Customer Reviews for

Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Words to live by!

    If more people lived by these golden rules the world would be a ncer place to live in. Easy read and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Love Gunn

    Nice read. It was my in-between book that was easy to pick up at any point and carry on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and entertaining for Tim Gunn fans

    I love Tim Gunn and this book is no exception. He uses examples from his own life to illustrate his points, and he is not afraid to admit that he has, upon occasion, behaved badly. No great revelations here, it's really all basic courtesy, but fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    A kindred spirit!

    This is a delightful read I could not put down until it was finished. I'd invite him to dinner and talk until morning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Delightful

    I'm a Project Runway junkie and that is where I "met" Mr. Tim Gunn. I enjoy his wit and humor. "Getting to know him" through this book made me like him even more. I always enjoy someone who is more "matter of fact" rather than one who creates/adds to drama...Speaking of Drama, I loved his "scoops" on some of the other "Powerhitters" of the show. I knew there was a reason I didn't care for Andre' Leon Talley!! :-)A nice relaxing meander through the book. Enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Carry On!

    I really enjoyed this book - it's written in an easy-to-read format that draws you in and will keep you turning page after page to keep on enjoying the free-wheeling advice and stories. My only complaint is that it's not longer! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    witty and so true!

    As a fan of project runway and of Tim Gunn's mentorship style I had to purchase this book right away after seeing his interview on Regis and Kelly. That morning I flew to the bookstore to purchase and started reading it right away. I laughed and cried. A really good measure of a good book. It's like Tim is talking to you about his life and his stories. His life's principles are nothing new however I saw them at a different angle. It taught me again that life should not be rushed and to enjoy each tid bit that comes along. To treat people with respect. As a Christian God loves and treats us with utmost care and so should we with other people. And to set boundaries, amen to that Tim!I read it in two days! while cooking dinner too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Be nice. Just remember that.

    If you watch Mr. Gunn on Project Runway you will be familiar with much of what's in this book. And even though it's a bit thin at parts (e.g., a list of movies for inspiration) it's a delightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2