Customer Reviews for

Gunz and Roses

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

St. Louis, Here I Come

Who would've thought that the men in St. Louis were so irresistible?

Gavin "Gunz" Marciano heads the most successful and ruthless drug empire in St. Louis. He's undeniably handsome and packs enough sex appeal (literally) that would make a Nun "drop down to the...
Who would've thought that the men in St. Louis were so irresistible?

Gavin "Gunz" Marciano heads the most successful and ruthless drug empire in St. Louis. He's undeniably handsome and packs enough sex appeal (literally) that would make a Nun "drop down to the floor with it." Due to his father's abandonment and an unexpected death of a loved one, Gunz is somewhat detached from relationships until he catches the eye of the beautiful and chic, Gray Rose.

After being alone for over a year, Gray is looking for a man to rock her world. Gunz is everything she's looking for in a mate. Sadly, he's simply not ready to settle down with one woman. Deciding that she'd rather have a small piece of Gunz instead of nothing at all, Gray halfheartedly chooses to go with the flow. Their "relationship" is rocky from the start but they can't seem to get enough of each other.

Gunz and Roses possesses romance, drama and comedy as the author introduces colorful characters into the equation:

Gray's friend, Tee-Tee or Miss. Tee If Your Nasty, is a gay man who dresses in couture drag. "She's" always down for the crown when it comes to Gray and their two friends, Heidi and Kema. There's also Gunz's overzealous uncle, Clyde, who couldn't carry a tune if his life depended on it. They were both comical.

Truth, the best friend of Gray, brings the drama as he's secretly obsessed with Gray. Oblivious to Gray, he loathes the fact that she has chosen Gunz over him.

Gunz and Roses sparks a familiarity that I thoroughly enjoyed. The ending was slightly hurried although it didn't disparage the integrity of the story. I'm rating it five stars.

Well job done Keisha. It was certainly worth the wait.

posted by AndreaDenise on August 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What's Love Got to Do with It?,

Let me start by saying, my expectations for this book were high. It's no secret I am totally, unequivocally, absolutely, and positively anti-TCP. As such, I haven't had a chance to sample the talent of one Keisha Ervin, with the exception of her novella FINDING FOREVER ...
Let me start by saying, my expectations for this book were high. It's no secret I am totally, unequivocally, absolutely, and positively anti-TCP. As such, I haven't had a chance to sample the talent of one Keisha Ervin, with the exception of her novella FINDING FOREVER published by Priority Books. But that's a novella; I need a full length story to see what an author is working with. I had heard here and there, over and over again readers raving about Keisha's novels. So, again, my expectations were high.

Ervin's new novel, "Gunz and Roses" chronicles the `relationship' of Gray Rose, a bi-racial beauty and fashion editor, and Gavin "Gunz" Marciano, a sinfully handsome drug kingpin. Gray is looking for love and her happily ever after while Gunz is living in the moment. For him, it is what it is. And what it isn't is a committed relationship. So here we have it. Boy meets girl. Girl likes boy. Boy likes girl. Boy and girl have sex. Boy and girl argue. Boy and girl have sex. Boy and girl argue. Boy and girl have sex. Boy and girl argue...It's a vicious cycle of dysfunction and foolishness.

"Gunz and Roses" is a "story of street love," according to the synopsis. However, if that is the case, this novel failed at its very premise. Gray and Gunz were not believable as a couple. The sense of a bond or chemistry that is imperative to make the plot convincing is never established. They had sex. They argued. That a relationship does not make, much less love. Instead, it leaves readers disconnected, removed from the feelings the novel hopes to evoke.

Also, sadly, Gunz and Gray fall into the pattern of stereotypical characters. I won't even get started on their designer clothes, Gray's looks (black and Korean with BLUE eyes and bootylicious) or Gunz's swagger (10-inch thang thang with a net worth of over 50 million). "Gunz and Roses" asks readers to believe the unbelievable, but then fails to provide any accompanying support.

In addition to being an avid reader, I'm a huge movie buff. So I was very disappointed to see the scene from one of my favorite movies literally play out on the pages of this novel. Are you serious? That wasn't cool at all. Be creative. Be original.

I wanted to like this novel. I really did. There were too many shortcomings. It's unfortunate that they mired the novel to a level of superficiality and predictability. In the end, "Gunz and Roses" was flat and unconvincing.


Reviewed by: Toni
2.5

posted by OOSABookClub on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    St. Louis, Here I Come

    Who would've thought that the men in St. Louis were so irresistible?

    Gavin "Gunz" Marciano heads the most successful and ruthless drug empire in St. Louis. He's undeniably handsome and packs enough sex appeal (literally) that would make a Nun "drop down to the floor with it." Due to his father's abandonment and an unexpected death of a loved one, Gunz is somewhat detached from relationships until he catches the eye of the beautiful and chic, Gray Rose.

    After being alone for over a year, Gray is looking for a man to rock her world. Gunz is everything she's looking for in a mate. Sadly, he's simply not ready to settle down with one woman. Deciding that she'd rather have a small piece of Gunz instead of nothing at all, Gray halfheartedly chooses to go with the flow. Their "relationship" is rocky from the start but they can't seem to get enough of each other.

    Gunz and Roses possesses romance, drama and comedy as the author introduces colorful characters into the equation:

    Gray's friend, Tee-Tee or Miss. Tee If Your Nasty, is a gay man who dresses in couture drag. "She's" always down for the crown when it comes to Gray and their two friends, Heidi and Kema. There's also Gunz's overzealous uncle, Clyde, who couldn't carry a tune if his life depended on it. They were both comical.

