success. Our company is proof positive that the Gung Ho spirit is alive and well. Gung Ho friends Johnny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2003

    Energizing and inspiring

    Written in a symbolic manner, this book is inspiring and memorable. Buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    Gung Ho - Finally, a total concept for employee morale

    Most companies practice some aspect of the Gung Ho concept. Some are good motivators, others good goal setters. But every company would benefit from the book Gung Ho because it puts together the most valuable concepts for high performance. This book presents in a simplistic way, concepts that would improve any organization. From volunteer organizations to Fortune 500 companies, helping people understand each element of Gung Ho will produce the most productive, happiest employees/volunteers ever conceived by a CEO. Read it. Practice it. Make this book a foundation for your organization

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2001

    What an inspiration

    I just finished my degree in retail business management. A teacher recommended this book. I believe every student in any kind of management degree and those who are already working in management should read this book. It is full of insights to a better work environment and a successful business. It is too bad that too many managers and owners still miss out on this opportunity to improve their business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2000

    Inspirational, instructive

    This is a delightful fast-moving story with a lesson. The setting is a factory that is in serious trouble, under threat of closure, because of narrow-minded executives and employees who simply aren't motivated to accomplish the job that must be done. Our heroes are the new plant manager, a woman, and a wise Native American who heads one of the departments-the high-producing department-in the factory. Drawing on the wisdom passed along by his grandfather, the department head (who also holds an MBA) guides, educates, and inspires the new plant manager. Together they turn the situation from hopeless to exemplary and award-winning. The philosophies shared in this volume are powerful and apply to many circumstances, not just manufacturing. This small book is deceiving in its size. There's plenty of white space on the pages. At first, the reader may get the impression that the design of the page layout is unusual and was probably done to bulk-up the book. Gradually, the wide margins seem to make the book easier to read, a page-turner. There really aren't any chapters, though there are some natural breaks in the flow of the story to give you stopping points. Be warned: you won't want to stop. You'll want to stick with this book to the last page . . . then give it to someone else to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2000

    Even 'Dead Wood' will be Gung Ho to get to work!

    The authors have done a fabulous job portraying the success of a doomed business to a multi-million dollar enterprise. The 'Gung-Ho' way of life can relate to any organization big or small. Very simplisitic reading but powerful messages are conveyed throughout this masterpiece. I can't wait to get back to work on Monday. Our whole staff of 18 was given a copy of Gung-Ho and hopefully, the process has already started with our team members. Five goose honks to Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2000

    Should be a required book for business students

    I am an MBA student. If I were in the field of educating our future leaders...I would require this book as part of the course.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2000

    Simplistic yet Profound!

    Common sense in a simple story yet so profound in its message. My only hope is that we can get our company to adopt Gung Ho!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2000

    A Must Read For All Managers

    I work for one of the worlds largest telecommunication companies. Through the use of the Gung Ho! techniques our engineering team has become untouchable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Excellent Work

    Ken Blanchard and Sheldon Bowles have created another classic. In a highly effective parable, they provide a blueprint any leader can use to create organizational excitement in just about any type of organization. The most positive characteristics of this book, like all Blanchard books, are the underlying values and wholesome philosophies that drive the message home at each juncture along the way. Whether a person is leading a small work group, a department, a division, or an entire company, he or she will find many useful ideas in this easy-to-read book. Another book, with a foreword by Ken Blanchard, that I have just finished is also destined to be a classic alongside GUNG HO! I highly recommend everyone ¿ not just people in leadership positions ¿ read WINNING WAYS: FOUR SECRETS FOR GETTING GREAT RESULTS BY WORKING WELL WITH PEOPLE, by Dick Lyles. Dr. Lyles is a protégé of Blanchard and Bowles and this book proves that he, also, has mastered the art of parable writing. This book contains tips that will help anyone be more powerful and charismatic in their dealings with other people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2000

    Director, Communications & Education/Training

    This 'weekend read' is an entertaining and invaluable guide for inspiring committment to change and improvement within an organization. The emphasis is on the importance of employee buy-in and participation--an idea new to many leaders of large corporations. I highly recommend this book as a starting point for change managers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2