Customer Reviews for

Guns Up!

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Should be required reading

    The war in Vietnam brought out the ugliness of an uneducated, misinformed group of individuals. A nation turned on its returning heroes, labelling them murderers and child-killers.

    In Guns Up!, LCPL Johnnie Clark silences the critics who were too cowardly to pick up a weapon themselves. It is a story of bravery, courage and true brotherhood. It pays tribute to each and every man who gave his life for his country during that terrible time.

    LCPL Clark was a hero, though he will never admit it. Neither will any man who was in Vietnam, or who served after. This book should be required reading as part of any American History class. It is a perfect example of how the media get it wrong time and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Guns Up! - What real Marines faced daily in the Nam

    Johnnie M. Clark has written a number of books about the Korean and Viet Nam wars and the roles of the regular Marine and even specialized troops such as snipers. His books are first person. First hand information on what he and his fellows went through, smelled, tasted, felt and dreamed of while they fought their hearts out for a war that few at home cared about and many spat on when they returned home wounded so that they could be healed and return to the jungles of southeast Asia. Mr Clark writes in a style that causes the reader to feel the sweat that poured down the necks of his Marines from the tropical heat or from the fear of being the next man to die in an ambush or from a sniper's round speeding out from his hidden position to make a sure kill on his target of the moment.

    Those who were there, in the Nam, read his books with tears in their eyes. Those who avoided the draft or the lotteryread his books, many of them coming away ashamed of their actions that half a lifetime ago. Men from either group come away touched, some to their very core.

    One nearly experiences every fear filled moments of every day in the Nam. The thought of rucking up one more time to enter the bush on another long patrol with radios that worked half the time if they were lucky and so-called intellegence that was more often dead wrong than it was right had to make almost any man stab himself or have a friend shoot him so he could stay in the rear in a MASH unit.

    Real life adventure, real life pain, real life fear, the things every Marines' life was made of is what Mr. Clark writes about. You are sucked into the lives of these Marines and find yourself caring for each and every one of them until you're spit out the end of the book drained. You realize what being a Marine in wartime is all about and you have to feel like saluting the next Marine you see in uniform and thanking him for all he's done so that you could sleep peacefully in your bed at night.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Excellent

    A good look of what it was for young Marine in Vietnam.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Must read

    A heartbreaking story of young men going into battle and experiencing things no person should.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Best Nam Book Ever

    The best Nam book ever, maybe the best book about war ever. I am a historian and I have read many books on warfare and this gives the reader an insider's look at the subject. It made me proud of those heroes who fought in that war and proud of our military in general. This book is a page-turner from the first word and it delivers non-stop. Well written and very descriptive. It's not just a book about the Hell of war, but about people. It illustrates just how much these guys loved each other and is a depiction of true friendship. Lance Cpl. Johnnie Clark grew-up too quickly in Nam just like many other young men and women who served, but he had to grow up to survive. This is a fantastic story of his love for his fellow Marines and in the end God. If you think this is just a bunch of God, Corps, Mom, apple pie, and flag-waving read this book and get an appreciation for what these warriors have done for YOU. Semper Fi!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    TRUE STORY OF HONOR AND COURAGE

    WOW THIS IS ONE REALLY HOT BOOK! THE WRITER TELLS IT AS ONLY HE CAN TELL IT BECAUSE HE WAS THERE. THIS IS THE VIEW FROM THE MARINE ON THE GROUND THE HONEST TRUTH. THE TRUE MARINE THE FIRST TO FIGHT. WHAT MAKES THIS STORY SPECIAL IS THIS MARINE WAS A MACHINE GUNNER IN THE THICK OF COMBAT AND THE AVERAGE MACHINE GUNNER DIDNT HAVE MUCH OF A LIFE CAUSE THE ENEMY SOLDIERS CAME AFTER HIM FIRST. SO YOU HAD TO REALLY BE THE BEST TO BE A MACHINEGUNNER AND SO THIS BOOK IS NOT ONLY A GREAT TRIBUTE TO THE COURAGE OF ALL THOSE WHO SERVED BUT IT TELLS THE STORY HOW ONE MAN FOUND SOMETHING GREATER. IF YOU HAVE READ THE ORIGINAL GUNS UP YOU NEED TO GET THIS NEWLY RELEASED COPY OF GUNS UP CAUSE THERES ALOT OF INTRESTING FOLLOW INFORMATION PLUS THIS GREAT BOOK HAS BEEN RELEASED ON CASSETTE WHICH WOULD BE GREAT TO TAKE WITH YOU TO THE GYM OR ON A BUSSINESS TRIP. ANY OF THESE FINE BOOKS AND OR THE CASSETE WOULD MAKE A FINE GIFT FOR A FRIEND FAMILY MEMBER OR FELLOW SERVICE MEMBER AND YOU CAN FIND THEM ON BN.COM NO LINES NO CROWDS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Hf

    Fh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Great read!!!

    Outstanding book and it is a quick book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Good and mike

    I seen this mission on sniper deadliest missions and it looked painfl for thepeople who died

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly Rec!

    The first war book I've read that truly describes the daily life of a ground grunt....very well written, very quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Must read book on the Vietnam war!

    A well written, first person account of one of the nastiest wars in our history. Takes you into the front lines thru the eyes of a raw recruit as he survives the horrors of war until he is medevaced out as a wounded veteran.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Great book

    This is a awesome book it tells the life of a american soldier during vietnam it tells about the hardships and the life of his bestfriends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great book

    Best book i have ever read. I have even read it a couple times. Semper Fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    If u liked this book

    Try out blood trails. It was a journal about a vietnam foot soildor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Good

    Very good book. Full of action and is an amazing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Great book I highly recommend it.

    Johnnie has a very unique writing style. He makes you know and love the charactors (in this case real life folks, he did not invent them). It was all action and humor even. I could not put the book down. Thank God I was sick fighting a cold when I picked up your book. So I finshed it in 2 days. Wow, I had fun being sick. Can't wait to read the rest of your books.
    Airborne!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Amazing story

    A mind blowing account of vietnam. Probably the best story on the subject i have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    Best book on Vietnam

    Excellent action sequences with great ending. Very accurate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    tells what is was like on the ground in Vietnam. Read it in one siting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2004

    Semper Fi

    I served in Viet Nam in Mike Company, 3/5. I was amazed when I started reading Guns Up and discovered Johnnie was part of 3/5 also. This is the most accurate book I have ever read on Nam, and why not, he was there. We served in the same locations and at almost the same time. Semper Fi Johnnie! great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2