Customer Reviews for

Gunn's Golden Rules: Life's Little Lessons for Making It Work

Average Rating 4.5
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    So much more than lessons and rules

    Tim Gunn outlines basic and fundamental rules for 'making it work'. Life is so much easier if you are just nice and honest. Seems simple but we all know there are a lot of folks who need a refresher course. In addition to his advice Tim Gunn shares a lot of fascinating details of the fashion industry and Project Runway. And a surprising amount about himself - which will make you tear up and laugh all at the same time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is a well written, candid book, with a very personal approach. One often feels that you are there speaking face to face in an intimate setting with Tim Gunn. Some painful areas of his life are revealed and he is to be admired for his honesty. Of course, because of the world he works in there are some other cheeky and funny revelations too. I think even more highly of Tim Gunn after reading this and wish I was lucky enough to have him as a personal friend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can't Put This Down!

    This book was not at all what I expected, but I have to tell you I can't put it down!! I had to stop myself from reading it at my desk at work.
    I thought it would be more of a guide to be more like Tim (my ambition!), but instead it's more like having a nice chat with a friend, except he really does have some outrageous stories to tell. He does give advice, but it's much looser than I expected. He's really a down to earth guy and I felt that even though he is a celebrity we had a lot of experiences and POV's in common.
    If you like Tim on PR, definitely get this book. You'll love it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    LOVED IT!!!!! MUST READ FOR TIM GUNN AND PROJECT RUNWAY FANS!

    I really really loved this book! It really helped me learn more about who Tim Gunn is and how he got to where he is today, with many helpful lessons for life, which I totally agree with. If you enjoy him from Project Runway, then I HIGHLY recommend it! If you don't know anything about it, then you might not enjoy it so much, but I recommend watching a few of the more recent seasons of PR :) THEN read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    Excellent--Couldn't put it down

    Hey, what can I say...I'm a lady Harley rider. A little rough around the edges. I downloaded this book onto my NOOK and it has literally changed me. I can be a lady rider with class right?
    Thanks Tim for giving me a new outlook on the world around me, how to be more considerate and caring to those in my life and to those I don't even know. Now I'm going to be a sweet "BikerDiva"!
    My new outlook in everything I do now is "make it work".
    Thanks for a great book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book made me respect Tim Gunn even more than I did before. He has so much class, and is so thankful for what he has.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    Tim is as much a delight in print as on the screen!

    He's slightly snarky, full of humor, but gentle and genteel at the same time.

    Some parts were touching and some parts made me laugh till I cried.

    Definite page turner. You won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    More Than a Tell-All

    I bought this book as a tell all reading on my cruise book. As the book goes on it is so much more. Yes there is some good gossip, but his chapters about being gay and dealing with his father was amazing! I have so much more respect for this man. Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    As others have said, Tim just has so much class! His whole outl

    As others have said, Tim just has so much class! His whole outlook about being nice to people but yet standing up for what you feel is right is my entire philosophy. I, too, wish I could have Tim as my friend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    He's so great

    This is a great and fun book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Awesome

    I just got the sample and now I want the real book!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love!

    Tim Gunn is as real as it's ever going to get! You have to admire a man with impeccable manners and taste!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    This is a noble and intelligent human being.

    I could not put this book down. There are alot of good life lessons in this book, if we choose to apply them to our own lives. I like him more now than ever. He has walked the walk so now he can write the book. I will be putting this little gem on my favorites shelf in my nook color.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    Highly Recommend

    Tim Tells it like it is in this one, a great perspective into the fashion world and all the diva therein. It's good to have people like Time that you can count on in this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    tim gunn

    love this book! tim gun is funny, entertaining, and insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    Respect, Courtesy, & Intelligence.

    Tim Gunn shares his tips for day to day living, and we should all be ashamed of ourselves. He frankly points out shocking behavior, that we all bear witness to every single day, and asks how we can be so rude?
    He is a role model to many, and is a fine man. We should all be as appreciative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    My first Nook book!

    I loved Tim's book....he made me laugh and he made me think. He has so much depth, experience, and class. It was the perfect book to kick of my new Nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    A lovely read by a lovely man

    This book is total Tim Gunn. If you like him on Project Runway, you will hear his voice coming through loud and clear. This gentle book is a quick read. It is fun; filled with life lessons, advice and a little bit of gossip. I read it at a time when I was a little down, and having a difficult time finding a book that held my interest. This happy read made my weekend, and started me out on Monday with a fresh perspective. Unfortunately, I fear Tim might be preaching to the choir regarding his advice on manners and general behavior. However, if he gets someone to think about changing one small act or bit of attitude, then he has accomplished something good. Thank you Tim, for this small gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    What an Inspiration!

    This is a great read! Always a fan of the ever-charming Mr. Gunn, I could not wait to read his inspirational words. Truly, you will not be dissappointed in this book. Mr. Gunn is such a positive man. He actually gives great bits of advice interspersed with juicy and entertaining gossipy tidbits--but he is such a gentleman, that those who are recipients of his little tidbits of naughty behaviour cannot be insulted. He is just a nice guy! We all could use a check on our manners and Mr. Gunn reminds us of that throughout the book.
    Wonderful little gem of a book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    Magnificently Marvelous!!

    Tim Gunn's take on the dying breed of manner's and social etiquette is what EVERYONE should read! He points out that people don't say "Thank You" anymore for any act of kindness and the snarkiness that exists in today's society due to selfish and materialistic people that seek entitlement on a regular basis. BRAVO to Tim Gunn for pointing out that you should "ALWAYS take the high road" and that "the world doesn't owe you anything"! This book is a wonderful read and well worth my time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4