    Truth, the best friend of Gray, brings the drama as he's secretly obsessed with Gray. Oblivious to Gray, he loathes the fact that she has chosen Gunz over him.

    Gunz and Roses sparks a familiarity that I thoroughly enjoyed. The ending was slightly hurried although it didn't disparage the integrity of the story. I'm rating it five stars.

    Well job done Keisha. It was certainly worth the wait.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What's Love Got to Do with It?,

    Let me start by saying, my expectations for this book were high. It's no secret I am totally, unequivocally, absolutely, and positively anti-TCP. As such, I haven't had a chance to sample the talent of one Keisha Ervin, with the exception of her novella FINDING FOREVER published by Priority Books. But that's a novella; I need a full length story to see what an author is working with. I had heard here and there, over and over again readers raving about Keisha's novels. So, again, my expectations were high.

    Ervin's new novel, "Gunz and Roses" chronicles the `relationship' of Gray Rose, a bi-racial beauty and fashion editor, and Gavin "Gunz" Marciano, a sinfully handsome drug kingpin. Gray is looking for love and her happily ever after while Gunz is living in the moment. For him, it is what it is. And what it isn't is a committed relationship. So here we have it. Boy meets girl. Girl likes boy. Boy likes girl. Boy and girl have sex. Boy and girl argue. Boy and girl have sex. Boy and girl argue. Boy and girl have sex. Boy and girl argue...It's a vicious cycle of dysfunction and foolishness.

    "Gunz and Roses" is a "story of street love," according to the synopsis. However, if that is the case, this novel failed at its very premise. Gray and Gunz were not believable as a couple. The sense of a bond or chemistry that is imperative to make the plot convincing is never established. They had sex. They argued. That a relationship does not make, much less love. Instead, it leaves readers disconnected, removed from the feelings the novel hopes to evoke.

    Also, sadly, Gunz and Gray fall into the pattern of stereotypical characters. I won't even get started on their designer clothes, Gray's looks (black and Korean with BLUE eyes and bootylicious) or Gunz's swagger (10-inch thang thang with a net worth of over 50 million). "Gunz and Roses" asks readers to believe the unbelievable, but then fails to provide any accompanying support.

    In addition to being an avid reader, I'm a huge movie buff. So I was very disappointed to see the scene from one of my favorite movies literally play out on the pages of this novel. Are you serious? That wasn't cool at all. Be creative. Be original.

    I wanted to like this novel. I really did. There were too many shortcomings. It's unfortunate that they mired the novel to a level of superficiality and predictability. In the end, "Gunz and Roses" was flat and unconvincing.


    Reviewed by: Toni
    2.5

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Very good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    i love this book so much it took me 2 days to finish it i though

    i love this book so much it took me 2 days to finish it i thought grey was tooo perfect along with Gavin but other than that the book is awsome it also brought tears and smiles to my face i wish it was a sequal but i would defnitely read more of keisha's books this book gets a perfect 10 in my oppinion

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!!

    Looking at the cover i didnt think i would like this boook but once i picked it up i just couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    check it out

    easy read, page turner!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    LOVED IT

    I absolutely loved this book. It was a great story, very well written. I really liked the characters and it brought tears to my eyes. This book is on my favorite's list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    WOW!!

    I went to the bookstore overlooking this book....so I decided to give it a try. I LOVED IT!! It was such a realistic story how we as woment think if we love a man enuff they will change. It's sad, happy and funnny!! TEE TEE was a hot mess...he had me laughing out loud!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    love me

    nice love story for a streamy and raniy day in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exquisite & Impeccable !

    This book brought tears, smiles, and laughs to my eyes. It had me going from the very beginning. Keisha Ervin's style of writing left me at a loss for words. When Gray cried I cried. I felt like I was In walking distance of her life. Ervin's imagination and creativity in this novel, and her other novels, has definitely given her the right to declare herself, "Diva Of Urban Fiction." I will definitely be reading more and more of her books ! Gone Girl !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    well done!!

    This was a very good book. I usually don't like to read books about drugs and murder. But this book was absolutly awesome!! I read it twice!! Although Gunz is so selfish,you can't help but love him. I love his swagger. Gray was a very nice person who had her self together. The only thing that was missing in her life was a companion. She got a hand full when she came across Gunz. I love his crazy uncle. His mom and grandma. I really love TEE TEE. This story was well written. I would love to read more books by Keisha Ervin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    A Good Read

    I really enjoyed this book. It was the first book I have read by Keisha Ervin and I will definitely buy another book by her in the future. The characters for me were very believable. I especially loved the relationship with Gray and her friends. Couldn't believe the way Truth acted in the end. I guess love makes you do crazy things...It took me two days to read the book, I really didn't want to put it down. You will definitely enjoy it. I would definitely like a sequel to see if Gray and Gunz can keep it together in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    People who Just dont Understand !!!!!!!!!!!!!! BY: Shayna

    When people read books you have to be open minded to author's creative mind set. I'M A BIG FAN OF KEISHA ERVIN'S BOOKS. To OOSA comment their people in the world who are mixed. Dont act like you never heard of that before . Also you would be suprised how many women who are in high ended jobs that have thugs in thier lives as lovers. Hello Wahida Clark wrote a book about it WOMEN AND THE THUGS WHO LOVE THEM !!!!!!!!!!! Me Personal I loved the book. Can't wait to read Fnding Forever!!!!!!!!!!!! READ THIS BOOK SO GOOD !!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1